Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Select Page

Humana Insurance Review & Complaints: Health Insurance

Humana Insurance plans include health insurance, dental coverage, vision protection, prescription plans, and Medicare supplement plans for individuals and businesses. Humana Insurance reviews are great, an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau. Humana Insurance coverage depends on the plan you choose.

FREE Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Sep 8, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Humana Insurance
Premiums
Claims
Feedback
Financial Strength



Humana Insurance Company is one of the largest managed healthcare providers in the United States and currently employs over 50,000 people, worldwide. Their business programs are used by some of the largest companies in the US, as well as many small and medium-sized firms.

The organization started in 1961 and is headquartered in Louisville, Kentucky. The company first began as a nursing home named Extendicare, and became one of the largest nursing care facilities in the US. They began to purchase hospitals in the 70’s, changed their name to Humana, and grew as a healthcare provider.

This Humana Insurance review will cover its products and services, including Humana Insurance ratings. Although Humana Insurance rates aren’t available online, we’ll go into its coverage options.

Before you read more about Humana Insurance, take a moment to save on your own insurance needs. Enter your ZIP code right now to see quotes from the best insurance companies.

Humana Insurance Plans

As one of the largest healthcare providers in the country, Humana offers a wide selection of products for individuals as well as businesses. Just about any type of insurance product can be purchased through Humana. Individuals can get health insurance, dental coverage, vision protection, prescription plans, and Medicare supplement plans. Businesses can get their employees setup with most of the same, plus spending plans, disability coverage, life insurance, and wellness plans

For more information on plan details, you can contact the Humana Insurance phone number at 1-844-330-7799. Current members can use their Humana Insurance login to see coverage information.

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Humana Insurance Ratings and Consumer Reviews

Humana Insurance has been accredited with the Better Business Bureau since 1998, and currently has an A+ rating. In the past three years there has been 376 complaints lodged against Humana, 85 of which have been closed in the past 12 months. This number is pretty typical for an insurance firm of their size. The majority of the problems reported were with the “products and services” offered by Humana, followed by billing and collection issues.

ConsumerAffairs.com offers 894 reviews on Humana. Of the reviews there has been 135 ratings left, 122 of them are one star ratings. Of the reviews left, many concern Humana’s poor customer service and others cite the company does everything to avoid paying claims. While these are not uncommon complaints against insurance companies, there are a lot of them for Humana.

Humana Insurance Consumer Research Reports

In the 2017 J.D. Power and Associates Member Health Plan Study, Humana’s rating ranged between a two and a five star rating. In Texas however, the company’s satisfaction rating was a five out of five.

Insure.com’s 2017 rating of Humana was a lot better than results from the J.D Power Study above. The website gave the company an A-  rating overall giving them a 4.5 star out of 5 rating across the board. The categories listed included Claims Processing, Customer Service, and Value for Price. Humana came in fourth place overall in the Insure.com survey.

Financial Strength

Rating Company Grade Financial Outlook
AM Best A- Stable
Fitch A Stable
S&P A Stable

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Humana Insurance: The Bottom Line

As with other large health providers, Humana is not without its issues in customer satisfaction. The modern healthcare industry pits patients vs. insurance companies and doctors stuck in the middle. It is no different with Humana. There are numerous reports of customers being denied services that a doctor has requested, as well as billing errors, and sudden premium increases.

Consumers interested in signing up with Humana should be very cautious and read all the details of their agreement. Notices sent in the mail should not be discarded, since there are reports of Humana burying rate increases in large annual reports sent out to customers.

Now that you know all about Humana Insurance, see how much you could be saving on insurance. Enter your ZIP code for free rate quotes right now.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed
Humana
Author Rating
31star1star1stargraygray

About Eric Stauffer

Author: Eric StaufferI am a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. My priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

36 Comments

  1. Humana must be being run by a children’s playgroup – the customer service is totally useless and not fit for purpose.

    I covered myself with a dental plan in December 2019.

    In February 2020 I added my children to the policy – I was told the total premium would be $58.97 ($22.99 my original premium plus $28.98 for the children) and I was charged the quoted premium the first month.

    The following month I was charged $72.97 – no one notified me of the change.

    I called and spoke to Cawane in their customer service department – I was informed I had the wrong premium, but the billing on my account proves I was quoted and charged incorrectly.

    I want to be charged what I was told!

    Cawane told me he would listen to the taped conversation and call me back by the end of the week – of course, nothing.

    I emailed and called and was told the issue was going to reviewed and I would receive a call back – again nothing.

    One the 4th June I reluctantly spoke to Kemoi in there customer service department – I was told the policy was canceled and I would no longer be charged.

    Everything was taken care of. I found insurance elsewhere at roughly the price Humana quoted in February.

    On the 24th June, Humana charged me again!

    I will copy and paste this review on every website possible.

    Very unhappy customer!

    Reply
  2. Humana no longer covers gym membership in Tennessee.

    All of the other insurance companies have stepped up.

    The YMCA of Middle Tennessee canceled its relationship with Tivity the company that operates Silver Sneakers.

    So, now we seniors have to pick up our YMCA membership fees.

    Really, other than that my experience with Humana has been very good.

    Outside of the Dental Plan, which I canceled, the service has been excellent and I pay zero for my three generic drugs.

    I would give them a perfect five stars except for gym membership.

    Reply
  3. My Part D Plan with Humana was converted from a $29 per month plan to a $64 per month plan.

    I was unable to access my email for several months prior to this change and therefore, unable to receive email notifications.

    No other contact was attempted by Humana to get my agreement to this change.

    At the same time, Humana made this change, they created another plan (much less costly), that is similar to my previous plan, but instead chose to place me in their new Premier RX plan that is more than twice the cost of my previous plan.

    I regularly use three Tier 1 medications and my annual cost went from around $300 plus to $900 plus with the new plan.

    How can they do this without my consent?

    Reply
  4. Although they paid all my claims from my foot surgery, the customer service is horrible.

    When I call they cannot answer specific questions, I am put on hold, and either on hold for over 1 hour or hung upon.

    As Eric Stauffer notes above, there are going to be people who fall through the cracks, I strongly disagree with this.

    You should know your product, be able to answer any questions, process claims effectively, etc..

    And you should be able to hire employees from within the U.S. so that they can understand what you are asking, and you can understand what they are saying.

    It’s like they are reading office a script and when asked outside of what’s on that script.

    Reply
  5. Joke company.

    I received the insurance card and the member service phone number on the card is a spam number that only plays commercials.

    Very disappointing.

    Reply
  6. Humana Insurance is Rip Off…

    Beware…They are from Area 51 …Zombies…

    After two months and $250.00 premiums, I decided to dump the bastards…

    I wish the f@($&%! good luck collecting for a year premiums.

    Reply
  7. If you have ample time and do not mind user unfriendly automated telephone games, Humana may be for you.

    If you do not mind waiting to speak to a specific individual and wait for several days or infinity, then Human may be for you.

    If you are like me, rapidly increasing in my immobility, waiting for approval for a wheelchair I was promised to be paid for by Medicare and Humana, only to discover that Medicare works twice as fast as Humana for the approval process, you will be disappointed, maybe even outraged.

    I marvel at the creativity this company has to delay the processing of a claim or fulfill their obligation to step up to the plate for doctor ordered prescriptions.

    But there is no delay when it comes to their billing!

    BUYER BEWARE!

    Reply
  8. I made an appointment with a network dentist who advised me I had too much bone loss and referred me to a periodontal dentist for a deep cleaning. It turned out the periodontal dentist I was referred to was not an in-network dentist. My cleaning cost approximately $675, of which Humana paid $89. My premium was $74 per month. All in all, I came out with a large pay payment and Humana including my premiums came out with a plus dollar wise. I have since canceled my Humana Dental plan and am paying out of pocket to save money. I’m not blaming Humana but all dental plans are similar THEY DON’T PAY.

    Reply
  9. I got Humana Insurance in January of 2018, I had high hopes for it. Now in October I still don’t have a PCS, I’ve called several times and I’m very dissatisfied
    The last call I made in June I asked for some names of Primary Care Drs to be emailed to me.
    They didn’t want to be bothered but told me they said they would send me a book. They sent me one alright for counties 200 miles from where I live. I guess it’s too hard to figure out which booklet to send using a zip code. And I chose a PPO so I supposedly had dental coverage. And I asked about it they transferred me to the dental dept. When reaching them I told them I had a code on my card DEN013, what providers were in that network, the customer service representative said he needed to again transfer me.
    When he did he sent me to the marketplace, they told me to call Medicare and report them. I need to see several specialists for various conditions and no one in this county takes this plan. The nearest specialist is 70 miles away. I’m going to look very hard for another insurance company.
    Starting immediately I might as well not have any insurance at all. They take 133.00 out each month for medical. The joke is on me.

    Reply
  10. Every time I get a new prescription, Humana always has to ask the doctor questions which prolongs the filling of the medicine.

    Last time this happened I called them and they said they wanted to question the doctor if this medicine was right for the illness. So ridiculous they want to play doctor remotely without seeing a patient. I ended up buying the prescription outright for $13.00!!!

    Worst insurance I’ve ever had in my life and do not recommend.

    Reply
  11. I am with Humana at this time, unfortunately . I had their prescription plan since 2005. Went with there PPO last December 2017. Bad mistake on my part not checking these reviews first, had I done so I would not be having the trouble all of you are having with them. Had to be put in the Hospital on June 8, 2018, with heart issues again and was told I had to leave [Redacted] the next day June 9, 2018. I have had 3 heart attacks and had wonderful care with [Redacted]. I am on over 20 meds a day for heart, diabetes, COPD, and several health conditions. I am getting bills from Humana that all my meds taken at the hospital I have to take to live at home and given while admitted is under SELF ADMINISTERED and not covered as most of the charges a cured are denied or not covered. What good is Human and any insurance co with this kind of legal robbery. Do not recommend Humana Insurance Co to anyone, because they are CROOKS and will Lie to get you covered for their own Benefit. I get extra help for my meds and can switch as anyone with it can as well and I am looking to do it by next week. Do not Trust these Crooks.

    Reply
  12. I had insurance with Humana for a year and couldn’t wait to switch another agency. Humana pharmacist are rude! They would send me way to much on some prescriptions and then nothing on others!! It’s been just a mess and they might pay one claim, then deny another. They control and make decisions and overrule doctors orders and keep mayhem going. I’m so happy with my new insurance company. They actually go by policy. Humana is deceiving, misleading, and downright hateful!!!!!

    Reply
    • What insurance company do you recommend?

      Reply
  13. I had a dental procedure on 11/01/17 and Humana still hasn’t processed the claim. I’ve called numerous times, sent email messages through their website, etc., with no resolution. Talked with a supervisor today and he offered the same unsuccessful path to get it resolved, acknowledging that Humana dropped the ball. He refused to transfer me to his manager. Unprofessional and absolutely unacceptable service.

    Reply
  14. STAY AWAY FROM HUMANA! IT’S FOR YOUR OWN BENEFIT. GOD BLESS

    Reply
  15. my mother passed away this year and she had Humana. They continued to call my dads house the whole time she was in the hospital asking for her, leaving messages even after she passed away they keep calling my poor dad. We were grieving and we did not appreciate it. Also, Because of the insurance, they would take forever to authorize pain meds. She was in a lot of pain and she was suffering. I had to ride the nurses and doctors [redacted]. It was total and udder bs. I am telling everyone about this [redacted] situation. Not a good company.

    Reply
  16. I would not do business with Humana Insurance Pharmacy. I pay my bill every 3rd of the month never ever been late. This month they withheld my prescription because they send a prescription late and it left a balance of $8.00 in my account. When I got the email saying they were holding my drugs I called them ( 2 hours on the phone) I had to give them my credit card so they can charge me the $8.00. The prescription still not here after 3 weeks. As soon as I can I will dump there [Redacted]

    Reply
  17. Humana is a total discusting rip off my husband had dental insurance for 6 months he got dentures after 5 months we decided to cancel in May.it did not end they are taking money out of my checking account every month .I have no idea how they got my banking information we did not give them any account information.they said we have to pay for a year,that was never told to us.I do not know how they can get away with this.I am totally discusted by this so called company. How can they get away with this?

    Reply
    • Because that’s how insurance works. You pay into it and receive benefits when needed. You’re trying to cheat the system.

      Reply
  18. Humana are bad about paying bills on time always late an Drs are dropping them. I got notice today that my boost had not been the last three months and from now on I have to pay.

    Reply
  19. new customer:I am so disappointed with and very upset. Big sales pitch, very nice staff until you need help. I was assigned a provider in my town when, I called to make an appointment the number on my card was no longer in service. I Found my provider working at the local family practice. Called to make an appointment for yearly physical and meet my provider. Received a large bill stating I needed a prior auth , for going out of network, when I met with my provider. Called to Humana not one person out of several gave me the same answer. I am still trying to get this frustration off my plate. Big mistake going with Humana. lesson learn research,research,research, !

    Reply
  20. I had the disability insurance. Paid 140.00 a month over a year. Time came when I needed them because I messed my spine up. I had to get my Dr to keep doing the paperwork. Nothing was good enough because they didn’t want to pay. I stop paying them immediately and got out. Run away from this company.

    Reply
  21. I have been trying for two years now to find a family doctor that will accept humana.

    Ever since my regular doctor stopped accepting insurance from humana, I run an endless loop of calling offices that humana refers me to only to find out the doctor no longer is at that office or that office is not accepting new patients.

    What a headache

    Reply
  22. Humana Outsourcing all their call reps give misleading info and they haven’t processed a claims received 6 month ago with all information needed to process… Manager dont call you back and they never pay what they say… My Doctor office staffed told me NEVERT go with humana again… I called 1/5/16, 12/28/15, 2/8/2016, still my issue has not been resolved and my Doc office called over 10 times before getting me involve they refused to transfer me to the manage who made broken promise in getting me claim processed,… not a very organized company

    Reply
    • My doctor ordered blood test for my conditions in August. I am on Medicare with Humana being the PPO. The whole bill was supposed to be paid for but Humana for some unexplainable reason denied my claim and only paid a very small portion of the bill. I’m going through a nightmare of getting this resolved if ever.
      I had thought about complaining to the State of Indiana but cannot find the complaint process for Health Insurance. I’m 76 years old now and this has caused me much stress and high anxiety.

      Reply
      • CALL THE STATE OF INDIANA INSURANCE COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE.

        humana should be completely shut down for their fraudulent behavior.

        It took me 6 months to find a Primary Care doctor.

        I had to get a medical clearance for dental work, what a joke.

        I am just waiting for the bills to start rolling in for all of the tests the dr. ran on me to clear me.

        None of which had anything to do with the concern of the dentist.

        Nice to know all of the tests were negative, I have no communicable diseases.

        Mr and Mrs hop the border show up with every disease known to humanity and the waiting rooms are full of them.

        I want to see if they had to have the same clearances.

        Reply
    • WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!! I waited 20 minutes then was asked to select a prompt for my needs and there was not one for getting a quote. I hammered the “0” and I finally got someone who said she’d transfer me. I waited again and got an “official” agent who transferred me and disconnected me. Here I got a Capta image 3 times with no indication of what to click on

      Reply
  23. Ok, Humana Medical and Dental insurance has one of the worst web sites and customer service i have every experienced in a company. The updates on my customer portal regarding claims and billing are always incorrect.I would write a more extensive review, however i am exhausted due to the full time job i have keeping Humana straight. Seriously, if You want health issues due to stress then choose Humana as Your insurance provider. I however, am just getting off the merry-go-round and going with another provider. When I’m rested, i will write about the $14, 586.00 they just cost me in medical fees due to incorrect cancellation of my policy for a 1 month period…just happened to be the one month in my life that i had to take an ambulance to the hospital. Currently, going through a very comprehensive appeals process, while trying to stave off all the medical bills they didn’t cover, but more about that next time…

    Reply
    • 1-26-2015. My wife and I have had Humana Medicare Supplement Policies and I have Prescription Drug coverage since 1-1-2015. We have not used the supplement plans. I have always paid a month in advance. In Dec 2015 I was notified that both our Supplement plans were canceled due to premiums not being paid. Long story short, The premiums I sent in using the payment book and writing the Policy #’s on my check was all credited to my Presc Drug policy. They admitted fault in early Dec 2015. My Supplement Policy was re-instated on Jan 1 2016. I have called them 11-12 times and my wife’s policy shows to be paid up thru Feb 2016 but has not been re-instated. This morning I called and spoke with 2 different reps, then I asked to speak with whoever does the re-instating, was transferred, and about 10 minutes later was disconnected.

      Reply
  24. You mention that “The reality is the vast majority score very low on consumer reviews, which has more to do with the standard practices of the health care industry as a whole, and not necessarily the individual insurance companies”. Well, I beg to differ. I have had much less of a problem with my health care providers than Humana. Even my doctors routinely complain about Humana’s practices. My last experience on 3/25/2014 was when I received both an acceptance AND a denial letter for a medication that is covered on their formulary, yet more expensive than the previous one. All I ever get is first their denial letter demanding prior authorization (during a period that the last letter said it is covered), then their other denial letter citing my doctor has not met “Their” requirements. Stop being an apologist for the insurance companies. In my VAST experience with Humana, greed is their priority, not the BS you see in their commercials.

    Reply
  25. Humana, has lied so many times to me about my RX coverage. I have met my ppo 500.00 deductible and now it is 996.88. I had to resubmit all Rx claims 4 pages per Rx. I faxed them all in April 2014 and they are still denying any type coverage. I have a discount Rx card on file and am being told to use that until my deduct has been met. I smell a rat here with this company. They haven’t paid anything and my Insurance went into effect 02/01/2014. I haven’t went to a dr. as of yet because I don’t trust this coverage at all. I have paid out for coverage and all insurance payments. God help us all if I needed an ambulance.
    This is as bad as the VA scandal.

    Reply
  26. Eric,

    I am frustrated trying to find insurance because of conflicting information. Your Humana article is not helpful. You give Humana a 4 out of 5 star at the top of your article (a very good rating), yet later within the article, we read:

    “J,D, Power and Associates – In the six states that J.D. Power rated Humana, they scored near the bottom in overall customer experience in almost all of them. Most of the scores were two or three out of five, with one four rating coming from Ohio.”

    We also see that:

    “While it is typical for insurance companies to have low ratings on consumer websites, Humana has one of the lowest seen so far.”

    We are also warned: “Consumers interested in signing up with Humana should be very cautious and read all the details of their agreement. Notices sent in the mail should not be discarded, since there are reports of Humana burying rate increases in large annual reports sent out to customers.”

    Question: Did you bother to read your own review before rating Humana a 4/5 star company?

    Jeff

    Reply
    • Hi Jeff,

      Thank you for taking the time to comment.

      Unfortunately, we are currently in a period of time where nearly every health insurance company is seen as unfavorable in the public’s eyes. The reality is the vast majority score very low on consumer reviews, which has more to do with the standard practices of the health care industry as a whole, and not necessarily the individual insurance companies.

      While it would be preferable to see companies provide good customer service and rise to the top, the current landscape is similar to that of the cable companies: there are usually only a few players in each market. This prevents competition and does not force companies to provide better service in order to compete.

      The star rating for Humana is a relative score. That means in our opinion they are above average, even though the industry as a whole is not very good. If the scores were not relative, they would all score pretty low. It is kind of like politics. Often times all the candidates are bad, but you have to pick the best of the worst.

      I am not sure what your current situation is, but if you have access to Kaiser Permanente or Group Health, check them out.

      Best,
      Eric Stauffer

      Reply
      • Humana is the worst. Their goal is to keep all patients in an Observation status when they go in the hospital, and more often than not deny inpatient status. It saves them lots of money, cost patients more out of pocket and costs doctors lots of time as they have to do a peer to peer with Humana physician to get approval for an inpatient stay. This is unique to Humana, I haven’t seen this happen with other providers. I steer everyone I know away from Humana.

        Reply
  27. Eric- Trying to filter through the insurance offerings under the ACA. I am a type one diabetic of 45 years and currently covered by COVERCOLORADO . I pay $680/mo and in 8 years have used it for nothing except quarterly doctor visits and 4 prescriptions via mail order. Access health gets the best reviews online but, are the most expensive, but only by about $100 over Rocky Mtn Health Plans and a couple of hundred over Humana. Both those companies get too many bad reviews for my liking , but compared to Access, I would not feel comfortable going with either of them at this point. I don’t mind paying for better insurance if that is what it takes to have no/few headaches. I have heard hugely different reviews of Kaiser, from many people that i trust. What do you think of all these issues?

    Reply
    • Hi Clif,

      Due to the sheer size of these health insurance companies, there are always going to be people that either fall through the cracks or get the short end of the stick. They just cannot make everyone happy when they all have millions of participants. That being said, the one name that repeatably sticks out for good customer service is Kaiser. This is not just my personal opinion, but what I see over and over when researching these insurance companies.

      They consistently rank at or among the top in studies performed by Consumer Reports and JD Power, so there has to be something there. I personally had them for a brief while while I lived in California, and they seemed decent. Granted, I only used their services twice before switching to a different company. (I switched to get on a high-deductible plan so I could open an HSA.)

      From what I have seen, Humana gets above average scores. I am not familiar with Rocky Mountain Health Plans, so I cannot comment on them. Access ranks pretty low in just about everything I have seen.

      Reply

Leave a Rating

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *