Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Select Page

Texas Auto Insurance Review (Coverage, Rates, & More)

Texas auto insurance rates can be as low as less than $300/mo with liability requirements of 30/60/25 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. Compare Texas auto insurance quotes based on income, location, and policy coverage before deciding on an insurance company that works for you.

FREE Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 29, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Texas Statistics SummaryDetails
Road MilesTotal in State: 313,596
Vehicle Miles Driven: 243,076 Million
VehiclesRegistered: 20,431,631
Total Stolen: 68,546
State Population28,701,845
Most Popular VehicleFord F150
Uninsured Motorists14.10%
State Rank: 16th
Total Driving Fatalities2008-2017
Speeding: 12,024
Drunk Driving: 13,450
Annual Average PremiumsLiability: $528.75
Collision: $374.49
Comprehensive: $206.42
Cheapest ProvidersState Farm Mutual Auto and USAA
Get Your Rates Quote Now

With its nickname the “Lone Star State,” Texas is known for its independence — so much so that in 1836, in a bid for freedom from Mexico, it tried to become its own country. By 1845, the former Republic of Texas had joined the United States.

But its pride in self-sufficiency remained. In 1861, it voted to join the Confederate States of America. Once the Civil War–era rebellion ended in 1865, however, it quickly rejoined the Union.

Six flags have flown over the state during its long history: Spain, France, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, the Confederacy, and the United States. That fact is said to have inspired the name of the Six Flags amusement park chain, which started in Texas in 1961.

Like Texas itself, in America, the car is a symbol of freedom and independence. Texas shows this spirit through its unique car culture, and its many roadways, which are conducive to driving long stretches alone. But, to do that, you should have adequate car insurance coverage.

That’s where we come in. In this Texas auto insurance review, we’ll cover the state-required minimum car insurance, additional coverage, the factors that set rates, laws, and everything else related.

So, hop on board and let’s get started. But first, to start comparison shopping for insurance, enter your zip code for a FREE quote.

Table of Contents

Texas Car Insurance Coverage & Rates

If you search for car insurance rates among different carriers, they can vary widely. You may wonder if they just charge whatever they feel like charging.

Part of rate-setting involves the type of coverage you buy, but other factors, such as your age, gender, and driving history, may be involved.

Read on to find out more about your different coverage options in the Lone Star State and how they can affect your rates.

Texas Minimum Coverage

Drivers in Texas must carry minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage to pay for damages and medical bills from an accident. As part of the Lone Star State’s system of assigning fault to drivers, they’re required to have insurance as proof of their ability to pay for these losses.

As such, the state has set minimum amounts of liability coverage each driver must buy:

  • $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person injured in an accident you cause
  • $60,000 for total bodily injury liability when two or more people are injured in an accident you cause
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident you cause

But, sometimes, despite the minimum requirements, your insurance might not cover all the damage, especially if more than a few vehicles are involved. That’s why we recommend you buy more than the minimum required.

For more information about Texas’s liability car insurance requirements, watch the video below:

The cost of minimum coverage varies from state to state.

View as image

Forms of Financial Responsibility

A minimum liability car insurance policy in Texas serves as proof of your financial responsibility for damages from an accident. As we mentioned before, if you cause an accident in Texas, you’re legally “at fault,” or responsible, for paying the costs of personal injury and property damage.

Besides the state-required minimum coverage, below are other acceptable forms of financial responsibility:

  • $55,000 in cash or a cashier’s check to be held with a county judge in the county where the car is registered
  • $55,000 in cash or securities deposited with the state’s comptroller
  • A self-insurance certificate from the Texas Department of Public Safety — if you own a fleet of more than 25 cars
  • A surety bond from two individual sureties that own property in Texas, with the same coverage limitations as liability insurance

Drivers in Texas must carry proof of insurance with them at all times. It can take the form of the following:

  • A valid liability insurance card, an electronic liability insurance card on a mobile device, or a photo of your insurance card
  • A copy of your current car’s insurance policy
  • A valid insurance binder (a temporary form of car insurance)

If you can’t provide proof of insurance when a law enforcement officer requests it, you’ll face penalties. They include a driver’s license suspension, fines of up to $350 for a first offense and up to $100 for subsequent offenses, and vehicle impoundment for up to 180 days.

Premiums as a Percentage of Income

In 2014, the average Texan’s annual per capita disposable income — after taxes — was $41,090.

That same year, Texans paid an average of $1,066.20 for full coverage, which amounts to 2.59 percent of their income. That’s equal to an average of $88 monthly and is more than the national annual average for car insurance policies, $981.77.

Residents in nearby states New Mexico and Arkansas paid slightly less than Texans for their car insurance, averaging less than $1,000 yearly.

Overall, car insurance costs increased a little for everyone from 2012 – 2014.

How much do you pay for car insurance? Try our free calculator below.

CalculatorPro

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in TX (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)

Three different types of insurance make up full or core coverage: liability, collision, and comprehensive. Below is data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners showing the average rates for core coverage in Texas.

Coverage TypeAnnual Costs (2015)
Liability$528.75
Collision$374.49
Comprehensive$206.42
Combined$1,109.66
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Expect rates to continue to rise in 2019 and beyond.

View as image

Let’s take a look at how where you live in Texas affects your rates.

View as image

The state-required minimum car insurance covers only part of the potential damage and bodily injury costs you can incur from an accident. Together with liability coverage, collision and comprehensive fill in the rest of the gaps in coverage.

Collision pays for damage if you hit another object, such as a dumpster or another car. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage from “acts of God” like hailstorms, hurricanes, or floods.

As you can see, having all three types of insurance as part of a full coverage policy offers more protection and greater peace of mind.

Next, we’ll cover more types of liability you can add to a car insurance policy.

Additional Liability

Additional liability will cover expenses beyond a standard policy. It includes the following:

  • Personal injury protection – It helps cover medical costs for anyone involved in an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
  • Medical payments (MedPay) coverage – It pays for medical expenses for you and anyone else listed on your policy, regardless of who is responsible.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage – It will cover damages from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.

The below data from NAIC shows the average insurer’s loss ratio in Texas. A company’s loss ratio reveals how much it earns compared to the premiums it writes. A loss ratio higher than 100 percent means the company pays more in premiums and is taking losses on them. If it’s well below 100 percent, the company pays few claims.

Loss Ratio201420132012
Personal Injury Protection60.73%66.3%64.35%
Medical Payments69.55%68.78%65.76%
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage64%61.36%53.54%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The loss ratios above show that Texas car insurance companies have a good profit versus loss ratio for MedPay and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Texas currently ranks 16th nationwide for the highest number of uninsured drivers. Fourteen percent of motorists there take the wheel without coverage.

With so many uninsured drivers on the road, unfortunately, you never know what can happen. To protect yourself, your loved ones, and those around you, we recommend you buy uninsured/underinsured motorist and additional liability coverage.

Add-Ons, Endorsements, & Riders

The following are more types of coverage you can add to a basic car insurance policy in Texas:

Average Car Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in TX

We’ve partnered with Quadrant to bring you the data below. It’s based on coverage the state population has purchased and includes rates for high-risk drivers and those who choose to buy more than the state minimum. It also includes other types of insurance the state doesn’t require.

View as image

Gender and age affect your car insurance rates in Texas. Let’s see how much it amounts to among the difference carriers:

CompanyMarried 35-Year Old Female Annual RatesMarried 35-Year Old Male Annual RatesMarried 60-Year Old Female Annual RatesMarried 60-Year Old Male Annual RatesSingle 17-Year Old Female Annual RatesSingle 17-Year Old Male Annual RatesSingle 25-Year Old Female Annual RatesSingle 25-Year Old Male Annual Rates
Allstate F&C$3,564.65$3,599.14$3,520.01$3,520.01$9,359.61$11,309.20$4,410.14$4,599.76
The General Automobile Ins Co Inc$2,918.37$3,249.14$2,712.68$3,109.48$7,713.17$10,116.84$4,191.50$4,782.23
Geico County Mutual Ins Co.$2,433.73$2,622.73$2,340.42$2,649.67$5,298.09$5,502.21$2,632.39$2,627.86
Nationwide CCMIC$2,430.55$2,473.88$2,146.15$2,275.09$6,856.66$8,817.88$2,851.87$3,088.49
Progressive Cty Mtl$2,496.28$2,372.24$2,219.05$2,262.84$10,406.29$11,607.15$2,956.93$2,997.99
State Farm Mutual Auto$2,020.71$2,020.71$1,797.39$1,797.39$4,814.71$6,130.76$2,195.23$2,262.71
USAA$1,594.84$1,608.07$1,522.66$1,516.79$4,423.33$4,827.05$2,125.64$2,286.61
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you’ll notice above, the highest prices for both genders include the least experienced drivers, seventeen-year-olds. Their premiums cost as much as $8,000 more than for older age groups. By age 25, car insurance rates decrease, and they continue to do so for 30- to 60-year-olds.

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Best Texas Car Insurance Companies

With so many car insurance companies and different coverage options available, finding the right car insurance for your needs can be confusing.

To help you find the best company for you, we’ve gathered information about the financial strength of the top carriers, reviews, and even some complaints.

Keep reading to learn more about the best car insurance companies.

The Largest Companies’ Financial Rating

A.M. Best evaluates insurance companies and ranks them based on their financial stability. Companies with a good score are more likely to be able to pay customers’ claims. These are A.M. Best’s ratings for the ten largest insurers in Texas.

CompanyAM Best RatingDirect Premiums WrittenLoss RatioMarket Share
State Farm GroupA++$3,563,12078.29%16.83%
GeicoA++$2,637,48988.18%12.46%
Allstate Insurance GroupA+$2,362,58466.19%11.16%
Progressive GroupA+$2,041,34568.91%9.64%
Farmers Insurance GroupNR$1,842,73566.07%8.70%
USAA GroupA++$1,712,94988.30%8.09%
Liberty Mutual GroupA$1,195,73583.96%5.65%
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual GroupA-$693,00477.31%3.27%
Consumers County Mutual Insurance CoNR$541,82586.45%2.56%
Nationwide Corp GroupA+$473,34265.53%2.24%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Farm, Geico, and USAA achieved the highest ranking of “A++” in the Lone Star state. That’s a sign they have earned a profit over the long term and are poised for continued success.

Companies with Best Ratings

J.D. Power’s Auto Insurance Study rates the top insurance companies based on their overall customer satisfaction. These are their rankings for insurers in the Texas Region based on a 1,000-point scale.

InsurerPointsPower Circles
TX Farm Bureau857five
Allstate836three
GEICO836three
State Farm835three
Texas Average835three
Farmers834three
Auto Club of Southern California Insurance Group831three
Nationwide829three
Progressive816two
Liberty Mutual802two
USAA*894five
Get Your Rates Quote Now

“Power Circle” legend:

  • five = among the best
  • four = better than most
  • three = above average
  • two = the rest

Texas Farm Bureau topped the list in J.D. Power’s survey through earning five “Power Circles” that show it’s “among the best” insurers.

*USAA is an insurance provider open only to U.S. military and their families, and therefore, J.D. Power didn’t include it in their rankings.

Companies with the Most Complaints in Texas

Nobody’s perfect. The number of complaints a company receives reveals customer dissatisfaction, yet how they handle them tells a lot about their level of service.

The table below shows the NAIC’s most recent complaint data for the 10 largest car insurance companies in Texas.

CompanyNational Median
Complaint Ratio
Company Complaint
Ratio 2017
Total Complaints
2017
State Farm Group10.441482
Geico0.0076
Allstate Insurance Group10.5163
Progressive Group10.75120
Farmers Insurance Group10.597
USAA Group02
Liberty Mutual Group15.95222
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Group10.163
Consumers County Mutual Insurance Co10.15
Nationwide Corp Group10.2825
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Though it has a lower market share when compared to State Farm and other insurers in Texas, Liberty Mutual has a fairly high complaint ratio of “six.” That’s above the national average of one, and in 2017 alone, the company received over 200 complaints, more than its competitors.

Cheapest Companies in Texas

Now we’re going to explore which carriers, on average, offer the best rates statewide.

View as image
CompanyAverage Annual RatesCompared to State AveragePercentage Compared to State Average
Allstate F&C$5,485.32$1,556.9828.38%
The Gen Automobile Ins Co Inc$4,849.18$920.8418.99%
Geico County Mutual Ins Co.$3,263.39-$664.95-20.38%
Nationwide CCMIC$3,867.57-$60.77-1.57%
Progressive Cty Mtl$4,664.85$736.5115.79%
State Farm Mutual Auto$2,879.95-$1,048.39-36.40%
USAA$2,488.12-$1,440.22-57.88%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Allstate F&C has the highest rates in Texas, at 28 percent above the state average.

Commute Rates by Companies

How far you drive regularly also factors into your car insurance rates. Here’s how the top carriers in the state compare for average commute distances.

Group10 miles commute, 6000 annual mileage25 miles commute, 12000 annual mileage
Allstate$5,354.10$5,616.53
American Family$4,849.18$4,849.18
Geico$3,201.27$3,325.50
Nationwide$3,867.57$3,867.57
Progressive$4,664.85$4,664.85
State Farm$2,879.95$2,879.95
USAA$2,456.42$2,519.83
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Several insurers in Texas don’t increase their rates for 10- to 25-mile commutes: State Farm, Nationwide, Progressive, and American Family. Among those who do, USAA had the lowest increase between the two mileages, at roughly $63.

Commute times are not the only factor that affect your rates.

View as image

Coverage Level Rates by Companies

How much insurance you buy, whether it’s just liability, collision, or comprehensive — or all of them rolled into full coverage — also affects your premium costs. Let’s see how much they can change with each type of insurance.

GroupAnnual Rates with Low CoverageAnnual Rates with Medium CoverageAnnual Rates with High Coverage
Allstate$5,361.24$5,438.89$5,655.81
American Family$4,517.27$4,672.73$5,357.52
Geico$3,090.73$3,221.75$3,477.68
Nationwide$4,165.19$3,701.00$3,736.52
Progressive$4,431.31$4,642.33$4,920.90
State Farm$2,729.50$2,870.49$3,039.86
USAA$2,403.46$2,477.96$2,582.94
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Farm, USAA, and Allstate have the lowest price differences from the lowest to the highest coverage levels — an average of $150 to $300. This means that for a few dollars more, the best protection with full coverage is affordable for some car insurance buyers.

Credit History Rates by Companies

Your credit score is another major influence on car insurance costs. Let’s see how much rates can change with poor, fair, or good credit.

GroupAnnual Rates with Good CreditAnnual Rates with Fair CreditAnnual Rates with Poor Credit
Allstate$4,370.89$5,107.95$6,977.11
American Family$3,672.27$4,205.41$6,669.84
Geico$1,902.16$2,851.60$5,036.40
Nationwide$3,235.20$3,722.88$4,644.64
Progressive$4,201.38$4,536.59$5,256.57
State Farm$2,023.50$2,538.85$4,077.51
USAA$1,696.02$2,109.52$3,658.82
Get Your Rates Quote Now

According to Experian, the average credit score in the state of Texas in 2017 was 656. The state was among the top 10 with the lowest credit scores. The average Texans’ credit score was about 20 points lower than the national average score of 675.

Compared to other insurers, Progressive offered the lowest price increase — only $1,000 — from poor to good credit. With several other companies, costs varied from $2,000 – $3,000 or more.

Driving Record Rates by Companies

If you have even one violation on your driving record, your rates can increase by thousands of dollars. Here’s how they can change with some common driving penalties.

GroupClean recordWith 1 speeding violationWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUI
Allstate$4,270.52$4,270.52$6,562.28$6,837.95
American Family$4,418.84$4,418.84$5,627.66$4,931.37
Geico$2,769.60$3,570.55$3,651.43$3,061.96
Nationwide$3,351.99$3,789.11$3,351.99$4,977.19
Progressive$4,066.74$4,581.27$5,258.36$4,753.00
State Farm$2,561.35$2,561.35$2,934.63$3,462.47
USAA$1,858.11$2,132.96$2,737.39$3,224.03
Get Your Rates Quote Now

For the most minor infraction listed, one speeding ticket, not every insurer raises rates. American Family and Allstate “forgave” drivers for this penalty and didn’t increase their premiums.

Largest Car Insurance Companies in Texas

The data below uses market share, loss ratio, and the number of direct premiums written to show which top insurers are the largest.

View as image
Insurance CompanyDirect Written PremiumsLoss RatioMarket Share
State Farm Group$3,563,12078.29%16.83%
Geico$2,637,48988.18%12.46%
Allstate Insurance Group$2,362,58466.19%11.16%
Progressive Group$2,041,34568.91%9.64%
Farmers Insurance Group$1,842,73566.07%8.70%
USAA Group$1,712,94988.30%8.09%
Liberty Mutual Group$1,195,73583.96%5.65%
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Group$693,00477.31%3.27%
Consumers County Mutual Insurance Co$541,82586.45%2.56%
Nationwide Corp Group$473,34265.53%2.24%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

With the greatest market share and amount of direct premiums written combined with a decent loss ratio, State Farm and Geico capture a fair amount of car insurance customers in Texas.

Number of Insurers by State

Foreign companies were formed in other states but are licensed to operate in Texas, while domestic insurers were incorporated in the Lone Star State.

DomesticForeignTotal Number of Licensed Insurers
1999371136
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Fewer than one-quarter of the insurers in Texas were founded there.

Now that we’ve covered some of the biggest factors in setting car insurance rates, we’ll go over another major influence on rates: laws.

Compare Insurance Quotes

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Texas Laws

Ignorance of the law is no excuse, as they say. But it can be hard to keep track of all of the laws on the books.

Below, we’ll cover the ones you should pay the most attention to, and we’ll cover what happens if you disobey them. These include Texas car insurance laws, rules for “high-risk” drivers, windshield coverage, and more.

Are you ready to find out more? Read on.

Car Insurance Laws

Many of us aren’t entirely familiar with state insurance laws, so this section will serve as a refresher.

How State Laws for Insurance are Determined

Each state determines the type of tort law and threshold (if any) that applies, the type and amount of liability insurance to require, and the system they use to approve insurer rates and forms.

Insurance companies in Texas must meet the regulations the state insurance commissioner sets per the fair competition standards of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). To set rates and file forms, insurers in the Lone Star State must get prior approval from the Texas Department of Insurance.

Approval can occur through a deemer provision, which indicates approval if the state commissioner doesn’t deny forms/rates within a certain number of days.

Windshield Coverage

According to CarWindshields.Info, Texas lets insurers make repairs with used and aftermarket parts if they’re “of like, kind, and quality.” The consumer also has the right to choose the repair vendor.

You may be able to get a zero-deductible with windshield coverage under a comprehensive car insurance policy. Not every carrier offers it, but you may be able to find the right policy for you. While you research plans, look at how the different insurance providers handle windshield claims.

High-Risk Insurance

High-risk insurance helps drivers who have a history of accidents or traffic violations and can’t buy coverage through a standard insurance carrier.

According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, high-risk drivers must file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) to verify that they have liability insurance.

Texas also offers a program, the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA), to help “high-risk” drivers buy insurance. To qualify, at least two carriers must have denied them coverage within 60 days. Their insurance carrier must apply on their behalf. They don’t need proof of refusal to insure, but they must sign a statement.

TAIPA offers the state-required minimum coverage and the following types and levels:

  • $2,500 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) — Medical Payments coverage not available
  • $30,000/60,000/25,000 of Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage

This state-administered program lets insurance companies share the risk associated with your policy among a pool of other insurers. You may, however, end up paying more for insurance compared to standard premiums. And, there is a quota, which means that each insurer must offer coverage to a limited number of high-risk drivers depending on their market share.

Low-Cost Insurance

Though Texas has a program to help high-risk drivers, it doesn’t have one for low-income drivers.

California, Hawaii, and New Jersey are the only states with government-funded programs to help low-income drivers pay for their car insurance.

Automobile Insurance Fraud in Texas

Insurance fraud is the second-largest economic crime in America. It affects premium rates and the prices consumers pay for goods and services. If those fraud numbers continue to rise, it’s more likely insurers will pass some of the costs in investigating them on to you in higher premiums.

There are two types of fraud: hard and soft.

  • Hard Fraud – A purposefully fabricated claim or accident
  • Soft Fraud – A misrepresentation of information to the insurance company

Soft fraud is more common than hard fraud. Twenty to 40 percent of consumers admitted to lying to their insurers about one of the following:

  • The number of annual miles driven
  • The number of drivers in the household
  • How they will use the vehicle

Even the little white lie you tell to get a lower rate has consequences. That intentional misrepresentation of facts is known as “rate evasion” and costs auto insurers $16 billion annually. They pass those costs onto consumers in the form of higher premiums.

Auto insurance fraud is a crime in Texas and includes the following penalties:

  • When the claim amount is less than $50: Anything lower than $50 is considered a “Class C” misdemeanor, with a fine of $500.
  • When the claim amount is more than $200,000: fines up to $10,000 and/or jail time of five to 99 years.

In 2017, the Texas fraud unit received 7,756 reports of motor vehicle insurance fraud, which made up more than 60 percent of the overall insurance fraud claims.

The Texas Department of Insurance investigates insurance fraud.  You can report fraud through an online form.

Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations is the time you have left to file a legal claim. In Texas, you have two years from the time of an accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury and property damage.

Evidence can degrade and witnesses can be hard to keep track of over time, so it’s best to file sooner rather than later.

State-Specific Laws

According to Texas traffic codes, before drivers make a U-turn, they must ensure it’s safe and legal to do so. Drivers may only make U-turns if they can see at least 500 feet in the direction of oncoming traffic. If you can’t make a turn safely, it’s illegal to do so — you risk getting a ticket for reckless driving.

If there’s no sign prohibiting a U-turn, and oncoming traffic is visible for 500 feet, a driver may make a legal U-turn under the same rules as a left turn.

This regular news segment explains a few Texas driving laws regarding wearing headphones while driving and using dome lights:

Vehicle Licensing Laws

Want to know about Lone Star State vehicle licensing laws? Below, we’ll cover the requirements for getting and renewing a driver’s license and the state’s “points” system for penalties.

REAL ID

Texas complies with the federal REAL ID program slated to go into effect on Oct. 1, 2020. It requires a REAL ID for entry into federal buildings and to board domestic flights. The program stems from national security measures and federal identification standards adopted after the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in the U.S.

In 2016, Texas started issuing REAL ID–compliant cards, which feature a gold circle with a star in the upper right-hand corner.

Those interested in getting a REAL ID driver’s license or identification card, must apply in person at their local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and bring the following documents:

  • An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State Bureau of Vital Statistics or equivalent Agency from a U.S. State, U.S. Territory, the District of Columbia, or an unexpired U.S. passport book or card
  • Social security card
  • Current Texas vehicle registration or title
  • Current automobile insurance policy or an automobile insurance statement

The news report below goes into the requirements for getting a REAL ID. Senior citizens in the state may face difficulties if they don’t have birth certificates or passports:

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

In Texas, you must show proof of insurance in the following situations:

  • Whenever a police officer asks for it
  • If you get into a car accident
  • When you register or renew your car’s registration
  • When you apply for or renew your driver’s license
  • When your car undergoes an inspection

Several government agencies, including local police and sheriff departments, use the online TexasSure program to verify whether drivers have car insurance. If the system shows a driver is uninsured or there is inconsistent information regarding their insurance, they may receive the following notices:

  • Unmatched notice – Drivers will get this notice if they’re on record as having car insurance, but the coverage doesn’t match the car registration.
  • Uninsured notice – Drivers will get this notice if they’ve registered a vehicle without car insurance.

As we mentioned earlier, the state accepts certain proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The table below details the penalties for driving without car insurance:

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in TexasDetails
First Offense- Fine: $175 to $350 fine
- pay up to a $250 surcharge every year for three years (may be reduced with certain requirements)

Second Offense- Fine: $350 to $1000
- pay up to a $250 surcharge every year for three years (may be reduced with certain requirements)
- suspend the driver's license and vehicle registrations of the person unless the person files and maintains evidence of financial responsibility with the department until the second anniversary of the date of the subsequent conviction
- Impoundment: for 180 days and
cannot apply for release of car without evidence of financial responsibility and impoundment fee of $15/day
Get Your Rates Quote Now

In Texas, the penalties for driving without insurance are pretty strict, which is why you shouldn’t leave home without it.

Teen Driver Laws

Young drivers in Texas age 15 or older must pass a graduated licensing program to get a learner’s permit before they qualify for a full license. The DMV will only issue a permit to those who satisfactorily complete the classroom phase of a driver’s education course.

Below are the state requirements for getting a license.

Requirements for Getting a License in TexasDetails
Mandatory Holding Period6 months
Minimum Supervised Driving Time30 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Minimum Age16 years old (the minimum license age is 18 for applicants who have not completed driver education)
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Teens can apply for a provisional or intermediate license if they’ve satisfied the requirements under the learner’s permit. These are the laws for young drivers with a restricted license.

Restricted License Laws in TexasDetails
Nighttime restrictionsmidnight-5 a.m.
Passenger restrictions (family members excepted unless noted otherwise)no more than one passenger younger than 21 - secondary enforcement
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted
Nighttime restrictionsuntil age 18
Passenger restrictionsuntil age 18
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Driver License Renewal Procedures

Texas has different license renewal requirements based on the driver’s age. Drivers younger than age 85 must renew their licenses every eight years. Those 85 or older must renew their licenses every two years.

Texans can renew their licenses within a year before they’re supposed to expire and up to two years after their licenses have expired. However, if two years have passed since the license expired, you must apply for a new one.

The DMV requires proof of adequate vision for drivers younger than age 79 if they renew in person. Drivers age 79 or older must provide proof of adequate vision at every renewal.

Methods of renewal: If you’re younger than age 79, you can renew your license by phone, mail, or online at every other renewal. Drivers under 18 and older than 79 must renew their licenses in-person at a local DMV office.

New Residents

New Texans have 30 days from the time they move to register their vehicles and up to 90 days to apply for a new driver’s license.

Upon applying, drivers aged 18 or older must surrender any unexpired driver license from another U.S. state or territory or Canadian province.  They don’t have to take knowledge or skills tests or meet driver’s education requirements.

Applicants with a driver’s license from any country other than the U.S., Canada, France, South Korea, Germany, or Taiwan must take and pass both the knowledge and skills exams.

Applicants with a valid, unexpired learner’s license from another U.S. state or territory, Canada, France, South Korea, Germany, or Taiwan and who are applying for a Texas learner’s permit can skip the knowledge exam. Once they get a full driver’s license, they must complete the Impact Texas Driver course and pass the skills exam.

New residents under age 25 must also complete driver education.

Applicants must provide the following documents:

  • Proof of identity (a valid out of state license can count as a supporting document)
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of citizenship or lawful presence
  • Social security number
  • Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration for each vehicle you own. Registration must be current. (New Residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver’s license only.)
  • Proof of insurance for each vehicle you own or a signed statement that you don’t own a car.

Proof of insurance must meet minimum coverage requirements of $30,000 per injured person, up to a total of $60,000 for everyone injured in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage.

Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)

According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, as of September 1, 2019, the state repealed its Driver Responsibility Program. As it states:

“The Department of Public Safety has reinstated all driver privileges that were previously suspended solely for having unpaid surcharges. If your license was suspended for other offenses, you may check the status of your driver license and determine any reinstatement requirements by visiting our License Eligibility page.

Additional information on the repeal of the program may be found at Driver Responsibility Program (Surcharge) Repeal FAQs.

Drivers will still be responsible for any other suspensions, fines, or fees on their driving records.

This news segment explains more about the end of the program:

Rules of the Road

We’ve covered licensing laws. Next, we’ll go over more regulations that affect your safety on the road.

Fault vs. No-Fault

As we mentioned before, Texas is an “at-fault” state. Drivers who cause an accident there must pay for personal injury and property damage costs.

If the “at-fault” driver has insurance, their insurer will pay for those losses up to the policy limits, and the driver will likely pay the rest.

In deciding responsibility or negligence for an accident claim or a lawsuit, the state follows a law of comparative fault in assigning a percentage of blame for damage awards.

The state uses a “51 percent rule.” This means that an injured victim (plaintiff) can’t get compensation if a judge or jury finds them to be 51 percent or more at fault for causing a crash.

Victims who are 50 percent or less at fault for an accident will receive compensation reduced to their level of responsibility. For example, if another driver rear-ended the plaintiff and the plaintiff was found to be 30 percent at fault, while the other driver was 70 percent responsible, the plaintiff would get $70,000 out of $100,000 in damages.

This law firm video explains more about the state’s comparative fault law:

Seat Belt & Car Seat Laws

The table below contains data from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety about Texas safety belt laws.

Safety Belt Laws in TexasDetails
Effective SinceSeptember 1, 1985
Primary Enforcementyes; effective 09/01/85
Age/Seats Applicable7 years and younger who are 57 inches or taller; 8+ years in all seats
1st Offense Max Fine$200
Get Your Rates Quote Now

And these are the child seat laws:

Type of Car Seat RequiredAge
Must be in child safety seat7 years and younger and less than 57 inches
Preference for rear seatlaw states no preference for rear seat
Adult Belt Permissiblenot permissible
Maximum base fine 1st offense, additional fees may apply$25 minimum; maximum unlisted
Get Your Rates Quote Now

For a first-time car seat law offense, you can pay a fine of $45 plus fees.

Regarding cargo areas of pick up trucks, the Lone Star State restricts who can ride in them. It’s illegal for children to ride there, but the law doesn’t apply to riders aged 18 and older. It applies in the following situations:

  • Vehicles that are the only ones that members of the household own
  • Pickup trucks in parades, hayrides, or on beaches
  • Vehicles in farm operations used to transport people from field to field or on a farm
  •  A pickup being used in an emergency

Keep Right & Move Over Laws

Texas’s “keep right” law requires drivers who are driving slower than the traffic around them to stay in the right lane. The state allows passing on the right on one-way roads or in other conditions.

The “move over” law requires motorists to slow down and maneuver to the closest lane if they approach a stationary emergency vehicle — including Texas DMV vehicles and tow trucks — using approved visual signals and traveling in the same direction.

Speed Limits

These are the speed limits on various Texas roads.

Type of RoadwaySpeed Limit
Rural Interstates75; 80 or 85 on specified segments of road
Urban Interstates75 mph
Other Limited Access Roads75 mph
Other Roads75 mph
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Ridesharing

In 2017, Texas established statewide standards for Transportation Network Companies (TNC), also known as ridesharing companies.

State law requires rideshare drivers to undergo criminal background checks yearly and carry the minimum auto insurance coverage. The state prohibits sex offenders from rideshare driving.

The liability insurance required while a driver is ridesharing is $1 million for bodily injury and property damage total for each incident.

The following providers offer rideshare insurance in Texas:

  • Allstate
  • Farmers
  • Geico
  • Liberty Mutual
  • Metlife
  • Progressive
  • USAA

Automation on the Road

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has provided the following data on automated vehicle laws in Texas.

What type of driving automation on public roads does the law/provision permit?Require an operator to be licensed?Require an operator to be in the vehicle?Require liability insurance?
DeploymentNoNoYes
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The state has also formed a Connected and Autonomous Vehicle (CAV) Task Force to test self-driving cars.

Safety Laws

In this section, we’ll go over safe driving laws in Texas regarding DUI, marijuana, and distracted driving.

DUI Laws

The Texas Department of Transportation reports that every 20 minutes in the Lone Star State, someone is hurt or killed in an alcohol-related crash. With the high incidence of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), it’s no wonder the state has strict laws, which appear below:

DUI Laws in TexasDetails
Name for OffenseDriving under the influence (DUI)
BAC Limit0.08
High BAC Limit0.15
Criminal Status1st class B misdemeanor, 2nd in 5 years class A misdemeanor, 3rd+ third degree felonies
Look Back Periodunlimited/lifetime for sentencing; 5 years for 2nd+ when determining need for ID
Get Your Rates Quote Now

These are the penalties for drunk driving in Texas:

Number of OffenseALS or RevocationImprisonmentFineOther
1st Offense90 days - 1 year, may be eligible for hardship permit72 hours - 6 monthsno minimum, but up to $2000 +conviction based surcharge of $1000 for three consecutive years; if HBAC, surcharge is $1500 for three consecutive years24-100 hours community service; required evaluation, DUI education, and victim impact panel; possible ID
2nds Offense180 days - 2 years, may be eligible for hardship permit30 days - 1 yearno minimum, but up to $4000 +conviction based surcharge of $1500 for three consecutive years; HBAC surcharge $2000 for three consecutive years80-200 hours community service; required evaluation, DUI education, and victim impact panel; required ID
3rd Offense180 days - 2 years, may be eligible for hardship permit2-10 yearsno minimum, but up to $10,000160-600 hours community service; evaluation, DUI education, victim impact panel and ID required
4th Offensesame as 3rd
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Also, did you know some Texas car insurance companies offer a discount to drivers who take a state-approved drug and alcohol awareness and/or defensive driving course? DWI offenders who must take the drug and alcohol awareness course also qualify for the discount.

The best way to avoid getting a DWI violation on your driving record is not to drink and drive. If you drink, designate a driver, call a cab, or spend the night where you are, if possible.

Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

According to the Marijuana Policy Project, Texas allowed the first sales of low-THC medical cannabis in early 2018 under its Compassionate Use Program.

The law places a 0.5 percent cap on the level of THC prescribed to medical marijuana patients. Only patients with certain conditions can use it: intractable epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, ALS, terminal cancer, autism, spasticity, and incurable neurodegenerative diseases.

The state also allows the use of CBD oil. It hasn’t decriminalized marijuana use, and there are currently no laws in Texas that regulate driving under the influence of marijuana.

Distracted Driving Laws

Besides drug and alcohol use, distracted driving — regardless of the cause — is a major factor in car crashes.

These are the laws in Texas regarding distracted driving:

Cell Phone Laws in TexasDetails
Hand-Held Bandrivers in school crossing zones and on public school property during the time the reduced speed limit applies
Text Banall drivers
Young drivers all cellphone bandrivers younger than 18
Enforcementprimary
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Primary enforcement means that a law enforcement officer can pull you over if they catch you texting or committing other distracted driving violations.

Driving in Texas

With the many miles of Texas roadway, you have the freedom to go where you please. It can take hours to travel from one end of the state to the other, and you can run into some hazards along the way.

In this section, we’ll cover some of the biggest risks of car ownership — vehicle thefts and fatal accidents. The sobering statistics we present from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) serve as a reminder to drive safely at all times.

Keep reading to find out how these risks affect Texas drivers.

Vehicle Theft in Texas

The table below shows the top 10 stolen vehicles in Texas, together with the most popular model year.

Make/ModelYear of VehicleNumber of Thefts
Ford Pickup (Full Size)20067,897
Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)20046,158
Dodge Pickup (Full Size)20042,898
Honda Accord19971,626
GMC Pickup (Full Size)20151,450
Honda Civic20001,371
Chevrolet Tahoe20041,148
Toyota Camry20141,030
Nissan Altima2012957
Chevrolet Impala2007898
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The 2006 Ford pickup was the most-stolen vehicle in the Lone Star State.

Vehicle Theft by City

These Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) statistics show vehicle thefts in 2017 by city.

STATEMOTOR VEHICLE THEFT
Amarillo990
Mesquite849
Garland810
El Paso800
Corpus Christi731
Irving711
Killeen566
Grand Prairie495
Beaumont405
Pasadena379
Plano339
Baytown326
Denton298
Galveston284
Odessa273
San Angelo272
Abilene260
Longview242
Lancaster240
Temple238
Wichita Falls238
Lewisville229
Carrollton227
Midland220
Waco191
Richardson189
Conroe176
Humble176
Laredo170
Duncanville169
San Marcos169
DeSoto158
McKinney155
Port Arthur153
Haltom City150
New Braunfels148
Balch Springs3146
Tyler146
Brownsville141
Euless140
Bryan123
Texas City123
Texarkana121
College Station117
Victoria110
Edinburg108
South Houston3106
Bedford102
North Richland Hills101
Cedar Hill98
Addison97
League City93
Farmers Branch92
Harlingen91
Huntsville88
Big Spring85
Grapevine85
Frisco84
Lufkin83
Webster81
Seagoville79
Sherman77
Mission74
Rowlett71
Denison70
Waxahachie70
Missouri City69
Hurst68
Burleson67
Terrell67
Greenville65
Marshall65
La Marque64
Round Rock64
Leon Valley62
Pharr62
Kyle61
Alvin60
Rosenberg59
Saginaw59
Schertz57
Sugar Land56
Stafford54
Allen52
Harker Heights52
Alamo51
Cedar Park51
Cleburne51
Rockwall51
San Juan51
Weslaco50
La Porte49
Plainview49
White Settlement49
Paris48
Converse47
Dickinson47
Donna347
Orange47
McAllen46
Pflugerville345
Universal City45
Balcones Heights42
Kirby42
Mansfield42
The Colony42
Tomball40
Live Oak39
Rio Grande City39
Weatherford39
Alice38
Corsicana37
Borger336
Forest Hill36
Katy36
Nederland36
Ennis35
Georgetown35
Jacinto City35
Copperas Cove34
Deer Park34
Vidor34
Eagle Pass33
Mercedes33
Taylor33
Jersey Village32
Levelland31
Cleveland30
Windcrest30
Boerne29
Groves29
Kilgore29
Pleasanton29
Bellmead328
Dumas28
Palestine328
Richland Hills28
Wylie28
Athens27
Nacogdoches27
Port Aransas27
Seguin27
Selma27
Little Elm26
Port Neches26
Sweetwater326
Kingsville25
San Benito25
Shenandoah325
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Generally, cities with higher populations, such as Austin, saw more thefts than smaller ones, like Abilene.

Road Fatalities in Texas

Weather, light condition, impaired drivers, and speed are among the biggest causes of deaths on the highways.

Let’s look at how many have occurred throughout the Lone Star State.

Most Fatal Highway in Texas

Geotab reports that US-83 (also known as the Texas Vietnam Veterans Memorial Highway), running north and south, is the most fatal highway. It has averaged 26 crash deaths every year for the past decade.

To determine the most dangerous highway in each state, Geotab calculates a Fatal Crash Rate based on the annual number of NHTSA road fatality and fatal crash statistics. They adjust them for the average daily traffic counts the Federal Highway Administration provides.

Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition & Light Condition

Let’s explore how weather and light conditions can influence crash deaths in Texas.

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Normal1,3166649309483,012
Rain91538590238
Snow/Sleet9010010
Other1718324071
Unknown3030612
TOTAL1,4367351,051107143,343
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Most deaths occurred under normal daylight conditions. Texas also sees a lot of extreme weather phenomena. For instance, the Lone Star State is one of the states most affected by tornadoes and hurricanes.

Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

Below is NHTSA Crash Report data on road fatalities in Texas by county from 2013 – 2017.

CountyFatalities
2013
2014201520162017Fatalities
Per 100K
Population
2013
2014201520162017
Anderson County9108121015.5317.2913.8820.8517.32
Andrews County12111411671.4863.0477.385.6190.28
Angelina County191818201621.7520.5520.4822.7718.22
Aransas County3323412.5512.28.0511.8715.64
Archer County7504279.6156.59045.5922.7
Armstrong County60011309.280053.8853.22
Atascosa County717176914.8935.6435.1612.3318.37
Austin County68510320.9427.6416.9833.7410.07
Bailey County2012128.18013.8927.8614.13
Bandera County10882748.6438.4437.839.2131.32
Bastrop County211420372627.6717.9724.9444.7130.67
Baylor County73601195.6984.1164.43027.93
Bee County4858312.1924.3615.3324.369.21
Bell County36344042571110.311.912.3116.39
Bexar County18918418922616410.389.919.9711.728.37
Blanco County5948347.0183.336.2470.5425.8
Borden County11110154.8150.15152.44151.520
Bosque County5442527.9922.5822.3911.127.28
Bowie County251814221626.7519.2714.9923.4317.02
Brazoria County453042484313.638.8812.1513.5711.86
Brazos County15142220287.356.7110.199.1112.57
Brewster County3110032.2910.9310.9500
Briscoe County00020000134.590
Brooks County86311110.1882.6941.4513.7713.82
Brown County226535.325.3315.9113.147.88
Burleson County34411517.423.0522.7861.7627.76
Burnet County8201191618.3545.4824.5619.634.19
Caldwell County4151291110.237.7929.7221.8925.98
Calhoun County7311132.2113.764.574.564.6
Callahan County124671088.9229.6344.1850.8171.71
Cameron County39262541409.356.215.969.729.44
Camp County2411316.0831.697.97.8323.34
Carson County1396316.7149.73149.8398.2549.73
Cass County731441023.159.9646.4513.333.32
Castro County2410124.7550.5812.82012.75
Chambers County13201522934.8152.2438.454.6121.72
Cherokee County1513891029.3625.415.5117.3419.14
Childress County2012328.35014.228.1942.45
Clay County6210657.419.289.66057.58
Cochran County02010068.17034.350
Coke County1554131.46155.52155.04122.5930.25
Coleman County1446111.7347.5348.1171.2511.86
Collin County41473750684.785.314.055.317.01
Collingsworth County003000099.6700
Colorado County1551481072.4424.1766.9538.0547.1
Comal County212017241717.7116.2413.2117.8912.06
Comanche County5248736.9314.8629.9259.1751.57
Concho County4100497.724.600147.22
Cooke County320136107.8151.6933.2815.2925.07
Coryell County75131499.126.5617.0518.6812.01
Cottle County01000070.03000
Crane County2320142.3561.1539.94021.1
Crockett County55347132.94132.0780.39109.5196.41
Crosby County01451017.1767.6184.516.95
Culberson County26123386.77263.16533.1135.2134.47
Dallam County1814314.08111.0613.7755.1341.62
Dallas County2252382593152829.069.4510.1412.1710.77
Dawson County4644230.344.6630.8130.6715.61
Deaf Smith County2323310.4415.7110.6415.9215.93
Delta County2026039.08038.78116.60
Denton County40373849495.494.914.876.065.86
Dewitt County9735544.1634.1214.5424.2524.72
Dickens County001140045.4145.43181.08
Dimmit County101382391.7117.9672.8518.5528.8
Donley County1402228.04114.22058.9660.4
Duval County5364643.1526.0452.934.9453.22
Eastland County8986643.7749.3544.0532.7832.59
Ector County594854344839.4331.0533.7821.5830.56
Edwards County0031100157.0752.1451.2
El Paso County60666281587.237.927.449.686.9
Ellis County192425283312.1815.0815.3116.6319.01
Erath County101518131025.063743.6731.3723.83
Falls County8747346.440.6823.2240.3917.2
Fannin County658151417.8914.8723.944.3140.64
Fayette County991691736.4136.3164.0835.967.27
Fisher County1622225.85154.9251.6751.5351.55
Floyd County2201232.0333.64017.0234.16
Foard County21011155.2878.31082.5881.83
Fort Bend County52363937397.975.265.464.995.1
Franklin County24410018.8537.8737.7693.820
Freestone County581114825.5240.755.871.2640.76
Frio County7193338.085.2846.7315.4815.31
Gaines County115105358.5325.8849.4724.4114.54
Galveston County23354445407.511.1613.6913.6711.94
Garza County1801215.69124.84015.5230.64
Gillespie County64571123.715.7119.2626.6141.28
Glasscock County44623316.46303.72438.28148.15222.55
Goliad County3344140.2639.9853.2653.1813.22
Gonzales County111315131254.6263.8673.0462.3157.44
Gray County3465613.0517.0725.8121.9926.78
Grayson County271926242222.0815.3820.7118.7216.78
Gregg County212226213217.0517.8820.9916.9925.94
Grimes County1051681137.3218.5158.5429.0139.17
Guadalupe County161519241911.210.2212.6215.5211.9
Hale County184342.823.211.738.7711.72
Hall County3020194.85064.68032.56
Hamilton County4770348.6185.8986.74035.62
Hansford County2230236.1336.1353.49036.72
Hardeman County2412249.21100.325.5650.1150.08
Hardin County11139111219.8923.4216.1419.5521
Harris County3694173914474568.489.378.599.689.8
Harrison County221426161733.2121.0138.9523.9825.5
Hartley County4385566.7449.68140.9987.6387.86
Haskell County3642450.8103.4768.7634.6969.61
Hays County231817393013.079.748.7419.0913.99
Hemphill County1311024.1471.8623.324.240
Henderson County121217111615.2615.1421.413.7419.74
Hidalgo County65656775607.957.847.988.826.97
Hill County161416131045.9140.2645.9236.9627.89
Hockley County6757425.6429.8421.4530.317.33
Hood County58315119.4514.865.4226.4318.88
Hopkins County78991319.8322.4225.0324.8635.62
Houston County868141035.0826.3235.1961.1743.44
Howard County126128933.1916.4432.3221.8524.97
Hudspeth County141571214419.54460.41203.73294.62317.6
Hunt County151822282617.1520.324.5330.4527.7
Hutchinson County6865027.436.5327.5523.180
Irion County210300124.15635.32194.4300
Jack County3563133.7156.4367.8834.2211.32
Jackson County65106341.0733.9767.640.420.26
Jasper County85127822.4714.1234.0419.7722.5
Jeff Davis County32002134.4790.090087.72
Jefferson County23322737379.0912.6610.5914.4614.44
Jim Hogg County1613019.01112.7818.9357.210
Jim Wells County1410154733.624.1136.179.7317.13
Johnson County192322232112.314.6713.814.1212.55
Jones County7585934.9425.1940.0325.0145.04
Karnes County11795474.7247.1959.0332.7626.34
Kaufman County122418273111.0821.6415.7722.8725.23
Kendall County8595421.5313.0222.5211.919.09
Kenedy County20222459.770461.89467.29479.62
Kent County010010133.6900131.06
Kerr County1615811332.1529.8415.7621.445.8
Kimble County40912789.610204.92271158.73
King County0010000352.1100
Kinney County2022055.08055.6654.950
Kleberg County57311515.6221.989.5535.0916.08
Knox County1111126.8726.3126.3726.7426.95
La Salle County917417120.97227.352.3313.1392.3
Lamar County714810614.2628.3416.2120.1812.1
Lamb County8444258.5829.6630.1530.2515.14
Lampasas County3165614.94.9729.3924.228.53
Lavaca County4574720.3825.2835.1520.0934.89
Lee County810159348.3360.1288.8552.9517.46
Leon County1210812772.1859.7646.9769.7840.6
Liberty County231618223929.9420.5122.6327.0346.62
Limestone County4854317.0934.0421.331712.75
Lipscomb County001000028.1100
Live Oak County14188610118.49149.4565.849.9182.14
Llano County4329320.5115.289.9743.7514.14
Loving County0223102247.191680.672608.7746.27
Lubbock County324240434211.0514.2613.414.2213.76
Lynn County1064417.460104.4269.0368.27
Madison County712610750.7286.6943.0570.9549.22
Marion County7162968.149.8559.2519.8389.43
Martin County39116556.88164.47193.8105.4988.87
Mason County2001348.720024.0371.06
Matagorda County8413101021.9110.9635.3626.9427.14
Maverick County5881098.8614.0313.8717.2415.46
Mcculloch County094200110.448.4724.630
Mclennan County353930284414.516.0412.2311.3117.51
Mcmullen County0941001132.08482.51122.70
Medina County1139141723.276.2718.628.4633.96
Menard County1010146.84046.93047.08
Midland County444733255028.8930.0220.3715.2930.29
Milam County410351716.6141.4112.3120.2167.86
Mills County1512320.54102.7320.4640.8760.96
Mitchell County1453511.1144.1256.4635.3859.05
Montague County3443615.4720.6420.7515.4430.71
Montgomery County515360765410.2310.2611.2113.719.46
Moore County17846576.7736.3318.2827.3522.63
Morris County2426415.7731.716.1448.0432.08
Motley County1100083.8987.03000
Nacogdoches County161116131324.5516.8724.4419.819.82
Navarro County13101151427.0720.8722.8410.3428.75
Newton County2745313.9548.9628.2335.2521.5
Nolan County1062101666.4239.713.366.81108.33
Nueces County32374245519.0710.3811.6512.4514.12
Ochiltree County4921037.4984.2318.79.710
Oldham County75835335.09241.55387.6144.65236.52
Orange County132819222315.733.6422.6426.0327.04
Palo Pinto County118108839.4728.5635.7728.4428
Panola County11111013646.2546.3342.2755.4625.81
Parker County181518212015.0312.2814.3316.314.99
Parmer County1432210.0440.2730.6120.3720.32
Pecos County7171291944.71107.3474.9256.69121.53
Polk County121315121526.3628.3732.1825.1430.51
Potter County302620293224.5721.3216.5124.0626.57
Presidio County01111013.9114.1813.9513.97
Rains County2214118.1418.178.9935.388.5
Randall County13141414710.2610.8810.7410.575.21
Reagan County45601110.19132157.52026.95
Real County3253290.3959.74151.6588.3158.33
Red River County4144432.018.0332.3532.7432.71
Reeves County1712211415119.8182.71140.8892.9198.16
Refugio County71433796.25190.3740.9841.1496.9
Roberts County15014108.81547.050109.17426.44
Robertson County7147442.626.0823.9741.5223.25
Rockwall County83412139.443.454.4412.8513.43
Runnels County182419.8277.9319.3139.019.74
Rusk County251415191746.8726.3328.3435.9532.18
Sabine County4523538.3847.9519.1428.8947.8
San Augustine County63441069.2535.4147.9648.29121.17
San Jacinto County98614533.6629.5721.9350.4417.69
San Patricio County1216781518.1424.0110.4311.8922.32
San Saba County3201052.7234.39017.030
Schleicher County50000156.790000
Scurry County4641223.1734.4822.745.7411.73
Shackelford County3211188.7860.1729.929.7330.05
Shelby County612871123.0946.7531.3727.1643.12
Sherman County2110065.1732.5932.6800
Smith County294361574613.419.5927.4325.320.2
Somervell County6422970.146.7723.2223.04101.75
Starr County13723320.8711.133.154.694.65
Stephens County2122121.3710.7121.3221.2610.71
Sterling County023000149.81225.3900
Stonewall County31001211.5772.10072.05
Sutton County63433150.7275.78102.6777.6279.64
Swisher County3111138.8813.2413.3713.4413.31
Tarrant County1441451571671807.537.457.918.268.76
Taylor County202628171514.9419.2920.612.511.01
Terrell County11010112.23110.250122.250
Terry County7331255.1423.4723.527.815.73
Throckmorton County000020000130.98
Titus County57114615.3321.5733.6212.2618.23
Tom Green County15151771113.0812.8914.465.949.32
Travis County112951451201209.988.2512.319.969.78
Trinity County5449234.6228.0227.5762.0113.64
Tyler County108114246.5237.351.4918.669.29
Upshur County56913512.5814.9122.2931.8112.11
Upton County1832029.55229.9582.1954.10
Uvalde County85321529.818.4811.147.3855.29
Val Verde County8483116.328.216.366.132.03
Van Zandt County221012181542.0518.9622.4733.127.18
Victoria County131317131514.4414.2918.4614.0716.29
Walker County11229252315.8431.4312.7334.8731.84
Waller County1911772441.8423.5114.3913.9846.78
Ward County6191091253.52164.185.9277.66104.6
Washington County4131113911.737.7831.5537.3325.68
Webb County291621472510.995.997.7817.259.1
Wharton County109146624.3321.9133.8314.4114.3
Wheeler County2623934.97105.2335.2954.07167.97
Wichita County15167151311.3512.075.3511.429.85
Wilbarger County2567515.1738.5545.9854.2939.17
Willacy County2221159.089.119.1450.5523.17
Williamson County23474445384.899.628.678.536.94
Wilson County101447422.1130.348.4814.538.11
Winkler County5482665.5251.18100.0625.4179.22
Wise County101421192116.3922.6833.4129.4731.73
Wood County11121271025.9428.0327.7615.9722.57
Yoakum County2413224.3747.7211.634.7823.34
Young County2324410.8916.4211.0222.1322.25
Zapata County2042013.9027.5613.840
Zavala County3566224.6240.8648.849.6216.74
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Bexar, Dallas, and Harris counties had the most crash deaths. Of those counties, only Bexar saw a decrease in fatalities in 2017 — the other two experienced increases throughout the five-year period.

Traffic Fatalities

These were the urban and rural traffic fatalities in Texas from 2013 – 2017.

Area2008200920102011201220132014201520162017
Rural1,7611,6521,4621,4641,6961,6631,7801,6221,5901,504
Urban1,6291,4371,5461,5821,7111,7261,7501,9482,2052,205
Unknown861515810612213
Total3,4763,1043,0233,0543,4083,3893,5363,5823,7973,722
Get Your Rates Quote Now

From 2015 – 2017, urban areas had hundreds of more crash deaths than rural areas. In total, they increased from 2008 – 2017.

Fatalities by Person Type

These are the number of fatalities for 2013 – 2017 based on the type of person and vehicle.

 Person Type20132014201520162017
OccupantsPassenger Car1,0671,1371,1711,2191,252
Light Truck - Pickup606693626636588
Light Truck - Utility441480483441457
Light Truck - Van9587888764
Light Truck - Other111118
Large Truck111114100109129
Bus72171016
Other/Unknown Occupants2321232731
Total Occupants2,3512,5352,5092,5402,545
MotorcyclistsTotal Motorcyclists493451452495490
NonoccupantsPedestrian480479549675607
Bicyclist and Other Cyclist4850526559
Other/Unknown Nonoccupants1721202221
Total Nonoccupants545550621762687
TotalTotal3,3893,5363,5823,7973,722
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Overall, vehicle occupant deaths were higher than non-occupant fatalities (people outside of a vehicle). The highest number of deaths were among passenger car occupants, followed by pedestrians. Again, unfortunately, the numbers increased from 2013 – 2017.

Fatalities by Crash Type

Here is more information about the types of vehicles and the accidents that led to fatalities from 2013 – 2017.

Crash Type20132014201520162017
Total Fatalities (All Crashes)3,3893,5363,5823,7973,722
(1) Single Vehicle1,8151,9131,8481,9821,914
(2) Involving a Large Truck535553567558649
(3) Involving Speeding1,1811,2771,1251,0761,029
(4) Involving a Rollover1,0111,0919831,020942
(5) Involving a Roadway Departure1,8361,9121,8001,8601,832
(6) Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)668667709719724
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Most of the crash deaths involved single vehicles and roadway departures — another reminder to drive safely at all times and in all conditions.

Five-Year Trend For the Top 10 Counties

These are the numbers of fatalities in the most populated Texas counties from 2013 – 2017.

County20132014201520162017
Harris County369417391447456
Dallas County225238259315282
Tarrant County144145157167180
Bexar County189184189226164
Travis County11295145120120
Collin County4147375068
Hidalgo County6565677560
El Paso County6066628158
Bell County3634404257
Montgomery County5153607654
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Harris County had the highest amount of crash deaths, and unfortunately, for the most part, the numbers increased overall among the counties.

Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

Where do speeding crashes occur the most? Let’s find out below.

CountyFatalities
2013
2014201520162017Fatalities
Per 100K
Population
2013
2014201520162017
Anderson County443536.96.925.28.695.2
Andrews County2120211.915.7311.05011.29
Angelina County3104173.4311.424.551.147.97
Aransas County210108.374.0703.960
Archer County1101011.3711.32011.40
Armstrong County30000154.640000
Atascosa County0371306.2914.482.056.12
Austin County264016.9820.7313.5803.36
Bailey County2000028.180000
Bandera County6531229.1824.0214.194.618.95
Bastrop County8544510.546.424.994.835.9
Baylor County1110027.9628.0327.400
Bee County211216.13.053.076.093.07
Bell County15201511204.596.064.463.225.75
Bexar County70697360573.843.713.853.112.91
Blanco County4501037.6146.2808.820
Borden County11110154.8150.15152.44151.520
Bosque County130105.616.9305.550
Bowie County12728212.847.492.148.522.13
Brazoria County13121413183.943.554.053.674.97
Brazos County3610691.472.874.632.734.04
Brewster County2000021.530000
Briscoe County0001000067.290
Brooks County6110082.6313.7813.8200
Brown County0111002.672.652.630
Burleson County121215.811.535.711.235.55
Burnet County56531011.4713.6411.176.5321.37
Caldwell County144562.5510.089.9112.1614.17
Calhoun County110004.64.59000
Callahan County5211637.0514.827.367.2643.02
Cameron County101089102.42.391.912.132.36
Camp County2100016.087.92000
Carson County001010016.65016.58
Cass County206326.62019.919.976.66
Castro County1000012.370000
Chambers County385308.0320.912.87.450
Cherokee County331555.875.861.949.639.57
Childress County1000114.1700014.15
Clay County2100019.139.64000
Cochran County0000000000
Coke County0000000000
Coleman County01020011.88023.750
Collin County12211916371.42.372.081.73.82
Collingsworth County0000000000
Colorado County7181133.84.8338.264.764.71
Comal County9561447.594.064.6610.442.84
Comanche County2104114.777.43029.587.37
Concho County0000000000
Cooke County275225.218.0912.85.15.01
Coryell County313413.911.313.945.341.33
Cottle County0000000000
Crane County1100021.1820.38000
Crockett County2023253.18053.5982.1256.12
Crosby County002410033.8167.616.95
Culberson County1150243.3843.86222.12089.65
Dallam County01000013.88000
Dallas County92118931141023.74.693.644.413.9
Dawson County002000015.400
Deaf Smith County110135.225.2405.3115.93
Delta County0001000019.430
Denton County17211213162.332.791.541.611.91
Dewitt County231109.8114.624.854.850
Dickens County0001000045.430
Dimmit County2720118.3463.5218.2109.6
Donley County03010085.67029.480
Duval County100008.630000
Eastland County7440238.321.9322.03010.86
Ector County1310147148.696.478.764.448.91
Edwards County0031000157.0752.140
El Paso County20282110132.413.362.521.191.55
Ellis County81171275.136.914.297.134.03
Erath County183432.5119.737.289.657.15
Falls County110105.85.8105.770
Fannin County111472.982.972.9911.8220.32
Fayette County5230720.238.0712.02027.7
Fisher County03210077.4651.6725.770
Floyd County02010033.64017.020
Foard County1001077.640082.580
Fort Bend County20119663.071.611.260.810.78
Franklin County02230018.9318.8828.150
Freestone County2215010.2110.185.0725.450
Frio County4060021.76031.1500
Gaines County3231115.9610.3514.844.884.85
Galveston County11171213103.595.423.733.952.98
Garza County1301015.6946.82015.520
Gillespie County123623.957.8511.5622.817.51
Glasscock County0031000219.1474.070
Goliad County02100026.6513.3200
Gonzales County5832124.8339.314.619.594.79
Gray County0220008.538.600
Grayson County1174888.995.673.196.246.1
Gregg County5514664.064.0611.34.854.86
Grimes County204127.46014.643.637.12
Guadalupe County5381013.52.045.316.470.63
Hale County04211011.65.872.922.93
Hall County0000000000
Hamilton County2210224.3124.5412.39023.75
Hansford County01001018.070018.36
Hardeman County03021075.23050.1125.04
Hardin County7432212.667.215.383.553.5
Harris County1211361071351052.783.052.352.922.26
Harrison County639769.064.513.4810.499
Hartley County1130016.6916.5652.8700
Haskell County1310116.9351.7317.19017.4
Hays County10810785.684.335.143.433.73
Hemphill County0000000000
Henderson County324233.822.525.032.53.7
Hidalgo County26292924183.183.53.452.822.09
Hill County6554317.2214.3814.3511.378.37
Hockley County251218.5521.314.298.664.33
Hood County250343.789.2905.296.86
Hopkins County225475.675.613.911.0519.18
Houston County132724.3813.168.830.588.69
Howard County6160316.592.7416.1608.32
Hudspeth County3436589.9122.7787.31147.31113.43
Hunt County171681.147.91.126.538.52
Hutchinson County111304.574.574.5913.910
Irion County042000254.13129.6200
Jack County3100033.7111.29000
Jackson County111116.856.796.766.736.75
Jasper County6142316.852.8211.355.658.44
Jeff Davis County1200144.8290.090043.86
Jefferson County999973.563.563.533.522.73
Jim Hogg County1000019.010000
Jim Wells County424119.64.829.652.432.45
Johnson County91310665.828.296.273.683.59
Jones County220149.9810.080520.02
Karnes County5223333.9613.4813.1219.6519.75
Kaufman County264591.855.413.54.247.32
Kendall County6072216.15017.514.774.54
Kenedy County10000229.890000
Kent County0000000000
Kerr County473508.0413.925.919.750
Kimble County00061000135.522.68
King County0010000352.1100
Kinney County1001027.540027.470
Kleberg County121113.126.283.183.193.22
Knox County1010026.87026.3700
La Salle County4511253.7666.8513.0813.1326.37
Lamar County332416.116.074.058.072.02
Lamb County3011121.9707.547.567.57
Lampasas County0111404.974.94.8419.02
Lavaca County114015.095.0620.0804.98
Lee County2365012.0818.0435.5429.420
Leon County6231036.0911.9517.615.820
Liberty County475495.218.976.294.9210.76
Limestone County0142104.2617.068.54.25
Lipscomb County0000000000
Live Oak County164318.4649.8232.924.958.21
Llano County2203110.2610.18014.584.71
Loving County00010000869.570
Lubbock County1817811126.225.772.683.643.93
Lynn County1021017.46034.8117.260
Madison County0124007.2214.3528.380
Marion County3011329.209.879.9129.81
Martin County1220118.9636.5535.24017.77
Mason County00001000023.69
Matagorda County328228.225.4821.765.395.43
Maverick County150211.778.7703.451.72
Mcculloch County01310012.2736.3512.310
Mclennan County1213127144.975.354.892.835.57
Mcmullen County0000000000
Medina County50341010.5806.28.1319.97
Menard County1000146.8400047.08
Midland County14201210149.1912.777.416.128.48
Milam County04315016.5712.314.0419.96
Mills County03010061.64020.430
Mitchell County1110011.1111.0311.2900
Montague County131205.1615.485.1910.290
Montgomery County21251821124.214.843.363.792.1
Moore County4100018.064.54000
Morris County2312215.7723.788.0716.0116.04
Motley County1000083.890000
Nacogdoches County636519.214.69.177.611.52
Navarro County5311410.416.262.082.078.21
Newton County0111006.997.067.050
Nolan County4504726.5733.08026.7247.39
Nueces County1512101294.253.372.773.322.49
Ochiltree County101109.3709.359.710
Oldham County2040495.740193.80189.21
Orange County2106572.4112.017.155.928.23
Palo Pinto County233427.1810.7110.7314.227
Panola County6666125.2225.2725.3625.64.3
Parker County7561185.844.094.788.545.99
Parmer County001020010.2020.32
Pecos County03402018.9424.97012.79
Polk County443448.798.736.448.388.14
Potter County81187136.559.026.65.8110.79
Presidio County01010013.91013.950
Rains County110009.079.09000
Randall County757015.523.885.3700.74
Reagan County1200127.5552.80026.95
Real County2021060.26060.6629.440
Red River County10141808.0932.748.18
Reeves County8430356.3827.5720.13019.63
Refugio County441015554.3913.66013.84
Roberts County030000328.23000
Robertson County2001212.18005.9311.63
Rockwall County301213.5401.112.141.03
Runnels County0102009.74019.50
Rusk County7086413.12015.1111.357.57
Sabine County2110119.199.599.5709.56
San Augustine County01203011.823.98036.35
San Jacinto County3314011.2211.093.6514.410
San Patricio County463026.0594.4702.98
San Saba County1101017.5717.19017.030
Schleicher County3000094.070000
Scurry County2200111.5811.49005.87
Shackelford County1200029.5960.17000
Shelby County221317.77.793.9211.643.92
Sherman County0000000000
Smith County1118259165.088.211.243.997.03
Somervell County1211311.6823.3811.6111.5233.92
Starr County421016.423.181.5701.55
Stephens County2100121.3710.710010.71
Sterling County01100074.9175.1300
Stonewall County0000000000
Sutton County41110100.4825.2625.6725.870
Swisher County1001012.960013.440
Tarrant County64716053483.353.653.022.622.34
Taylor County776265.235.194.411.474.4
Terrell County10000112.230000
Terry County5020139.39015.6807.86
Throckmorton County000020000130.98
Titus County05011015.403.073.04
Tom Green County686325.236.875.12.551.69
Travis County37334328303.32.873.652.322.45
Trinity County2015013.8506.8934.450
Tyler County241219.318.654.689.334.64
Upshur County0231304.977.432.457.27
Upton County1221029.5557.4954.7927.050
Uvalde County120103.727.3903.690
Val Verde County211104.082.052.042.040
Van Zandt County6437611.477.585.6212.8710.87
Victoria County355163.335.55.431.086.52
Walker County810410911.5214.295.6613.9512.46
Waller County6412813.218.552.06415.59
Ward County125238.9217.2742.9617.2626.15
Washington County04422011.6211.475.745.71
Webb County63619102.271.122.226.983.64
Wharton County254424.8712.179.679.614.77
Wheeler County03013052.61018.0255.99
Wichita County434443.032.263.063.053.03
Wilbarger County0122107.7115.3315.517.83
Willacy County100514.540022.984.63
Williamson County79111471.491.842.172.651.28
Wilson County261404.42132.128.30
Winkler County001000012.5100
Wise County426586.563.249.547.7612.09
Wood County6412114.159.342.314.562.26
Yoakum County01021011.93023.1911.67
Young County0112205.475.5111.0611.12
Zapata County2000013.90000
Zavala County2201016.4116.3508.270
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Again, the higher populated counties of Bexar, Dallas, and Harris had the most crash deaths.

Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County

Now, let’s see where the most alcohol-related crash deaths occur in Texas.

CountyFatalities
2013
2014201520162017Fatalities
Per 100K
Population
2013
2014201520162017
Anderson County351555.188.641.738.698.66
Andrews County5780929.7840.1244.22050.78
Angelina County344553.434.574.555.695.69
Aransas County210128.374.0703.967.82
Archer County3402034.1245.27022.790
Armstrong County20000103.090000
Atascosa County295204.2618.8710.344.110
Austin County4402113.9613.8206.753.36
Bailey County1011014.09013.8913.930
Bandera County7530334.0524.0214.19013.42
Bastrop County76814129.227.79.9816.9214.16
Baylor County1220027.9656.0754.8100
Bee County224316.16.0912.279.143.07
Bell County16181613244.895.454.763.816.9
Bexar County88748295714.833.984.334.933.63
Blanco County2515118.846.289.0644.098.6
Borden County10000154.80000
Bosque County2310111.216.935.605.46
Bowie County964569.636.424.285.336.38
Brazoria County16121823174.853.555.216.54.69
Brazos County3596101.472.44.172.734.49
Brewster County1110010.7610.9310.9500
Briscoe County0000000000
Brooks County2110027.5413.7813.8200
Brown County0143102.6710.617.882.63
Burleson County112445.85.7611.3922.4622.21
Burnet County475199.1715.9211.172.1819.23
Caldwell County163632.5515.127.4314.67.09
Calhoun County230119.213.7604.564.6
Callahan County3004122.230029.037.17
Cameron County2012917184.82.872.154.034.25
Camp County120028.0415.850015.56
Carson County01111016.5816.6516.3716.58
Cass County105163.31016.593.3219.99
Castro County1200012.3725.29000
Chambers County5737213.3918.287.6817.384.83
Cherokee County6222711.743.913.883.8513.4
Childress County1001114.170014.0914.15
Clay County2000219.1300019.19
Cochran County0000000000
Coke County03211093.3162.0230.6530.25
Coleman County02010023.76011.880
Collin County15211523251.752.371.642.442.58
Collingsworth County003000099.6700
Colorado County4161219.324.8328.694.769.42
Comal County9671077.594.875.447.454.96
Comanche County0111107.437.487.47.37
Concho County1000124.4300036.81
Cooke County254125.212.9210.242.555.01
Coryell County235432.63.946.565.344
Cottle County01000070.03000
Crane County02101040.7719.97021.1
Crockett County3210279.7752.8326.8056.12
Crosby County01101017.1716.9016.95
Culberson County1321043.38131.5888.8545.070
Dallam County02100027.7713.7700
Dallas County98981031311143.953.894.035.064.35
Dawson County2211115.1514.897.77.677.8
Deaf Smith County110105.225.2405.310
Delta County2003039.080058.30
Denton County17141218212.331.861.542.232.51
Dewitt County0212109.754.859.74.94
Dickens County00001000045.27
Dimmit County4320036.6827.2218.2100
Donley County01000028.56000
Duval County101128.6308.828.7317.74
Eastland County3420216.4121.9311.01010.86
Ector County261622142517.3710.3513.768.8815.91
Edwards County0020000104.7100
El Paso County30313339223.613.723.964.662.62
Ellis County711117104.496.916.744.165.76
Erath County144622.519.879.714.484.77
Falls County141105.823.255.85.770
Fannin County122482.985.955.9711.8223.22
Fayette County6352624.2812.120.037.9823.74
Fisher County040110103.28025.7725.77
Floyd County1101016.0216.82017.020
Foard County1000077.640000
Fort Bend County23141517143.522.052.12.291.83
Franklin County122209.4218.9318.8818.760
Freestone County2229210.2110.1810.1545.8110.19
Frio County3051016.32025.965.160
Gaines County5233126.6110.3514.8414.654.85
Galveston County12221619183.917.024.985.775.37
Garza County01011015.61015.5215.32
Gillespie County122243.957.857.77.615.01
Glasscock County22110158.23151.8673.0574.070
Goliad County01110013.3313.3213.30
Gonzales County3463214.919.6529.2114.389.57
Gray County0221408.538.64.417.85
Grayson County976977.365.674.787.025.34
Gregg County4779123.255.695.657.289.73
Grimes County3265511.27.421.9518.1317.8
Guadalupe County7381494.92.045.319.065.64
Hale County132122.88.75.872.925.86
Hall County1020031.62064.6800
Hamilton County01102012.2712.39023.75
Hansford County2110036.1318.0717.8300
Hardeman County1200124.6150.150025.04
Hardin County7332612.665.45.383.5510.5
Harris County17421017020920244.723.744.534.34
Harrison County12485818.11611.987.4912
Hartley County01111016.5617.6217.5317.57
Haskell County1220416.9334.4934.38069.61
Hays County69519153.414.872.579.36.99
Hemphill County01100023.9523.300
Henderson County456485.096.317.5559.87
Hidalgo County25263038253.063.143.574.472.9
Hill County4574311.4814.3820.0911.378.37
Hockley County133224.2712.7912.878.668.66
Hood County232743.785.573.6112.336.86
Hopkins County113332.832.88.348.298.22
Houston County5233521.928.7713.1913.1121.72
Howard County4254211.065.4813.4610.925.55
Hudspeth County63327179.892.0887.3149.1158.8
Hunt County354683.435.644.466.538.52
Hutchinson County05230022.839.1813.910
Irion County1510062.07317.6664.8100
Jack County1010011.24011.3100
Jackson County3323220.5420.3813.5220.213.51
Jasper County4242211.245.6511.355.655.62
Jeff Davis County01000045.05000
Jefferson County791115142.773.564.325.865.46
Jim Hogg County03110056.3918.9319.070
Jim Wells County457139.612.0616.882.437.34
Johnson County7914894.535.748.784.915.38
Jones County230239.9815.1101015.01
Karnes County6342040.7620.2326.2313.10
Kaufman County5951394.628.114.3811.017.32
Kendall County4332110.767.817.514.772.27
Kenedy County00010000233.640
Kent County010010133.6900131.06
Kerr County353416.039.955.917.81.93
Kimble County1034222.4068.3190.3345.35
King County0000000000
Kinney County2002055.080054.950
Kleberg County231326.259.423.189.576.43
Knox County1110026.8726.3126.3700
La Salle County1611213.4480.2213.0813.1326.37
Lamar County423318.154.056.086.052.02
Lamb County2012114.6507.5415.137.57
Lampasas County100214.97009.684.76
Lavaca County0120305.0610.04014.95
Lee County5443230.224.0523.6917.6511.64
Leon County6422336.0923.911.7411.6317.4
Liberty County96961411.717.6911.317.3716.73
Limestone County0240008.5117.0600
Lipscomb County0000000000
Live Oak County5322442.3224.9116.4516.6432.86
Llano County111225.135.094.999.729.43
Loving County0011000840.34869.570
Lubbock County17191724245.876.455.77.947.86
Lynn County003230052.2134.5151.2
Madison County2324214.4921.6714.3528.3814.06
Marion County4121338.949.8519.759.9129.81
Martin County01620018.27105.7135.160
Mason County00001000023.69
Matagorda County4274410.965.4819.0410.7810.86
Maverick County123531.773.515.28.625.15
Mcculloch County03110036.812.1212.310
Mclennan County10151411174.146.175.714.446.77
Mcmullen County032000377.36241.2500
Medina County215544.232.0910.3310.167.99
Menard County0000000000
Midland County182117122311.8213.4110.497.3413.94
Milam County2421108.316.578.24.0439.92
Mills County01100020.5520.4600
Mitchell County02301022.0633.88011.81
Montague County132225.1615.4810.3710.2910.24
Montgomery County21242028244.214.643.745.054.2
Moore County9431340.6418.1613.714.5613.58
Morris County00111008.078.018.02
Motley County1000083.890000
Nacogdoches County532747.674.63.0610.666.1
Navarro County464068.3312.528.3012.32
Newton County02311013.9921.177.057.17
Nolan County122436.6413.2313.326.7220.31
Nueces County14171816223.974.774.994.436.09
Ochiltree County2300018.7528.08000
Oldham County1500147.87241.550047.3
Orange County4979114.8310.818.3410.6512.93
Palo Pinto County4223214.357.147.1510.667
Panola County223008.418.4212.6800
Parker County4510653.344.097.964.663.75
Parmer County01101010.0710.2010.16
Pecos County2342612.7718.9424.9712.638.38
Polk County5353410.986.5510.736.288.14
Potter County13128121210.659.846.69.969.96
Presidio County00001000013.97
Rains County100209.070017.690
Randall County867626.314.665.374.531.49
Reagan County1230127.5552.878.76026.95
Real County2222160.2659.7460.6658.8829.16
Red River County2121216.018.0316.188.1916.35
Reeves County6373442.2920.6846.9619.9126.18
Refugio County1511213.7567.9913.6613.7127.69
Roberts County010040109.4100426.44
Robertson County2012212.1805.9911.8611.63
Rockwall County213462.361.153.334.286.2
Runnels County131309.8229.229.6629.250
Rusk County7675413.1211.2813.239.467.57
Sabine County2411119.1938.369.579.639.56
San Augustine County2032623.08035.9724.1572.7
San Jacinto County233537.4811.0910.9618.0110.61
San Patricio County463166.0594.471.498.93
San Saba County1101017.5717.19017.030
Schleicher County3000094.070000
Scurry County122005.7911.4911.3700
Shackelford County01010030.08029.730
Shelby County233437.711.6911.7615.5211.76
Sherman County01000032.59000
Smith County10172417174.627.7410.797.557.47
Somervell County1200311.6823.380033.92
Starr County331324.824.771.574.693.1
Stephens County0000000000
Sterling County0000000000
Stonewall County21000141.0472.1000
Sutton County3111075.3625.2625.6725.870
Swisher County1010012.96013.3700
Tarrant County63716669843.293.653.333.414.09
Taylor County368642.244.455.894.412.93
Terrell County00010000122.250
Terry County02111015.657.847.87.86
Throckmorton County0000000000
Titus County124223.076.1612.226.136.08
Tom Green County987257.856.875.951.74.24
Travis County54507144574.814.346.033.654.65
Trinity County2126113.85713.7941.346.82
Tyler County233119.313.9914.044.674.64
Upshur County134712.527.459.9117.132.42
Upton County042000114.9854.7900
Uvalde County5301118.6211.0903.693.69
Val Verde County323106.124.16.132.040
Van Zandt County9347517.25.697.4912.879.06
Victoria County587575.558.797.65.417.6
Walker County7113121110.0815.714.2416.7415.23
Waller County7423915.418.554.115.9917.54
Ward County3761326.7660.4651.558.6326.15
Washington County166342.9217.4417.218.6211.41
Webb County8651583.032.251.855.512.91
Wharton County5574212.1712.1716.929.614.77
Wheeler County05001087.690018.66
Wichita County756955.33.774.586.853.79
Wilbarger County123327.5815.4222.9923.2715.67
Willacy County201449.0804.5718.3818.53
Williamson County11201917182.344.13.743.223.29
Wilson County371216.6315.172.124.152.03
Winkler County3221139.3125.5925.0212.713.2
Wise County2451163.286.487.9517.069.07
Wood County353147.0811.686.942.289.03
Yoakum County02000023.86000
Young County0111005.475.515.530
Zapata County101106.9506.896.920
Zavala County02332016.3524.424.8116.74
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Dallas, Harris, and Tarrant Counties had a high amount of deaths related to drunk driving; Bexar County had among the highest numbers, too, ranking fourth. Of those counties, only Bexar and Dallas saw decreases from 2016 – 2017.

Teen Drinking & Driving

Responsibility.org states that the average teenage alcohol-impaired traffic fatality rate per 100,000 people in Texas was 1.9. That number was higher than the national average of 1.2 alcohol-related deaths per 100,000 people.

Here is more information about underage drinking and driving in the Lone Star State:

DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million PeopleRank
42157.7134
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Per Texas transportation codes, if an officer detects any alcohol in a minor’s system, they will automatically suspend their driving privileges. For a first DWI offense under 21, a driver’s license suspension can last for up to one year. A second offense will result in an 18-month suspension.

EMS Response Time

These are the EMS response times for crashes in Texas’s rural and urban areas.

AreaTime of Crash to EMS NotificationEMS Notification to EMS ArrivalEMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital ArrivalTime of Crash to Hospital ArrivalTotal Fatal Crashes
Rural7.68 mins15.91 mins44.07 mins63.89 mins1,281
Urban4.31 mins8.18 mins27.01 mins38.38 mins2,052
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As shown, the response times in urban areas are nearly half those of rural areas. The difficulties first-responders may have in finding and getting to rural addresses can affect response times.

Transportation in Texas

Below, using information from Data USA, we’ll look at the state of transportation in Texas, from car ownership to traffic congestion and commuter transportation.

Read on to find out more about the transportation situation in the Lone Star State.

Car Ownership

In 2017, the average Texas household owned two cars, which matches the national average.

Commute Time

According to Data USA, the average Texas driver commutes 25.2 minutes regularly, which is just shy of the national average of 25.5 minutes. A smaller number of Texans, two percent, have a “super commute” of 90 minutes or more — less than the U.S. average.

Commuter Transportation

In 2017, most commuters in Texas drove alone (80.6 percent), followed by those who carpooled (9.85 percent).

Traffic Congestion

According to Inrix, the following six Texas cities have the most congested traffic. Drivers in those cities spend an average of 30 – 40 minutes stuck in traffic regularly.

Houston ranks the highest, at 77th worldwide. It’s also the most traffic-congested city in the Lone Star State.

City2018 World RankHours Lost in CongestionCost of Congestion (per driver)
Houston, TX7798$1,365
Austin, TX84104$1,452
Dallas, TX12276$1,065
El Paso, TX16266$916
San Antonio, TX16360$832
Corpus Christi, TX18566$928
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The traffic “scorecard” above shows how many hours drivers lost in traffic jams and how much travel-related expenses, such as gas and repairs, cost them along their routes.

How does your city rank?

Now that we’ve covered everything you need to know about car insurance in Texas, you can start comparison shopping today.

About Eric Stauffer

Author: Eric StaufferI am a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. My priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

Leave a Rating

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

State Minimum Car Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Texas Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Texas
Texas Car Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Factors Affecting Car Insurance Rates in Texas
Texas Car Insurers by Market Share %
State Minimum Car Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Texas Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Texas
Texas Car Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Factors Affecting Car Insurance Rates in Texas
Texas Car Insurers by Market Share %