Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Select Page

Armed Forces Insurance Review & Complaints: Home, Auto & Business Insurance

Armed Forces Insurance Company writes standard homeowners, dwelling fire, renter, and condo insurance policies as well as speciality recreational insurance. Armed Forces Insurance eligibility is contingent on being involved with the military in some fashion. Armed Forces Insurance quotes are available through the website after providing personal information including your social security number

FREE Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Sep 8, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Armed Forces Insurance
Premiums
Claims
Feedback
Financial Strength



Armed Forces Insurance (AFI) is a home insurnace company catering to the needs of members of the armed forces. They offer coverage across the country and to those stationed overseas. Keep reading our Armed Forces Insurance review to learn everything you’ll need to know about the company.

Enter your ZIP code above in our FREE tool to get an insurance quote today.

About AFI

AFI began in 1887 at an army garrison in Leavenworth, Kansas as Army Cooperative Fire Association. It was founded by a group of officers to provide group fire insurance protection. The company grew to provide insurance for all military members as well as their families.

Today they write a wide range of personal insurance coverage including home insurance for the armed forces, auto insurance, watercraft, and umbrella insurance, and also small business coverage. Some of these products are offered through partner companies and are not underwritten by AFI.

In order to be eligible for coverage through AFI, you must be:

  • On active duty, retired, or honorably discharged military, including National Guard and Reserves
  • A Spouse or surviving spouse of the above
  • An active or retired Department of Defense employee
  • An active, retired, or former commissioned officer of the NOAA or PHS
  • Service Academy including Merchant Marine or ROTC cadet
  • A former spouse or child of a current or former AFI member

AFI’s headquarters is still located in Leavenworth, but the serve military families across the country.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AFI Products

AFI has a long list of products available from basic to specialty. While they do offer auto insurance, it is through partner companies. AFI works as an agent to help their members find auto coverage and does not underwrite that coverage directly. Similar to this, business insurance is also offered through partner companies and not directly.

We will cover only the products actually underwritten by AFI in this review. The website offers only basic overviews of the products.

Home Insurance

AFI writes standard homeowners, dwelling fire, renter, and condo insurance policies.

The standard homeowners insurance policy covers the house at replacement cost, other buildings, personal property, liability, and more. AFI has a list of endorsements that can be added to personalize the policy, including off-premises coverage and increased limits on the various coverage options.

Dwelling Fire policies are available to cover non-owner occupied homes as well as homes that do not qualify for the homeowner’s package. This named perils policy is available in three forms with varying levels of coverage.

Condo insurance plans cover the specific needs of condo owners – coverage for the portion of the structure for which the owner is responsible, as well as personal property and liability.

Mobile home coverage is offered through another company, Foremost Insurance.

Specialty Recreational Insurance

AFI writes policies for several types of specialty vehicles. This includes watercraft, motorcycles, and ATVs. The website lists only a few basics about the policies but does not offer much in the way of information.

The website is not clear as to whether or not AFI directly underwrites these policies, but there is no statement that they are handled by a partner provider either.

Other Products

Other products listed on the website that may or may not be directly underwritten include umbrella insurance, pet health coverage, and valuable items coverage.

AFI Rates

Rate quotes are available online for AFI, but require a great deal of personal information to obtain. This includes your eligibility for AFI membership and social security number. Some people may be uncomfortable with providing this level of information in order to get an insurance quote.

Because of the information required, we were unable to obtain a sample quote. Had we obtained a quote, however,  it would still be very difficult to compare homeowners insurance due to the very particular nature of the product.

Claims

The website offers very limited information regarding claims. There is a toll-free number for filing claims as well as an email address.

Further claims information appears to be available to members by logging into the website. Although it isn’t entirely uncommon for a company mainly focused on home insurance to lack this information, it would be helpful to have a much more comprehensive page dealing with the claims process and what to expect on the company website.

Products that are underwritten by partner companies will have all of their claims handled by those companies.

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Armed Forces Insurance Ratings and Consumer Reviews

AFI has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), and there have been 11 complaints filed in the past three years. Of those, six were closed in the past 12 months.

Yelp has a few reviews of this insurance company. Of the eight reviews, one is a positive, five-star review and the rest are negative. It is worth noting that one of the reviews is for auto insurance, which should technically apply to the partner company through which the policy was written and not to AFI directly.

Overall, there are not a lot of negative reviews of AFI. Often it is pitted as “Armed Forces Insurance vs USAA”, another military insurer. USAA is a much larger company and also underwrites its own auto insurance, which makes it difficult to compare the two in terms of the number of complaints.

The Bottom Line

If you qualify for AFI membership and do not mind that you are unable to truly bundle your auto and home with them, they are worth considering for your insurance needs. With the limited information available, the company does appear to have a fairly good reputation.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed
Armed Forces Insurance
Author Rating
31star1star1stargraygray

About Eric Stauffer

Author: Eric StaufferI am a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. My priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

3 Comments

  1. I am writing this review to direct the attention of the “Chairman of Armed Forces Insurance (AFI) and Management Team”. Most importantly, to the people who are looking for a homeowner’s Insurance or already a customer of AFI.
    I have been a customer for more than 32 years with 0 claims. I paid all my dues on time and in full. I switched insurance carriers on September 6, 2018, because I felt AFI failed in their mission to protect me. They treated me unfairly as if I do not exist.
    Here’s why:
    July 25, 2018, around midnight. Water leak coming from behind the ceiling in one of our upstairs bedroom. Saw leak coming from the edge of the air conditioner. Decided to wait till morning to save on emergency call.
    7/26/18, Called AFI, transferred to the claims department. Explained the problem, given a claim number and told “[Redacted]” is our claims rep but she is out of office. [Redacted] called while we were out. She left a message for us to call back. We called back and spoke to [Redacted]. [Redacted] said the source of leak not covered. Will cover only damage caused by the leak. [Redacted] gave the go-ahead to call a plumber to inspect and possibly repair the leak. List of the local contractor not available. I will need to contact a plumber to effect a repair. The plumber found the leak but cannot repair. Need to call HVAC tech. I called HVAC tech and got an estimate. Another company came to dry the room and clean up the mess.
    7/27/18, Called [Redacted] twice to give her an update and to ask a couple of questions and advice. [Redacted] out of office, I left two messages to call me back. Never called back.
    8/6/18, I emailed [Redacted] reminding her that I am still waiting for her reply and her a couple of questions and advice. No response.
    8/10/18, I sent a direct message to the Chairman complaining about [Redacted] non-response to my call and email. [Redacted] finally called. I explained to her what happened. Again, she said the repair estimate by the HVAC tech is not covered. However, the rest of the repairs are covered but not the service call for the plumber. When I reminded her that she gave me the go-ahead to call a plumber, she said it’s covered.
    8/16/18, I emailed [Redacted] to ask her a couple more questions. I thought I would get a quick response this time. Again, no response.
    8/28/18, I wrote a feedback on AFI FB page about the continued non-response (for the second time) of [Redacted]. Got a call from claims supervisor [Redacted]. [Redacted] said their record only shows my last contact with [Redacted] was on 8/10/18. I said I would forward him the email I sent to [Redacted]. [Redacted] answered my question and apologized on behalf of [Redacted]. I recommended a written counseling for [Redacted] but to date; I have not received any communications back from AFI. Lesson learned: Always take notes and if possible, use email.
    Conclusion: I believe the root cause of the problem at AFI is the culture of “if possible, do not pay” from their claims department. This kind of attitude only happens because, in my opinion, their Chairman and Management Team do not care what their customers (not members) say as long as they make money. Here is what I always told my sailor supervisors before; “You can delegate all you want but if you don’t follow up, you will fail as a leader”.
    AFI mission statement of “To protect the people who protect our nation” is the exact opposite of what they did to me. Please do your due diligence very carefully. Buyer beware of AFI!

    Reply
  2. Working with this company was a truly regrettable week. I had taken off work, arranged to take pictures with my realtor, took them, uploaded them, and then was refused with a vague and unconvincing reason stating the pipes didn’t match when the home passed inspection with flying colors. I would not recommend this company, as it came to pictures, and not caring for the veteran. Go with USAA instead!

    Reply
  3. This insurance company treated my family and I as lower class, undeserving trash. They authorized a company to destroy our home and then blamed us and abandoned us in our despair. We have been homeless since May 2017 and have been out on the streets without help from this company since they turned their backs and refused to provide even hotel and left us helpless a few months ago. Even while I still have to pay 2 mortgages, all the property taxes and even the stupid sewer bill for water that keeps the landscape green and never goes in a drain, I also have to provide rent andutilities for my Niece and her 2 small children who are my responsibility and were living with my wife and I when all this began last May. Atleast the children are indoors. My wife and I can not afford any place to live. We are presently reduced to squatting in a 30 year old motorhome that is becoming worse daily, does not have adequate heat or bathing facilities and is extremely uncomfortable as we are both disabled and in serious problematic conditions. This insurance company is actually very ill intent with wicked minded adjusters and careless conduct to claimants in despair. We are in serious jeopardy and nobody gives a crap! They keep paying themselves with my money and don’t care that I have been fighting to stay alive and they actually had a part they played in it which because of their greed, my life and health has been compromised more than one time, yet they are supposed to be here to protect me for my payments. Contrarily, the adjuster’s actions nearly cost my life more than twice. I say “Avoid this company at all cost”!

    1 review
    1.0 star rating 11/25/2017
    I’d prefer minus 5 stars. I’m a 100% Disabled Veteran, Incomplete Paraplegic. This company left me and my family broken and homeless. My Niece, her 6 year old Daughter and 10 year old Son are now living in a low income apartment where I pay her rent & utils. I still have 2 mortgages, plus the taxes utilities like water while I am homeless. My Niece and her children were living with my wife and I in our beautiful, Phoenix home until a pipe leak inside the walls May 2017. We had to evacuate due to improper handling /Black Mold, by the company the Insurance Carrier had a contract with for repairs. We thought that we were going to have to stay in a hotel for a few days or week. Next thing we knew, we became ill especially me. I almost died several times and barely clung to life for the most part of the first 5 months. Black mold is really dangerous. The Mycotoxins it releases are extremely deadly, deadlier than Sarin gas.
    Armed Forces put us in a hotel, after we slept in the house with all of the poison but didn’t know the dangers and weren’t told. We informed them we had been forced to potty in the back yard since the bathrooms had been (remain) completely gutted.That was back in May. We ended up moving from hotel to hotel and had to deal with a lot of nonsense. What’s more, the adjuster (Local guy they hired) wrote in his report that the upstairs bathroom leaked into the downstairs bathroom. It is however a single story home.
    When I asked for help and advise in respect of being very ill and connecting it with the mold, they refused to offer me any information that would have been helpful in directing me how to get help or who to turn to for it. They instead played dumb and continually changed the subject, always trying to tell me as if ordering me against good judgement and as if I somehow could change the situation, but they ordered me to get busy and get someone in to the house to rebuild the bathrooms so we could return home. They knew about the Mycotoxins. They knew I was researching and struggling to find an answer to why I was suffering all of the symptoms.
    As weeks passed, I discovered the company my Insurance Company authorized to do the remediation, was not planning to return to the house or do anything unless I were willing to sign a deceitful and nasty contract and when I shocked them by actually reading it and saying,”No way”.
    I felt I was forced to seek licensed contractors to come repair the damages. As it turned out, everyone who came got sick and some threatened to sue me. Strangely they stopped calling me in a few days after they spoke to my adjuster.
    I soon began to learn that my symptoms were from tiny mycotoxins that the particular strains of mold release when threatened or disturbed. I became aware that I was suffering Mycotoxicosis and from Trichothecene. I needed help to prove it, so I hired different mold experts and an environmental Hygenist. The insurance adjuster was furious that I dare use my better judgement and proceed to investigate the matter, rather than follow their directions to hire someone to build over the mold immediately; they stopped payment of housing expenses thereby they threw us out of the hotel with no where to go and we had the small children with us. 123 degrees that day. I almost died again. Also they continually failed to pay the hotel so forced us to spend our money or be thrown out while the adjusters enjoyed holidays etc..
    After the first mold expert I hired concluded the visible presence of black mold where the insurance carrier authorized remediation (idiots) had “Conducted their remediation” (Contaminated and destroyed our entire home and all it’s contents), then the adjuster called the man I had hired and coerced him to provide her the report and lab results that I personally had paid for and were to be mine exclusively. Suddenly in 2 days of being on the streets with the children and no home or hotel, the adjuster calls me saying , “I’m sorry Mr. Nelson for the error and any inconvenience it caused you. If you’re ready to put that behind us and move forward, we will send you back to the hotel and in a week or so we will be placing you and your family into a rental home in your neighborhood”. (Sounds like they’re sincere now, right? No!)
    When they finally did place us in the rental house, I was sent to the hospital the first night because I became very much a reverse of my healing from the mold illness, and discovered black mold in the rental house too. I’m also out $2000 I paid to prove the mycotoxins in my house and prove the mold in the rental house. We were forced to flee the rental house in late July and the insurance adjuster stopped all ALE in August, leaving us homeless and we’re still homeless November 26, 2017 without any help from these jerks at Armed Forces. It’s now winter and our family is split, but we got my Niece and little ones shelter, yet my wife & I have no home. From a lovely home and nice threads to homeless in 2nd hand clothes. “AVOID THIS COMPANY AND TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW TO AVOID THIS INSURANCE COMPANY”

    Reply

Leave a Rating

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *