Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Select Page

Aflac Insurance Review

FREE Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2018

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Aflac Insurance
Premiums
Claims
Feedback
Financial Strength



Compare Insurance Quotes

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Most of us can’t even read the name Aflac without hearing it in the voice of a perky, helpful, and very persistent white duck. That highly successful advertising campaign featuring a duck who quacks the Aflac name has made them one of the most recognized names in illness and accident insurance, and earned it a place among those insurance companies whose mascots take on a life of their own.

While being catapulted into the ranks of the most recognized brands in the country, Aflac also expanded into Japan and took the duck along for the ride, making them an international success story.

Of course, behind the mascot every insurance company has to live up the promises made in advertising campaigns, and Aflac is no different. They promise fast, fair claims service and products that will help keep you afloat financially when an illness or injury means you can’t work.

Aflac’s supplemental products cover the costs your major medical plan does not. They are sold individually as well as through employers as voluntary benefits. Being well known doesn’t necessarily equate to being a great insurance company, so we’ll take a look behind the duck to see if Aflac is living up to what it promises.

Aflac Overview

Aflac, which stands for American Family Life Assurance Company, was founded in 1955 in Columbus, Georgia. The company quickly moved away from basic life insurance, introducing the first cancer policies in 1958.

In 1964, Aflac narrowed its focus in on workplace policies paid through payroll deductions. By the early 2000s, the vast majority of the company’s policies in force were purchased this way, making them a major player in the voluntary benefits market.

Aflac entered the Japanese market in 1974, and has been highly successful there, becoming one of the top insurance companies in Japan – number one when rated by policies in force. In the 1980s the company began using the now-famous acronym, and today few people even know what Aflac stands for.

The Aflac duck was introduced in 2000, and was originally voiced by Gilbert Gottfried, who was replaced in 2011. The duck quickly became one of the most recognized company mascots in America as well as in Japan, where he made his debut in 2003. By 2014, Aflac’s brand recognition had jumped from 11% to 94%, a huge increase attributed mainly to the ubiquitous duck.

In 2009, Aflac acquired Continental American Insurance Company, renaming it Aflac Group Insurance. This opened the company up to a wider market including individual and group policies.

The company is highly involved in charities and sponsorships. Some of their better-known contributions include the annual sale of the Holiday Duck, which sees all proceeds go to children’s cancer research, and their sponsorship of the Jackie Robinson Award to high school baseball players. The baseball award is presented at a charity event, with proceeds going to a children’s hospital.

Aflac today writes a range of supplemental health insurance and life insurance policies, and still does the vast majority of their business through payroll deduction policies. Products are offered through employers as group plans as well as individually.

In 2017, Aflac ranked number 126 on the Fortune 500. The also ranked number 91 on the Fortune list of Best Companies, and made the list of the world’s most admired companies.

The company’s global headquarters remains in Columbus, Georgia. Policies are sold through agents, and quotes can be obtained by phone or via a quote request form on the company website.

Products

Aflac writes supplemental insurance policies, which means they are designed to provide financial support for those medical needs not covered by your main health insurance plan. These products include accident insurance, short-term disability insurance, cancer insurance – which Aflac pioneered – and several other similar products.

Aflac’s big question to consumers is “What if you’re hurt and can’t work?” and they try to answer that question with their range of insurance products.

Accident Insurance

Aflac’s Accident Insurance is designed to pay for the expenses that are not covered under a major medical plan in the event of an accident.

This plan also offers wellness benefits, which will help to pay for routine preventative care that is not otherwise covered.

Aflac’s Accident policies include their One Day Pay plan, in which payments on covered claims can be paid out within one day in certain situations, if the claim is submitted within the appropriate deadline.

Life Insurance

Aflac offers basic whole and term life insurance policies that are designed to provide for final expenses as well as to provide some income for loves ones left behind.

The website doesn’t offer much detail on these policies in terms of coverage amounts or options, but does state that there are simple issue products available that can be obtained without a medical exam or health questions. These policies are only available as workplace payroll deduction benefits.

Aflac does offer an Accidental Death Benefit Rider that increases the payout to the beneficiary in the event of a qualifying accidental death.

There is also a juvenile life insurance policy available, however details can only be obtained by contacting an Aflac agent.

Additional Products

Cancer Insurance

This policy provides a range of cancer care coverage to assist with the high cost of treatments. Aflac offers options for lump-sum payments or for policies that pay out based on the required treatment.

This policy also includes the One Day Pay option, although it may not always apply, depending on the situation. This coverage is also portable, which means it can be taken with you even if you change jobs.

Critical Illness Insurance

Aflac offers a range of Critical Illness insurance, including options that can be issued with no medical exam or health questions.

This policy offers coverage for medical expenses related to critical illnesses that require costly hospital stays and other care, and helps to cover the expenses that are not paid by the policyholder’s main medical insurance policy.

Aflac’s coverage options, like the cancer care policy, offer the choice of a lump sum payment that is paid out immediately upon diagnosis, or treatment-based payments. This second option will pay out as needed based on treatment required as it is received throughout the illness.

Like the other policies, Aflac offers the One Day Pay option with this type of coverage as well, which would allow a policyholder to receive a payment within a day of diagnosis.

Hospital Coverage

Aflac offers hospital coverage that covers the various costs associated with a hospital stay that are often not included in standard health insurance coverage. Aflac offers a range of different coverage levels, but doesn’t outline them on the website.

This type of coverage is also available with a no medical exam option that can be issued regardless of health status. Again, Aflac offers the One Day Pay option on hospital plans.

Short-Term Disability

Aflac’s short-term disability plans replace a percentage of the policyholder’s income when they are unable to work for a period of time. This type of coverage is only available through workplace payroll deduction.

There are some guaranteed-issue options for short-term disability products, and they are renewable up to age 75. Although there is no One Day Pay for this type of policy, Aflac does promise an average of 4 days to pay out claims.

Dental Insurance

Few medical plans include any sort of dental insurance. Aflac offers policies that cover both routine dental care as well as treatments such as fillings, crowns, and root canals. There are also policy options that cover cosmetic dentistry and orthodontia.

Aflac’s dental insurance plans are available in several levels of coverage. There are guaranteed issue policies available that can be obtained with no medical questions.

These plans can be used at any dentist, as the plan pays the policyholder directly. That means there are no networks and coverage doesn’t depend on which dentist you choose, unlike with HMO or PPO plans.

Vision Insurance

Aflac’s vision coverage plans include a yearly eye exam and coverage for lenses, frames, contacts, and more.

Like the dental plan, there is no network. This means policyholders can choose the doctor they prefer to see. Again, benefits are paid directly to the insured.

There are a variety of plan levels available to choose from, allowing customer to select the plan that works best for their budget and needs.

Aflac’s website does not provide a whole lot of detail regarding their products, just a brief overview of each. Visitors to the site are directed to call Aflac or be put in touch with an agent to get more details. Although this isn’t entirely uncommon for a company that sells the majority of their products through workplace payroll deductions, it would be nice to see a little more information regarding their products.

Today’s insurance customer expects to be able to research the products they’re considering online, and Aflac’s website doesn’t provide enough information to allow careful comparison to the products available from other companies.

In general, there is some question regarding the usefulness of policies like cancer and critical illness insurance; most such policies offer a modest payout in return for premiums that can add up quite a bit over time, even though they are small amounts on a monthly basis. Many experts recommend looking at other ways of saving money for unexpected medical expenses – investments that can provide growth while also ensuring a financial fallback in case of a serious diagnosis. Adding riders to a life insurance policy is another option to consider that can be less costly than a separate policy.

It’s important to take the time to weigh how much you will pay into a policy versus how much you stand to gain in benefits if the day comes that you really need it, while also considering other options that could serve the same purpose.

Prices and Premiums

Aflac does not offer quotes online, and many of their policies are only available as workplace deductions. This makes it difficult to get an idea of what their premiums are like.

The website does use a gimmicky method of giving visitors to the site an idea of what they can expect to pay – at the bottom of each page you’ll find the Aflac duck letting you know that you can get life insurance for about the cost of a gallon of gas per week, accident coverage for about the cost of a box of bandages, and short-term disability for the weekly cost of a movie ticket.

While this gimmick does help customers get an idea of how the money spent on insurance can be compare to commonly purchased items, it’s not really a reliable method of comparing rates. Particularly with life insurance and other medical insurance, the cost can vary greatly. Age, lifestyle, health status, and other factors all have a big impact on rates.

As a company that offers workplace deductions coverage, odds are good that Aflac does offer relatively affordable coverage. How they would compare to other companies is difficult to say without more information about the products; it seems unlikely that Aflac writes the type of term life policy that we usually use for our rate comparisons. The site seems to indicate that they write policies with relatively low death benefit amounts.

Claims

Aflac offers three methods of filing a claim. Claims forms can be downloaded from the website and then either faxed or mailed to the company. Faxes can be sent to 1-877-442-3522.

The third method is to file online via the Aflac SmartClaim system. To access this system the policyholder must log into a customer account and access the claims system from there.

One Day Pay

Aflac’s One Day Pay is an option for filing claims and receiving a benefits payment as quickly as possible. Using the SmartClaim system, claims that are filed before 3 p.m E.T., Monday-Friday, will be paid as soon as the next day. Through this system policyholders can fill out the claims forms, upload any supporting documents that are required, and get the claim submitted for a fast response.

One Day Pay is not available for any claims submitted by fax or mail. All documents have to be sent to Aflac electronically to qualify.

One Day Pay offers two choices for receiving a benefits check. Customers who have signed up for direct deposit can have the funds added directly to a bank account – which makes it a true one-day system and allows the fastest access to benefits. You’ll need to sign up for direct deposit ahead of time to ensure that funds can be deposited without delays.

There is also the option to receive a check in the mail, which really makes the option more than a one-day-issue, but still ensures that the check will be on its way as soon as possible.

Most of the policies available from Aflac include the One Day Pay option. It’s not offered for life insurance or for short-term disability, nor is it offered on dental and vision insurance plans.

Aflac allows one-form claims, which means that after you submit the form it will be applied to any and all policies for which there is eligible coverage.

This is a pretty impressive option, and if it works the way it should it’s among the quickest claims processing and payment that we have seen from any insurance company. Of course, there are some exceptions, but it’s not really surprising since some claims simply require a little more investigation and effort to complete. Aflac promises to aim for a four-day processing time on those claims, which is still a pretty big promise.

If in fact Aflac processes and pays as quickly as they say they do, they’re likely to have some pretty happy customers. We’ll take a look at that next.

Consumer Feedback and Ratings

Aflac currently has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, and has been accredited since 1958, not long after they opened their doors. There have been 465 claims filed against the company in the past three years, and 122 of those were closed in the past 12 months.

The BBB doesn’t consider that to be a large number considering the size of the company, but it’s still the kind of number that jumps off the page. The vast majority of the complaints were problems with products and services. These are the kind of complaint numbers we usually see with insurance companies that have a much wider variety of products, such as major personal and commercial lines insurance companies.

ConsumerAffairs.com has 442 reviews of Aflac, and 88 star ratings, the vast majority of which are one-star ratings. These complaints are mostly centered on claims problems; the repeated refrain being that Aflac drags out claims and finds loopholes to get out of paying them.

For a company that promises fast claims payments without trying to get out of paying, it’s pretty concerning to read that so many people felt that they were getting the runaround for generally straightforward claims. There are a few positive reviews of the company as well. Although usually positive reviews carry a lot of weight, the much higher number of complaints makes it hard not to be concerned.

Pissed Consumer has 162 reviews of Aflac, and gives them a two star rating overall. While there are a lot of complaints, there are also a handful of positive reviews. That’s pretty impressive considering that this isn’t a site people normally visit to write glowing reviews.

Overall, there are mixed reviews of Aflac, and enough complaints to make it clear that reading your policy terms carefully before you purchase a policy is a very good idea. A lot of the complaints seem to stem from confusion as to what was covered and how, as well as how to go about getting a claim paid. There are enough negative reviews and similar complaints to leave us feeling a bit wary about Aflac’s use of loopholes to avoid paying claims.

Bottom Line

Aflac offers mostly supplemental health insurance policies that are purchased as payroll deduction policies – often as voluntary or group benefits. They are an enormous company, with millions of policies in force, and they have a very strong position in the market they serve. Their quick turnaround for claims payout – or at least the quick turnaround they promise – is certainly an attractive feature. We can’t find a whole lot of evidence, however, that they really live up to that promise.

If you’re offered Aflac through work, be sure to go over the policy terms carefully before purchasing a policy. These policies can be very helpful when it comes to paying unexpected medical bills, but it’s a good idea to consider other options for saving and investing that can be more financially prudent in the long run before investing in a supplemental health policy. Most people will be well served by taking the time to talk to a financial advisor before making a decision.

Aflac may be worth the purchase if it’s offered through work and the premiums are low, but without an idea of what they actually charge that’s difficult for us to judge.

Bottom line – make sure to consult an expert other than the Aflac duck before deciding the best way to save some extra money for a rainy day.

For a list of companies that we recommend, visit our Best Insurance Companies page.

Compare Insurance Quotes

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Review Information

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed
Aflac
Author Rating
31star1star1stargraygray

About Eric Stauffer

Author: Eric StaufferI am a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. My priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

24 Comments

  1. I had surgery on October 28, 2019, and as of December 9, 2019, customer service said it would not be reviewed until Tuesday, December 17, 2019.

    States under Short-Term Disability that it will be processed within 4 days, nowhere did it say it would be reviewed then they may pay the claim.

    I will be getting in touch with my attorney to look into this matter.

    My credit cards need to be paid, mortgage, utilities, gas, food, and other necessities.

    Reply
  2. Aflac sucks. They have no problem taking money out of my check each week.

    But I go to make a claim they make me jump through hoops to get money for my claim.

    It’s freaking ridiculous. F@)*#&$ b#$)(%^&

    Reply
    • Amen

      I can’t get them to process.

      24 hourly a#$

      Reply
  3. I have had Alfac over 3 years and even paid extra to be reinstated and have the wait period waived a year and a half ago.

    My dentist office submitted a claim for an exam etc that was approved but then my crowns were not. before I had the crowns done I was laid off.

    My dentist called to make sure I was still covered I called myself and they said my insurance was in effect until mid-January before it gets canceled from my lay off.

    Now I received an email that says you claim was successfully submitted but then my online profile said yet again it was not approved.

    the reason is bogus, according to Aflac my insurance had lapsed which is untrue.

    The work was done in mid-December.

    My dentist office and I made sure it was going to be approved so that they can continue the work and both my dental office and myself were assured it would be.

    Now I’m worried that it won’t get resolved.

    I don’t have the money to pay for these services which have not been paid.

    It should be paid directly to my dental office. can some give me some incite?

    Reply
  4. This insurance is an absolute joke. For 2 years I have paid in faithfully from my paycheck anticipating that one day I know I will have to use it. Today was that day. My child was in the PICU for several days so I attempted to file my first and only claim in 2 years only to be told that my problem was not covered under the multiple policies that I hold with them. When I first signed up for Aflac I made sure to ask that my son’s asthma and asthma-related issues would be covered and actually based my plans around that, so for them to tell me I don’t have the right policy is crap. Either I was lied to in the beginning and have been paying for all this time for things that weren’t needed or it is covered and they just are refusing to pay. It’s an absolute shame to know that this company is stealing from people. What made matters even worse is calling the customer service line is an even bigger joke. 7 hours I spent on the phone with them, 5 of which I was on hold being bounced around to different people because no one knew what they were doing. I have never been more disappointed.

    Reply
  5. I needed two knee surgeries. The 1st surgery was on March 20,2018, claim paid ok. The 2nd surgery was on Sept. 25, 2018. The person that reviewed the 2nd. claim thought it was the 1st surgery being claimed again. That person talked to the agent and the doctor’s office and was told that it was the second knee and they still denied the claim. The Aflac agent, ([Redacted]), and on 10/12/18 filed an appeal. This is insane. I did nothing wrong and yet Aflac is taking forever to review 2nd. claim and it is not my fault. The only thing that I want from this fraud company is to pay like they are supposed to. I have been waiting for over 2 months and nothing but hardship. I have always made my house payment for the last 12 years, but this month on the 12th year , for November I will not be able to make the house payment because of Aflac.

    Reply
  6. I would never recommend purchasing Aflac. I’ve been waiting 9 weeks now for payment. It’s one thing after another.
    This insurance is a total joke and a waste of your time and money.
    You’re better off saving a couple of thousand dollars in case something happens.

    Reply
    • I too would Never Ever recommend Anyone to waste their money on Aflac, so-called supplemental insurance!!!!
      I filed my claims on June 27, 2018, today is September 21, 2018 – 3 months now and still nothing!!!! It’s one thing after another. They do owe me, plenty!!!!!! My agent [Redacted], not only will he not help me, but refuses to answer my calls or texts or emails!!!!
      If you purchase Aflac, you sir are a fool! I say that because, a fool and their money, soon part!
      [Redacted] is based out of Omaha Nebraska so be warned, after three months of having to chase Aflac down, still no payouts!!!

      Reply
  7. I had CANCER 2013 my wife had cancer in 2014. I’ve had 3 skin cancers removed, and Aflac has responded to all of my claims and I’ve received several thousand dollars. I rate Aflac 100%

    Reply
  8. I have filed 5 claims for various reasons and 4 have been denied even with documentation and receipts. Everything the reps said when then came to my work and did presentations has not matched up with the denial letters. Empty promises!!! Nothing those reps said is true. The one claim I submitted was for a colonoscopy and didn’t pay out what their brochures said. The BBB review said one claim form needed and if claim applies to multiple policies they will apply, false they don’t. One day pay is a huge lie, false advertising. Their customer service sucks. I am a government employee in Florida and have already complained to employer and there are a lot of complaints among my coworkers. Today I am sending another email complaining to my Risk Management department. Aflac is messing with the wrong person as I am a fighter. Not only will I purse a breech of contract suit and win, I will get coworkers on board as well. My ultimate goal is to get my employer to drop them. In all reality though, all I want them to do is payout and in a timely fashion. I’m doing my part by paying the premiums.

    Reply
  9. I had a hysterectomy on 12/8/17. And sent in my claims. Aflac denined my claim stating this was a pre-existing condition. Which it was not. My doctor sent in all the doctors notes and other paperwork showing it was not a pre-existing condition and they have contuined to denine my claim. I have appealed this and spoken to a supervisor. I don’t understand why they won’t pay me out the money I am owed. I feel like no one is even looking at my paperwork. It’s one excuse after another. Aflac appears to be a very shady company. I am off work for 6 weeks and I’m already stressed. But to deal with there horrible customer service and the auditor who never calls me or my doctor office back is even more stressful. Is there anyone that can help me? Or should I just cancel my policy all together

    Reply
  10. The more I have to deal with Aflac over the phone the more they seem like a scam. I first filed an accident claim then a disability one soon after. Both claims were denied even with all the proper paperwork being sent in to them. Eventually they approved the accident clan and said it was going to be paid I rechecked everything and my bank information was not what I had provided them so then is the waiting a week for them process the return. Once I saw the information was incorrect I corrected it twice because after the first time it went right back to the incorrect information. So it’s been over a month since I first filed the clam and have yet to get paid on it. As for the disability claim every day they are saying that something else is needed and it seems they are doing everything possible to get me to the point where I just cut my losses and walk away. I plan on contacting a lawyer and if enough people show interest possibly filing a class action. It seems as if enough people have had similar problems with them and if nothing ever gets done they will continue their shady practices.

    Reply
  11. Aflac is the absolute worst!!!! One week waiting period turned into 4-5 week period. Also, I’ve been paying well over a year and didn’t even make two of my checks. We signed up through our office and nothing was throughly explained… here I am off of work and 4-5 weeks behind on pay with a check that doesn’t even equal two of my checks. Total waste of time. I could have save my own money and been better off. Do yourself a favor and stay away from Aflac no matter how great they make it sound. One more thing… they need to learn to stop trying to sell you something new everytime you speak to one of them especially when you’re having issues getting paid.

    Reply
  12. I have vision with aflac and i put a claim in. I was sent a check but I wasn’t sent all of what I paid. I don’t understand anyone else ever had this problem?

    Reply
  13. I filled out the form like the Aflac agent told me now I’m going to court for insurance fraud if anyone has a case resembling this please let me know

    Reply
  14. I would recommend neither working for or purchasing Aflac. As an agent: 1. managers WILL steal your accounts that you worked hard to close. They will reassign to themselves, their friends and spouses and cut you out because they can — and because the form you sign says they can. 2. Managers will backdoor themselves into accounts they are supposed to help you close. 3. They will lie and tell prospects you are a newbie or someone who has left Aflac in order to take your business. 4. Managers are trained how to steal your account. 5. This place is an ethics nightmare, with managers committing all sorts of insurance violations. 6. They give kickbacks to each other and pay each other under the table for insurance in which they are not licensed.
    Aflac should be investigated and sanctioned by the government as 1.) they violate FTC and insurance rules for establishing monopolies — but its in house. 2.) They violate IRS tax codes for contractors. As an agent you’re supposed to be able to close your business and be paid. Yet they can, without cause, reassign everything you did to themselves so that they, not you, generate the commission….This makes the agent an employee, not a contractor….There is grounds for a class action here on behalf of agents…The problem is, most agents to whom this is done — which is about 95 percent — are so impoverished by the time this is done to them, they don’t have the resources or strength to fight back.
    As an policy holder, there is a revolving door of agents — the new agents don’t want to have to service you for free for business for which the old agent was paid. There is a revolving door of agents, mostly incompetent, many drug addicted, alcoholic, morally challenged — thinking being an Aflac agent is on par with being an aspiring crooked hedge fund billionaire. They will rip you off however they can, by lying on your application, lying to you, signing you up for riders and or policies you didn’t ask for or want. The managers even brag and laugh about this stuff. See the agent rushing you through your policy? He’s not in a hurry…he’s just scamming you….As for the nice agent who knows on your door, 9/10, you will not be dealing with him/her, but the crooked, thieving manager who will knock that agent out to steal the business, considering only the commissions he will be making.
    There are a lot of insurance companies out there and insurance agents who care about policy holders and want to do right by you. There are a lot of honorable agents out there, but they cannot be found at Aflac as the bar of entry is so low. Those who are decent, skilled quickly leave…leaving you with the dross.
    Try getting your claims processed or getting an agent to return your calls. They make money through recruitment and enrolling people. What happens afterward is considered not their problem. Most of the agents who enrolled those policyholders will be long gone before the policyholder files a claim — and if you read the policies…you will inevitably pay more in than you will ever get out. Want a supplemental insurance policy? Save and invest your own money, don’t give it to Aflac. The only policy that could potentially provide value is cancer — everything else, you will pay more than you would ever hope to recover in worse case scenario.
    It’s such a cut throat environment that no one cares about policyholders as they are too busy protecting their business and stealing everyone else’s. None of the businesses I spoke to who had Aflac were satisfied..they considered it a waste of money, had trouble filing getting claims processed and reaching agents, were given misinformation, their agents wouldn’t call them back, etc. Most ended up dropping it. Just say no to these people!

    Reply
    • I differ your opinion, I have Aflac since one year ago, I broke my arm I sent all the paperwork and I never got any thing, I called the agent, she came to my Company around 10:30, she sent all the papers, she called the claim department to be sure they received the claim and they said, no we do not have any thing jet. Agent resend the papers again and nothing happen, after some argue, the claim department asked the Agent how many pages did you sent he said 37, then the claim person said that is the reason why, you must send 5 pages at one time, if you sent the 37 pages together we won’t get it.
      Next day I had a direct deposit of $ 5.034 and I am still waiting for $ 934, I have 3 policies with them and I am complete satify.

      Reply
  15. Aflac is illagitamiate. I have had the insurance for over a year and have had 2 claims with them, and one claim is over a year old. I have not been paid for either one. They have been giving me the run around and they don’t call back when they say they will. I strongly believe that this company is simply a rip off for your money. They are a complete waste of time and wish I never got this insurance. All I’ve done is give my money away to them for absolutely nothing in return except for headaches, frustration, and anger. I recommend that no one gets this insurance and reads reviews before considering it.

    Reply
  16. Aflac will not sell dental insurance to anyone over the age of 64…isn’t that discrimination???? I was just told because I am not between 18 and 64 I can’t get it

    Reply
  17. AFLAC supplemental insurance is a complete rip-off. I am so frustrated with the constant messages I have Ieft for a manager by the name of [Redacted] because I never received a call back from the messages I left for a supervisor [Redacted] that works for her. Ironically, the reason I was leaving messages for [Redacted] was she was cleaning up the mess her representatives had made in all the delays on claims I had submitted to them! I’m getting to believe AFLAC does this to frustrate their clients enough to just get to the point of giving up and walking away from money due to them on legitimate claims.
    I had previously had supplemental insurance with AFLAC many years ago when they were trustworthy and honored their commitment to the client. Sooooo many years ago. I cannot wait to get this last claim followed through with. At which point my husband will report it to his employer . His policy is purchased through his employer. Not only has his employer had similar complaints from other employees but the employer himself is having issues with claims he has placed!!! Once this last claim is processed we are going to close the account and be relieved of their of AFLAC’s shady service!!!

    Reply
  18. I submitted a wellness claim almost a month ago and still have not recieved a check. Im thinking aflac is incompetent or just dont give a crap.

    Reply
    • 3 yrs I have been submitting claims, and not one dime from the yet!

      Reply
  19. BUYER BEWARE!! Aflac insurance is a complete rip off. I signed up in December 2015 for the Accident and Hospital Indemnity policies, Accident for obvious reasons, but hospital because my boyfriend and I were planning on marrying, and he has health issues. Just a little background on me so you can understand my complaint better. In June 2014 I started have the worst pain in my life. It was like a migraine but 10x’s worse. I went to Vanderbilt Hospital and after CT scans, MRI’s and an angiogram, I was diagnosed with RCVS. Ever since my diagnosis for this disease, and prescribed proper medication, I’ve been fine. Fast forward to March 2016. I started having tenderness on the right side of my forehead and what felt like stabbing in my brain. I go to my primary dr and tell her. She refers me to a neurologist. The neurologist sends me for a CT scan, the results come back abnormal. He sends me for an MRI. MRI results come back I have a skull based tumor. The neurologist refers me to a neurosurgeon. The neurosurgeon recommends removing the tumor asap because of how rapidly it’s growing, and he knows this because he is based at Vanderbilt. He looked up my imaging from 2014 and saw there were no signs of a tumor then. May 2016 I have a craniectomy done. The tumor is sent to the Pathologist for a biopsy. July 2016, I’m diagnosed with Langheran’s Cell Hystiocytosis. I file a claim on my hospital indemnity policy for being hospitalized for 4 days. First I’m told Aflac has to have a copy of the UB04 form. This form is the form the hospital sends to your actual medical insurance company for billing. Nevermind that everything on the UB04 form is the same exact information that the hospital statement you get has. That’s their first stall tactic. So I finally get those and send them in. Then Aflac tells me I have to send them a copy of my medical records from Dec. 2014 till Dec. 2015. The second stall tactic. I get that paperwork and send that in. I actually sent them till April of 2016, so they could see where I first complained to my dr in March about the stabbing pain and tenderness, and her referring me to a neurologist. So after chasing all this paperwork around, they come back and say my claim is denied because it’s a pre existing condition. Seriously??!! So I call to speak to a rep, that tells me the same thing and I ask her who makes these decisions and she responds the “claim auditors”. My response is, what kind of education do the “auditors” have? Do they have PHD’s? How many years did they study neurology and oncology? They are trying to tell me I have walked around for 2 years with a tumor between my brain and skull. Really?! Nevermind the information I sent of my imaging from 2014, where no tumors were found. Because I was diagnosed with RCVS in 2014, which caused me headaches, and complained of tenderness and head pain in March 2016, that we found out to be a tumor and a whole completely different disease, and neither of these diseases are remotely related, they are trying to say my surgery was due to a pre existing condition. I’m not done fighting with them, but ultimately I feel like it’s going to be a big fight, like probably getting a lawyer involved. This insurance is a joke and the company is nothing but a rip off. I will never recommend Aflac to anyone and will seek out anyone I can to warn them before wasting hard earned money on garbage.

    Reply
  20. THANKS FOR NOTHING AFLAC. I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR 14 YEARS. BACK IN FEBRUARY I SUFFERED A STOKE. I HAD EMERGENCY SURGERY IN WHICH I DIED ON THE OPERATING TABLE TWICE. 5 MONTHS AGO. AND THIS CLAIM STILL HAS NOT BEEN SETTLED. YOU CLAIM EVERY TIME I NEED MORE PAPERWORK. I DO ALL THE LEG WORK AND YOU DO NOTHING. I AM SO UPSET IT IS TAKING EVERYTHING I GOT NOT TO EXPLODE ON YOU. I GET DIFFERENT REASONS EVERYDAY. YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    Reply

Leave a Rating

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *