Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Select Page

Victoria Insurance Review (Ratings + Claims)

Victoria Insurance reviews can be difficult to find as the company focuses on non-standard (high-risk) insurance. Victoria Insurance is a subsidiary of Nationwide, and is licensed to operate in 39 states though it currently only offers coverage in 26.

FREE Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 14, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Victoria Insurance
Premiums
Claims
Feedback
Financial Strength
N/A


Victoria Auto Insurance Overview
Key InfoDetails
Phone Number440-461-3461
Company AddressOne West Nationwide Blvd.
Columbus, OH 43215
Parent CompanyNationwide
Total Property & Casualty Direct Premiums Written $1,560,179
Total Property & Casualty Market Share 0.01%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Victoria Insurance is a group of companies headquartered in Ohio and caters to the non-standard automobile insurance market. It offers coverage to higher-risk drivers in 26 states. The Victoria specialty insurance claims department is open 24 hours a day for customer convenience and is comparable to Titan Insurance and National General Insurance.

We understand that finding the best insurance companies for your various needs can be a bit of a hassle. If you’re looking at Victoria Insurance Company as an option but are unsure if it’s right for you, we can help. From filing claims to where they operate, we have it all covered here.

Before jumping into our Victoria Insurance review, feel free to type your ZIP code into our tool above to find rates in your area.

Victoria Insurance Car Insurance Rates

Victoria Insurance Group was founded in Cleveland, Ohio in 1983, and primarily offered credit-related insurance products. In 1986, the company moved into the non-standard auto insurance market and expanded into several other states over the following years.

Victoria was acquired first by USF&G in 1995. When that company went out of business in 1998, all of its holdings were acquired by the St. Paul Companies.

Victoria was sold off to Prudential in 2000, and three years later was once again purchased by Nationwide Insurance. Although nearly every company purchased by Nationwide over the past decade has been re-branded to the Nationwide name, Victoria Insurance Group retained its name. However, its website is no longer operational. This includes the Victoria Insurance agent login portal.

There are five separate companies that makeup Victoria Insurance Group: Victoria Automobile Insurance, Victoria National Insurance, Victoria Specialty Insurance, Victoria Select, and Victoria Fire & Casualty Company, all Nationwide owned.

The following table shows the market share and loss ratios for multiple branches of Victoria Insurance.

Victoria Auto Insurance Market Share, Direct Premiums Written, & Loss Ratios
LineMarket ShareDirect Premiums WrittenLoss Ratio
Total Private Passenger Automobile0.02%$1,541,40245.96 %
Private Passenger Auto Liability Bodily Injury0.03%$520,59624.81 %
Private Passenger Auto Liability Property Damage0.03%$465,38455.86 %
Private Passenger Auto Medical Payments0.02%$28,91911.43 %
Private Passenger Uninsured Motorists0.07%$166,88859.68 %
Private Passenger Underinsured Motorists0.00%$8,984-73.34 %
Private Passenger Auto Comprehensive0.01%$102,40744.81 %
Private Passenger Auto Collision0.01%$248,22471.10 %
Total Commercial Automobile0.00%$18,777-5.85 %
Commercial Auto Liability Bodily Injury0.00%$12,121-5.70 %
Commercial Auto Liability Property Damage0.00%$0N/A
Commercial Auto Medical Payments0.00%$113-10.29 %
Commercial Auto Uninsured Motorists0.00%$1,609-6.16 %
Commercial Auto Comprehensive0.00%$1,418-1.24 %
Commercial Auto Collision0.00%$3,516-1.40 %
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Let’s move on to which states and locales Victoria Insurance operates in.

What is Victoria Insurance availability by state?

The company is authorized to do business in 39 states but currently operates in only 26 of those. Policies are sold through independent agents across the service area.

The following table shows the states in which Victoria is authorized to do business and the average auto insurance rates you can expect to pay in each state.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates Where Victoria Insurance Does Business
StatesAverage Annual Rates
Virginia$2,357.87
West Virginia$2,595.36
Massachusetts$2,678.85
Ohio$2,709.71
Idaho $2,979.09
Iowa$2,981.28
Washington$3,059.32
Wyoming$3,200.08
Montana$3,220.84
Kansas$3,279.62
Nebraska$3,283.68
Illinois$3,305.48
Missouri$3,328.93
Indiana$3,414.97
New Mexico $3,463.64
Oregon$3,467.77
Alabama$3,566.96
Wisconsin$3,606.06
Utah$3,611.89
Tennessee$3,660.89
Mississippi$3,664.57
California $3,688.93
Arizona$3,770.97
South Carolina $3,781.14
Colorado$3,876.39
South Dakota $3,982.27
Pennsylvania$4,034.50
Texas$4,043.28
Arkansas$4,124.98
Oklahoma$4,142.33
North Dakota $4,165.84
New York $4,289.88
Minnesota$4,403.25
District of Columbia $4,439.24
Maryland$4,582.70
Connecticut$4,618.92
Florida$4,680.46
Nevada$4,861.70
Georgia$4,966.83
Kentucky$5,195.40
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Let’s move on to what Victoria Insurance offers.

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Victoria Insurance Car Insurance Coverages Offered

Victoria Insurance writes both personal and commercial auto insurance, although availability varies by state. The company website offers very limited information on the products.

Personal auto insurance from Victoria is aimed at the non-standard market, which means the company accepts drivers that are unable to obtain insurance elsewhere.

What is the difference between a standard and non-standard insurance company? This usually includes drivers with multiple tickets and accidents or serious violations, credit problems, international driver’s licenses, or other issues that can result in being denied coverage on the standard market.

The following video shows just how much one ticket can affect your insurance. Non-standard market customers have usually accrued so many that standard insurers won’t accept them.

The website offers no details on the personal policy, stating only that it offers competitive rates and low down payments.

Although it likely offers full coverage car insurance policies, non-standard insurance companies frequently do a lot of business in bare-bones, liability only policies due to the high cost of coverage for high-risk drivers.

The following video further explains full coverage car insurance.

Victoria Insurance also offers commercial auto insurance. Like the personal auto product, there is limited information available regarding the commercial auto policy. Commercial policies are only offered in 15 states.

Online quoting is not offered by Victoria Insurance, which is not at all surprising given the nature of the company’s business.

Rate quotes can only be obtained by calling a local agent. We would not expect to see rates from Victoria that are in any way competitive with standard insurance companies. Victoria’s premiums should only be compared with other non-standard insurance companies.

What are Victoria Insurance’s bundling options?

As of this writing, Victoria Insurance does not have information regarding bundling options. Should you choose to contact the company to speak with an agent about setting up a policy, it would stand to reason that Victoria would discuss bundling with you.

What discounts are offered by Victoria Insurance?

Many insurers offer discounts for personal aspects of a customer such as their loyalty, age, environmental friendliness, accident avoidance, etc. While Victoria Insurance does not list any specific discounts, we can look at a table showing available discounts provided by many other insurers.

Auto Insurance Discounts by Company
Auto Insurance Discounts21st CenturyAAAAllstateAmerican FamilyAmeripriseAmicaCountry FinancialEsuranceFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualMetLifeNationwideProgressiveSafe AutoSafecoState FarmThe GeneralThe HanoverThe HartfordTravelersUSAASources:
Adaptive Cruise Controlxxxxhttp://www.21st.com/car-insurance-by-state.htm
Adaptive Headlightsxxxxxxxxhttp://autoclubsouth.aaa.com/Insurance/Auto_Insurance_Quote.aspx
Anti-lock Brakesxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.allstate.com/auto-insurance/auto-insurance-discounts.aspx
Anti-Theftxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.amfam.com/resources/discounts
Claim Freexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.ameriprise.com/auto-home-insurance/Costco/insurance-choices/auto/auto-insurance-discounts.asp
Continuous Coveragexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.amica.com/en/products/auto-insurance/discounts.html
Daytime Running Lightsxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.countryfinancial.com/en/insurance/auto-recreational/auto.html
Defensive Driverxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.esurance.com/insurance/car/discounts
Distant Studentxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.farmers.com/faq/discounts/#autodefinitions
Driver's Edxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.geico.com/save/discounts/car-insurance-discounts/
Driving Device/Appxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.libertymutual.com/auto/affordable-car-insurance
Early Signingxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.metlife.com/insurance/auto-insurance/car-insurance/
Electronic Stability Controlxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.nationwide.com/car-insurance-discounts.jsp
Emergency Deploymentxhttps://www.progressive.com/auto/car-insurance-discounts/
Engaged Couplexhttps://www.safeauto.com/about/faqs
Family Legacyxxxxxxhttps://www.safeauto.com/car-insurance/car-insurance-for-teens
Family Planxxxxxhttp://www.safeco.com/auto-insurance/discounts
Farm Vehiclexxxxhttps://www.statefarm.com/insurance/auto/discounts
Fast 5xhttps://www.thegeneral.com/car-insurance/basics/cheap-flexible/
Federal Employeexxxxhttp://www.hanover.com/connections-smart-savings.html
Forward Collision Warningxxxxxxxhttps://www.thehartford.com/aarp/car-insurance
Full Paymentxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.travelers.com/personal-insurance/auto-insurance/discounts-advantages.aspx
Further Educationxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.usaa.com/inet/wc/advice-auto-lowerautoinsurance
Garaging/Storingxxxxxxhttps://www.usaa.com/inet/wc/faq_Automatic_License_index
Good Creditxxxxhttps://www.usaa.com/inet/wc/auto_insurance_teen_driver_main
Good Studentxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttps://www.usaa.com/inet/pages/auto_event_insurance?akredirect=true
Green Vehiclexxxxxxxhttps://www.usaa.com/inet/pages/auto_insurance_driving_research_discount_main
Homeownerxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxhttp://www.bankrate.com/finance/insurance/car-insurance-discounts.aspx
Lane Departure Warningxxxxhttp://www.naic.org/documents/web_market_share_160301_2015_property_lob.pdf
Life Insurancexx
Low MileagexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxDisclaimers
Loyaltyxxxxxxxxxxxx*Discounts and their availability vary by state and eligibility requirements
Marriedxxxxxxxxxxxxxx*Safety Features are not always listed as "discounts" but almost always help lower the rate
Membership/Groupxxxxxxxxxxx
Militaryxxxxxxxxxxx
Military Garagingx
Multiple Driversxx
Multiple Policiesxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Multiple Vehiclesxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
New Addressx
New Customer/New Planxxx
New Graduatex
Newer Vehiclexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Newly Licensedx
Newlywedsx
Non-Smoker/Non-Drinkerx
Occasional Operatorx
Occupationxxxxxxxxxxxx
On Time Paymentsxxxx
Online Shopperxx
Paperless Documentsxxxxxxxx
Paperless/Auto Billingxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Passive Restraintxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Recent Retireesxx
Renterxxx
Roadside Assistancexx
Safe Driverxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Seat Belt Usex
Senior Driverxxxxxxxxx
Stable Residencexxxx
Students & Alumnixxxxxx
Switching Providerxxxxxxxxxxx
Utility Vehiclexxxx
Vehicle Recoveryxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
VIN Etchingxxxxxxxxxx
Volunteerx
Young Driverxxxxxx
Discounts Provided #21212927182726343432383835362230202022382828
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, discounts and saving money for being accident-free is very prevalent, as are good student discounts. The following video shows details on student discounts.

If you were to inquire about bundling options, these could also be discounts worth inquiring about should they apply to you.

What programs are available from Victoria Insurance?

Many insurers also have programs available — such as learning centers, coupons, and company-related apps — that can help save you money.

While Victoria Insurance has no available information about such offered programs, these too would be worth inquiring about should you go with Victoria.

Canceling Your Victoria Insurance Car Insurance Policy

Victoria Insurance does not list any information on an existing cancellation policy or any fees and associated refunds. Should you choose to go with Victoria Insurance, this is absolutely a question to ask your agent prior to signing any documentation. The Victoria Insurance phone number is 1-786-999-8516.

How to Make a Victoria Insurance Car Insurance Claim

Victoria Insurance claims department offers a toll-free line for reporting new claims; we were unable to find any other options listed for reporting a claim. The website does not specifically state that the claims line is open 24/7, but it does appear that way from the wording on the site.

Victoria’s website outlines the claims process as well as the timeline on which it promises to complete each step. A claims adjuster is assigned within one business day of the claim being reported, and he or she will make contact with the insured within 24 hours of claim assignment.

Victoria has three claims offices in Arizona, Ohio, and Texas; all of the states are assigned to one of these three for claims handling after the initial report. There is no information on the site regarding any sort of preferred repair network.

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Victoria Insurance: Car Insurance Ratings

At the time of this review, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) page for Victoria Insurance showed that the company was not rated and not accredited. The page states that the BBB does not have enough information to provide a rating.

Victoria’s parent company is Nationwide, which means that complaints may well be appearing on the parent company BBB record as opposed to on the company’s own page.

That was the case the last time we provided a review of this company, at which time the BBB did not appear to operate a separate page for Victoria; that no longer appears to be the case in the most recent update to the BBB site.

Victoria does not really use the Nationwide name anywhere on the site, so it seems somewhat unlikely that policyholders would be filing complaints under that name.

There are a few scattered reviews of Victoria out there, but not a whole lot of useful information. Of the two negative reviews on Google, one cites rate increases and the other offers no explanation for the low rating.

The two complaints on Pissed Consumer are similarly unhelpful, with one of the two showing that the policyholder did not realize her use of a false address for her car insurance would result in her claim being denied — certainly not something that reflects on Victoria.

Overall, we found very little in the way of useful information in regards to this company’s reputation.

Compare Insurance Quotes

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Victoria Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

If you are in need of non-standard car insurance coverage, Victoria may be worth a look. Their backing by Nationwide gives them financial stability, and we found no red flags in terms of their reputation. With little to go on it is difficult to create any sort of real opinion of this company, but since non-standard choices are limited, it may be a good choice.

Feel free to type in your ZIP code below to search for cheap quotes for non-standard coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions: Victoria Insurance

Do you still have questions? Check out the FAQ below.

#1 – Is Nationwide a good car insurance company?

Nationwide is one of the biggest insurance companies in the nation. That’s usually a sign of a lot of happy customers. Is Nationwide insurance expensive? That depends on where you live and your driving history, among other factors. Is Nationwide better than State Farm in terms of coverage and rates? Again, that depends on a lot of factors, but State Farm is still the number one car insurance company in America.

#2 – Is Liberty Mutual buying Nationwide Insurance?

There has been no word of a merger. That means Victoria insurance remains part of Nationwide.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed
Victoria Insurance
Author Rating
41star1star1star1stargray

About Eric Stauffer

Author: Eric StaufferI am a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. My priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

4 Comments

  1. When Tropical Storm Irma hit our home on Sep 12, 2017, our roof was damaged and we had water leaking into multiple rooms.  The roof replacement cost nearly $25,000 and our homeowners insurance, Electric Insurance, an affiliate of GE, has refused to pay their share of the roof replacement.   Electric Insurance is claiming “wear and tear”; however, they inspected our home when it was purchased less than a year ago and I have their letter stating “We are pleased to let you know that the inspection concluded that your home does not display any conditions of concern.” I tried contacting the BBB, our State’s Department of Insurance, and the CEO of GE, but I cannot get them to acknowledge the conflict between their initial home inspection and the post-storm determination of “wear and tear.”  One of my contacts used his GE email address when corresponding with me. Had their initial report included mention of roof problems, or that the roof would not be covered, I would have had the opportunity to shop elsewhere for insurance and/or replace the roof prior to it leaking. Based on the roof’s age (depreciation), and an average of two quotes, my estimate is that Electric Insurance owes $10,673 for their share of our roof replacement.   I strongly believe that Electric Insurance is abusing “wear and tear” to avoid payment of legitimate storm damage with many of their other clients as well.

    Reply
  2. DO NOT WORK WITH THESE PEOPLE! After trying to let them know that I was canceling my policy and would like an email confirmation that I was canceling, [Redacted] SAID “F*@$ YOU” and hung up on me. I called again hoping to get some resolution and the moment I said please email me, he hung up on me. They also charged my account AFTER I had emailed requesting that my insurance policy be canceled. I plan to contact the California Insurance Commission at this point.

    Reply
  3. I joined this insurance company when I purchased my car a couple months ago. I initially joined another insurance company and I was paying 270/month but was convinced to switch to nationwide/Victoria as it would be cheaper. I was told my insurance would be 233/month with an initial fee on $398 with nationwide/Victoria and now 3 months down the line I got charged $278 for one month and then $308 for this last month. I contacted my local agent and was told “oh it was a filing mistake and you were quoted as married, your fees will now be $308 from here on out”. I find this absolutely disgusting. I budgeted for what I could afford and all of a sudden I am forking out an additional $75/month from their mistake. This also not taking into account the huge once off fee I had to pay to join this ignorant and rude company. They didn’t even notify me of the additional fee increase and simply started taking the money out of my account at the rate I had no idea about. I also don’t know why I had a month of 278 and 308 payments, makes no sense and to be honest, it has a feeling of being corrupt.

    Not happy about not being informed of the increase in payments and the audacity for them to make me pay the new amount when it wasn’t my fault the agents messed up and filed that I am married. Not impressed.

    Reply
  4. Worst insurance in the world . Don’t do it

    Reply

Leave a Rating

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *