American Family vs. Farmers Car Insurance (2021)

When it comes to American Family vs. Farmers, there are several criteria to analyze. American Family does a bit better in pricing, but Farmers does better in company ratings. Both are reputable companies, but always compare car insurance rates to find which car insurance company is right for your particular situation.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from Seve...

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years

UPDATED: Jan 20, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

The Highlights

  • You can find insurance discounts from both American Family and Farmers.
  • American Family offers cheaper prices than almost half of the states’ averages.
  • Farmers is only cheaper than nine of the state averages.

If you’re reading this, you are most likely trying to decide between American Family and Farmers Insurance as your next car/home/life insurer. Should that be the case, you’re in the right place. American Family vs. Farmers: Which is the best for you?

If you would like to learn more about Farmers, feel free to read through our Farmers Insurance Review.

Before we begin, feel free to type your ZIP code into our free and helpful tool above to find affordable car insurance rates from insurers in your area. You may just be able to find rates from Farmers and American Family as well.

What can Farmers insurance do for you?

One of the best ways to see if an insurer is right for you is to analyze their pricing structure. Let’s take a look at Farmers’ rates in comparison to state averages.

Farmers Average Annual Rates by State
StateFarmers Average Annual Car Insurance RatesHigher/Lower Than State's Average Annual Rates ($)Higher/Lower Than State's Average Annual Rates (%)
Alabama$4,185.80$618.8414.78%
Arkansas$4,257.87$132.893.12%
Arizona$5,000.08$1,229.1124.58%
California$4,998.78$1,309.8526.20%
Colorado$5,290.24$1,413.8526.73%
Hawaii$4,763.82$2,208.1846.35%
Iowa$2,435.72-$545.56-22.40%
Idaho$3,168.28$189.195.97%
Illinois$4,605.20$1,299.7228.22%
Indiana$3,437.55$22.580.66%
Kansas$3,703.77$424.1511.45%
Maine$2,770.15-$183.13-6.61%
Michigan$8,503.60-$1,995.04-23.46%
Minnesota$3,137.45-$1,265.80-40.34%
Missouri$4,312.19$983.2622.80%
Montana$3,907.55$686.7117.57%
North Dakota$3,092.49-$1,073.35-34.71%
Nebraska$3,997.29$713.6117.85%
New Jersey$7,617.00$2,101.7927.59%
New Mexico$4,315.53$851.8919.74%
Nevada$5,595.56$733.8613.12%
Ohio$3,423.01$713.3020.84%
Oklahoma$4,142.40$0.080.00%
Oregon$3,753.52$285.757.61%
South Carolina$4,691.85$910.7119.41%
South Dakota$3,768.80-$213.47-5.66%
Tennessee$3,430.07-$230.82-6.73%
Utah$3,907.99$296.107.58%
Washington$2,962.00-$97.32-3.29%
Wisconsin$3,777.49$171.434.54%
Wyoming$3,069.35-$130.73-4.26%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

As you can see, out of the 32 shown states, Farmers auto insurance is cheaper in only nine.

It’s logical that the more you’re on the road (i.e. longer commutes) the higher your premium will be. Let’s take a look at Farmers’ prices for different commute levels.

Farmers Average Annual Car Insurance Rates by Commute Length
Commute LengthFarmers Average Annual Rates
10-mile, 6,000 miles annually$4,179.32
25-mile, 12,000 miles annually$4,209.22

Compare RatesStart Now →

As you can see, surprising as it is, their pricing structure for varying commutes is negligible. In fact, the difference is just under $30 a month.

Farmers’ primary discount is through an app called Signal. This tracks driving behavior and allots a corresponding discount for safe driving behavior.

This program offers a variety of discounts. On top of your monthly discount, you also get a five percent discount just for having the app installed.

Let’s move on by comparing American Family with what we’ve read about Farmers Insurance.

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What can American Family insurance do for you?

Let’s start here the same way we started with Farmers, by looking at the price. Take a look at the following table to see American Family’s rates in comparison to state averages. You can also take a look at our American Family Insurance Review to learn even more about this company.

American Family Average Annual Car Insurance Rates Compared to State Average
StateAmerican Family Average Annual RatesState Average Annual RatesHigher/Lower ($) Than State Average Annual RatesHigher/Lower (%) Than State Average Annual Rates
Alaska$4,153.07$3,421.51$731.5517.61%
Colorado$3,733.02$3,876.39-$143.37-3.84%
Iowa$3,021.81$2,981.28$40.531.34%
Idaho$3,728.79$2,979.09$749.7020.11%
Illinois$3,815.31$3,305.48$509.8213.36%
Indiana$3,679.68$3,414.97$264.717.19%
Kansas$2,146.40$3,279.62-$1,133.22-52.80%
Minnesota$3,521.29$4,403.25-$881.97-25.05%
Missouri$3,286.90$3,328.93-$42.03-1.28%
North Dakota$3,812.40$4,165.84-$353.44-9.27%
Nebraska$2,215.13$3,283.68-$1,068.55-48.24%
Nevada$5,441.18$4,861.70$579.4810.65%
Ohio$1,515.17$2,709.71-$1,194.54-78.84%
Oregon$3,527.28$3,467.77$59.511.69%
South Dakota$4,047.47$3,982.27$65.201.61%
Texas$4,848.72$4,043.28$805.4416.61%
Utah$3,698.77$3,611.89$86.882.35%
Washington$3,713.02$3,059.32$653.7017.61%
Wisconsin$1,513.27$3,606.06-$2,092.80-138.30%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Compared to Farmers, American Family is cheaper than quite a few more state averages. In some states, the differential is far more substantial. For instance, American Family is 138% cheaper than the state average in Wisconsin.

Just as we analyzed Farmers’ Signal program, let’s look at American Family’s Dreams Restored program.

This finds the cheapest auto body shops in your area, should you find yourself in a position where your vehicle requires repairs.

How do Farmers and American Family ratings compare?

Let’s look at one final element to compare these companies: their ratings. This table shows the ratings from A.M. Best and the BBB, amongst others.

Farmers Ratings
Ratings AgencyFarmers Ratings
A.M. BestA
Better Business BureauA+
Moody'sA2
S&PA
NAIC Complaint Index0.79
JD PowerClaims Satisfaction 4/5
Shopping Study 3/5
Consumer Reports89

Compare RatesStart Now →

An A from A.M. Best and A+ from the Better Business Bureau are pretty terrific. Now, let’s see how American Family measures up.

American Family Car Insurance Company Ratings
Ratings AgencyAmerican Family Ratings
A.M. BestA
Better Business BureauA
Moody'sN/A
S&PN/A
NAIC Complaint Index0.69
JD PowerClaims Satisfaction 3/5
Shopping Study 4/5
Consumer Reports89
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

As you can see, their ratings are fairly comparable, though Farmers scored a bit better with the BBB.

In closing, these are all factors to analyze. Even still, don’t consider yourself relegated to these two companies. Comparison shop thoroughly. Make the insurers sell you on why they should be your choice. Furthermore, be sure to take advantage of any and every discount that suits your needs.

Are you ready to buy car insurance? Get a start on finding your next insurer by typing your ZIP code into our free and helpful tool below to get car insurance quotes in your area. Which car insurance company is best for you? Find out now.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption