American Family vs. Travelers Car Insurance (2021)

If you're comparing American Family vs. Travelers car insurance, the best place to start is price. American Family seems to offer more competitive pricing than Travelers when analyzing state averages. Both companies offer a wide array of discounts for you to look into and take advantage of, though Travelers has the better A.M. Best rating.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from Seve...

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years

UPDATED: Mar 1, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

The Highlights

  • Travelers is more expensive than the majority of the states’ averages
  • Both American Family and Travelers offer a wide array of discounts
  • Both American Family and Travelers are highly rated by A.M. Best and the BBB

If you are here today, you’re most likely in the midst of deciding between American Family vs. Travelers as your next, or perhaps first, insurer. So, American Family or Travelers: which car insurance company is best for you?

If you would like to learn more about Travelers in general, be sure to read our Travelers Insurance review.

For now, be sure to type your ZIP code into our free and helpful tool above to find affordable car insurance quotes in your area. Always do your research before you buy car insurance.

What can American Family do for you?

When you begin comparing insurers, their prices would be the best place to start. Let’s start things off by analyzing American Family’s prices in comparison to state averages.

American Family Average Annual Car Insurance Rates Compared to State Average
StateAmerican Family Average Annual RatesState Average Annual RatesHigher/Lower ($) Than State Average Annual RatesHigher/Lower (%) Than State Average Annual Rates
Alaska$4,153.07$3,421.51$731.5517.61%
Colorado$3,733.02$3,876.39-$143.37-3.84%
Iowa$3,021.81$2,981.28$40.531.34%
Idaho$3,728.79$2,979.09$749.7020.11%
Illinois$3,815.31$3,305.48$509.8213.36%
Indiana$3,679.68$3,414.97$264.717.19%
Kansas$2,146.40$3,279.62-$1,133.22-52.80%
Minnesota$3,521.29$4,403.25-$881.97-25.05%
Missouri$3,286.90$3,328.93-$42.03-1.28%
North Dakota$3,812.40$4,165.84-$353.44-9.27%
Nebraska$2,215.13$3,283.68-$1,068.55-48.24%
Nevada$5,441.18$4,861.70$579.4810.65%
Ohio$1,515.17$2,709.71-$1,194.54-78.84%
Oregon$3,527.28$3,467.77$59.511.69%
South Dakota$4,047.47$3,982.27$65.201.61%
Texas$4,848.72$4,043.28$805.4416.61%
Utah$3,698.77$3,611.89$86.882.35%
Washington$3,713.02$3,059.32$653.7017.61%
Wisconsin$1,513.27$3,606.06-$2,092.80-138.30%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Judging by the information presented in this table, American Family is cheaper than nearly half of the states’ averages in which they operate. In some of these states, American Family’s prices are substantially cheaper. Look at Wisconsin, where American Family is almost 140 percent cheaper than the state’s average.

Let’s move on to something that’s equally important, discounts.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance Discounts

Whether you go with American Family, Travelers, or any other insurer, be sure to inquire as to what discounts they can offer you. As far as American Family Insurance is concerned, they have numerous discounts and many are as simple to obtain as typing in your American Family login information on the app.

One of the most prominent discounts they offer is the Dreams Restored Program. This finds auto body shops in your local area that are both financially reasonable and highly rated.

We’re going to wrap up our analysis of American Family by taking a look at their company ratings. Two of the biggest rating companies to take note of are the Better Business Bureau and A.M. Best. Let’s take a look at a table showing these two companies’ ratings for American Family.

American Family Car Insurance Company Ratings
Ratings AgencyAmerican Family Ratings
A.M. BestA
Better Business BureauA
Moody'sN/A
S&PN/A
NAIC Complaint Index0.69
JD PowerClaims Satisfaction 3/5
Shopping Study 4/5
Consumer Reports89
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The information presented here is encouraging. Both A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau gave American Family an A rating.

Let’s move on and see how Travelers Insurance measures up. If you’d like to learn more about American Family, be sure to read our American Family insurance review.

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What can Travelers do for you?

We’re going to start our analysis of Travelers the same way we did with American Family — with price. Consult the following table for details.

Travelers Average Annual Car Insurance Rates Compared to State's Average Rates
StateState Average Annual RatesTravelers Average Annual RatesTravelers +/- Average
Alabama$3,566.96$3,697.80+$130.84
Arkansas$4,124.98$5,973.33+$1,848.35
Arizona$3,770.97$3,084.74-$686.23
California$3,688.93$3,349.54-$339.39
Connecticut$4,618.92$6,004.29$1,385.37
Delaware$5,986.32$4,182.36-$1,803.96
Iowa$2,981.28$5,429.38+$2,448.10
Idaho$2,979.09$3,226.29+$247.20
Illinois$3,305.48$2,499.76-$805.72
Indiana$3,414.97$3,393.75-$21.22
Kansas$3,279.62$4,341.43+$1,061.81
Kentucky$5,195.40$6,551.68+$1,356.28
Maine$2,953.28$2,252.97-$700.31
Massachusetts$2,678.85$3,537.94+$859.09
Michigan$10,498.64$8,773.97-$1,724.67
Mississippi$3,664.57$3,729.32+$64.75
North Carolina$3,393.11$3,132.66-$260.45
New Jersey$5,515.21$4,254.49-$1,260.72
Nevada$4,861.70$5,360.41+$498.71
New York$4,289.88$4,578.79+$288.91
Ohio$2,709.71$3,135.16+$425.45
Oregon$3,467.77$2,892.19-$575.58
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$7,842.47+$3,807.97
Rhode Island$5,003.36$6,909.45+$1,906.09
Tennessee$3,660.89$2,738.52-$922.37
Median$3,660.89$3,729.32+$68.43
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

As you can see, unlike American Family, Travelers is only cheaper than a handful of states’ averages. In several of these states, such as Arkansas, Travelers is far more expensive.

Now that we’ve gone through price and seen that American Family is cheaper, let’s see if Travelers offers competitive discounts.

One of its major discounts is called IntelliDrive. This is an app on your phone and you simply have to type in your Travelers Insurance login information.

IntelliDrive monitors your driving performance and conducts an analysis of certain driving behaviors. If you drive in a safe manner, you could be rewarded via premium discounts.

No matter which insurer you choose, inquire as much as you can about discounts. Accrue as many discounts as you can and save all you can. If we stress anything, it’s the importance of discounts.

We saw that American Family received an A rating from both A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau. How did Travelers do with these two organizations? From A.M. Best, Travelers received a much higher rating than American Family with an A++. Travelers also did better with the BBB, holding a rating of A+.

In short, there are a lot of things you can compare when trying to decide on your next insurer. Get a start on finding your insurer by typing your ZIP code into our free tool below to get car insurance rates in your area.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption