Grange Insurance Review

Grange Insurance
Financial Strength

Looking for Car Insurance?
Talk to an Expert - (855) 493-9262
Created to serve the needs of drivers in rural areas, Grange Insurance has grown over many decades to offer multiple personal and business insurance products across several states. Working with what they call the “Ease of Doing Business” model, they have become a popular regional insurance choice.

Grange Insurance Summary

Grange Insurance was founded in 1935 with rural drivers as their focus. In the wake of the Second World War, the company expanded their product offerings, adding home, life, and business insurance over the years. They also expanded beyond Ohio, where they still have their headquarters in Columbus, to serve a total of 13 states today.

The Grange Mutual & Casualty Group is a group of several companies offering a variety of different products in the states they serve. Products are available in Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin. No longer only focusing on rural customers, Grange covers a wide customer base with all of the basics of personal insurance as well as commercial coverage.

Grange Insurance products are sold through independent agents in the states they serve, providing personal and local service. There is no online quoting available.

Insurance Products

Grange writes all of the big three in personal insurance: auto, home, and life, as well as some specialty products. Their commercial policies cover a range of different industries, including farmers.

Auto Insurance

Grange offers a solid auto insurance program that includes all of the basics as well as some options and add-ons that are not always seen with smaller insurance companies. In addition to the common options like rental reimbursement and towing & labor, Grange offers:

  • Identity theft coverage
  • Loan/Lease gap coverage
  • Coverage for recorded music such as CDs
  • Personal Auto Plus, a package endorsement that includes new car replacement, waiver of deductible, locksmith services, air bag replacement, and rental car loss of use in addition to several other features and benefits

Grange offers a good list of common discounts, including multi-policy, accident free, defensive driver, and discounts for homeowners even if they don’t insure with Grange.

Specialty Vehicles

Grange offers insurance policies for a range of specialty vehicles. These include:

  • Motorcycles
  • Boats
  • RVs and travel trailers
  • ATVs
  • Snowmobiles
  • Antique and classic cars
  • Golf carts

Home Insurance

Grange offers homeowner’s insurance with all of the basics as well as several extras that can be added on. Coverage includes structure replacement cost, personal property coverage and liability, and there are both individual and package endorsements available.

Available individually are coverage options such as equipment breakdown, sewer and drain backup, assisted living coverage, and high-value item endorsements. There are also two levels of add-on packages.

Vantage Plus increases the replacement cost coverage for the dwelling itself and increases contents coverage with replacement cost. Additionally, it includes:

  • Mortgage extra expense
  • Refrigerated goods
  • Lock replacement
  • Building ordinance/law
  • Personal injury liability
  • Non-owned watercraft liability

Signature Home is the highest level of coverage, with the highest limits for replacement cost on structure as well as personal property. In addition to everything included in the Vantage package, it also adds:

  • Collections and other high value items
  • Tree and plant coverage and debris removal
  • Business property
  • Additional Living Expenses
  • Fire department charges and fire extinguisher recharge/replacement
  • Coverage for trailers
  • Fraud coverage for credit cards, bank transfers, and more

Grange also writes coverage for condo owners as well as renter’s insurance to cover personal property.

Life Insurance

Life insurance products from Grange Insurance are available in a variety of formats. The company offers:

Business Insurance

Business coverage from Grange Insurance provides comprehensive package protection for a variety of industries. Policies include:

Grange Insurance Rates

Since there is no online quoting, it is difficult to do a price comparison for Grange Insurance. As a regional insurer offering their policies through agents, it is not likely that they will be the cheapest insurance around.

As with most such companies, Grange relies on having good products and better service to put them ahead of companies with which they can’t compete in terms of price. Agent commissions generally raise rates, but the availability of personalized service is worth a little extra expense to some drivers.


Grange Insurance offers three methods of claims reporting. Claims can be called in to the 24-hour reporting system, reported online through the customer portal, or reported to the local agent. These are options not always available from regional insurers and makes claims reporting simple and easily accessible.

Like many major insurance companies, Grange has a network of preferred shops available for customers to use, or they can select their own insurance company. Preferred shops offer a lifetime guarantee on repairs.

Claims are handled like most insurance companies. An adjuster is assigned and investigates the incident, inspecting damage and going over the facts, then determines fault. Policy benefits are then applied appropriately and repairs go forward. Payment can be made directly to the shop, or a settlement sent directly to the policyholder.

Claims can be tracked online through the customer portal, another nice feature not always seen at smaller insurance companies.

Consumer Research and Complaints

Grange Insurance has been BBB accredited since 1970, and has an A+ rating as of the time of this review. There are a total of 43 complaints on record with the BBB in the past three years, and 16 of them were closed in the past 12 months. That’s not a high number of complaints given the size of the company.

Grange has its share of negative reviews scattered across the various consumer review sites online, and there are also some positive reviews out there, which is always encouraging. Most of the complaints seem to be centered on claims service.

Overall, there are not big red flags in terms of the number of reviews or the content of them.

Financial Strength

Rating Company Grade Financial Outlook
AM Best A Stable
Fitch N/A N/A

Bottom Line

Grange Insurance has a standard lineup of products and offers a lot of features and services that are less common in regional insurance companies, putting them in line with some large national insurers.

For a list of companies that we recommend, visit our Best Insurance Companies page.

Best Auto & Home Insurance Company
Get A Quote

Best Insurance Quote Providers:

Review Information

Review Date
Author Rating


  1. Ken Harris says

    Unprofessional reps. with no respect for time or communication. A driver insured by Grange hit my park vehicle while doing 10 mph OVER the posted speed limit. The driver admitted it was his fault and we filed a claim. 6 weeks later and Grange is still kicking this around and refusing to pay stating that another driver changed lanes in front of the Grange Insured and though their driver locked up their tires and slid 40ft into the back of my vehicle in a 20 mph zone it is somehow not his fault. Grange now says that I should just go ahead and file a claim with my insurance for uninsured motorist and pay the difference out of my pocket. I was legally parked and not even in the vehicle but I’m paying? Your guy was speeding not allowing him to stop in time to avoid the collision. The adjuster does not respond to calls, and has continued to do nothing. She promises call backs and then does nothing. My shop, my agent and I have been waiting on her to look at pictures for over a week and she will not take or return calls.

  2. Lillian Albertson says

    I first want to say I am an easy going person who has never been so disrespected before in my life. I have been on the phone with your company for 4 hours between contacting an agent and Grange themselves. I was cursed at, told I needed to hurry up, and that they wanted to go home as it was Friday. At this time I have still not made any progress with this company. I simply wanted to pay my bill for an insurance coverage that started on the 3rd but for some reason is saying started on the 20 something, making me have a lapse in my coverage because somehow someone entered in something wrong or did not bother to tell me the start date was different from the due date. I have had car insurance with Progressive for 8 years (and NEVER had a problem with them once, and I had an accident) and only switched because I had medical issues and needed to save money. This company has had me in tears and completely stressed out because no one will do anything for me. I have asked to file a reinstatement that would not effect my insurance (getting rid of the coverage gap, as it was not my fault) but no one will. I asked to file a complaint because I was cursed at multiple times and all I was told was that they were sorry but there was nothing they could do, filing a complaint is not an option. I asked to speak with someone else, hoping to speak to someone who would actually help me and they would not transfer me saying, that “no one can do anything for you.” I am so tired of this company and by the way this is my first payment… I will be switching to an insurance group that actually cares about their customers as soon as I can. Please, do not get a policy of any kind with these people. They care nothing for you.

    • says

      Lillian, we understand your frustration and we are sorry to hear about your experience. We have taken your feedback and provided it to the appropriate people here. Thank you for sharing your insights with us.

    • GM says

      This is Typical of Grange. Cheat customers out of claims and threat them badly in their time of distress. Grange has very bad reviews on other websites also.

  3. Marvin Williams says

    We have been insured with Grange for about two years . I changed to Grange after I bought my RV and brought my other RV and my two pick up trucks over for one policy . I saved about $25 a month on my insurance premiums Over State Farm . I found I had a leak in my roof of my RV and it had been leaking for sometime slowly . There was a repair patch on top of the camper that I did not know about and the repair had let go to calls the internal damage . now grain says that I did poor maintenance on my roof and I should have checked that and now the damage total is $11,800 and they will not pay me one penny . They did not ask for any pictures or anything of the RV or the roof or anything they just said give me the serial number and give me the money . Now I have to repair my RV out of my own pocket and it sure cost more than $240 I’ve saved in the last few years from changing from State Farm . I am going to change back as soon as possible . for all you are veers out there stay away from Grange all they want is your money and when you really need them and are in trouble they want nothing to do with you . The gentleman I talked to his name was [Redacted] . He was very blunt and very rude and pretty much told me I wasn’t getting any money and hung up the phone . I tried to reason with him and at least get partial payment for the roof and I would take care of the walls and stuff but they just said no that was it and go to hell . So as for me I will be leaving Grange and everybody I know will be leaving there also . My home insurance premium is due at the end of the year since I pay it yearly . I was going to transfer that to Granger also but that is a definite no .

    • says

      Hi Marvin. We’re sorry to hear about your RV, and we appreciate your feedback. While we cannot discuss the private details of your claim online, we welcome you to contact us directly if you have any questions or would like additional assistance with your claim.

      • Marvin Williams says

        It is just the same old smoke and mirror trick . These people care nothing about us all they want is the money . I had them to reopen the case and reinvestigate once I found a trailer and jam through the roof after I started to disassemble the roofing myself Because I did not have the money to pay somebody to do it . They pretty much just said no we’re not going to open it we’re not going to look at it again you’re on your own just continue to give us money . They did not even stop the policy on my RV they took the premium out this month for the same RV that they would not ensure when it was damaged so now I’m paying insurance on an RV that’s already damaged and they continue collect the premiums for me . If they’re not going to ensure the RV in the future if I have a future problem then why would they continue to take the premiums out of my bank account ????

        • says

          Marvin, we care about our customers and we are sorry that your experience didn’t meet your expectations. We value you as a customer and we are providing your feedback to our Customer Service team so they can look into it further and make changes if needed. Please contact your independent insurance agent and he or she should be able to answer any questions or concerns you have about your policy.

          • Marvin Williams says

            There is nothing to talk about . I have already removed all my policies with Grange . I am happily back with State Farm where I should’ve stayed the whole time . You only get what you pay for .

  4. Heather says

    Grange, you just suck and I know, I know, “I’m sorry that you had this experience with us, but please know…”blah, blah blah. blah” Let me put it in plain English for everyone else as a warning….

    Hi, we are happy to take your money, but when you need us we will happily send out a smart [Redacted] adjuster with an attitude who won’t offer any kind of help because they obviously aren’t allowed to. What help they do offer will be very minimal and will not replace things how they were before damages. They know it so much that even their paperwork says you can’t sue them?!?!?! Also the adjusters are condescending. Our adjuster even asked if a teenager would be there because we mentioned something about our daughter being home. He said, “she’s not a little teenager is she because they are whiny and get in the way”?!?!?!

    My family has had this company for over 30 years. All of our family members. All auto and home. In all of those years we needed 2 claims to be filed and they were nothing big. Both claims were a nightmare and the adjusters were condescending jerks. Our last one, we even got blamed on some of the damages?!?! I’m in shock!

    In my family we have each others backs. We are all leaving this company and going elsewhere. I have personally talked to people with other companies who had great experiences. I’m glad to take my business to these companies.

    And just for everyone to know, this is my first online complaint ever. I’m super laid back, but I want other people to know what a nightmare this company is. We pay a lot of money for insurance coverage for our homes and vehicles to only in return be treated like a joke. I hope everyone thinks twice before they look into choosing this company.

    • says

      Hi Heather. Thank you for being a longtime customer. We’re very sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will provide this information to our customer service team, which will look into what happened and make changes, if needed. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. Please contact us directly and we will be happy to provide additional assistance with your claim.

      • GM says

        Blah..blah..blah… your right Heather, Grange keeps saying the same generic thing over and over on every bad review to trick new customers into thinking they want to make it right with people.Fact is they don’t … never will.. they take your $$ and don’t pay claims., and you have to take them to court. Then they have a staff of aggressive in house lawyers they pay with all the profits, that fight most all claims. They even constantly fought the claim by the famous Church leader in Cols Ohio(World Harvest Church) all the way to Ohio supreme court..It was constantly in local news.. in the end ..the church had to pay a multi Million dollar claim out of their own pocket because Grange would not. Grange is very bad.

        • says

          GM, thank you for your feedback. We genuinely care about our customers and their experience working with us. We strive to be both caring and professional when working with our claimants and policyholders. And we had hoped that our responses here did a good job of portraying our genuine concern to help others while maintaining our professionalism, but we’re sorry if those feelings didn’t come through in our replies. We do care and we’re here to help. If you personally need assistance with a current claim, please let us know and we will contact you and do what we can to help.

          As for the World Harvest Church, we respect the court’s decision on that case. More information can be found in this May 12, 2016, Columbus Dispatch article:

  5. Rudy Wilkinson Jr says

    Tesla owners: Do not insure your car with Grange. Grange will take your money for a policy, but will not pay your claim.

    I am a Model X owner in Ohio who signed up with a competitive rate with Grange Insurance. Recently, I had the heartbreaking experience of sliding the front of my Model X underneath the flatbed of a truck in front of me. The hood was scraped and dented in a few places. My disappointment had only just begun.

    In central Ohio there is only one Tesla approved Body shop. When I filed my claim with Grange I indicated that I was taking my car to the only shop certified by Tesla to work on my car. When Grange reviewed the estimate from the certified shop they scoffed at the labor rate quoted and refused to pay more than the rate they pay for work on Chevy or Ford cars. Grange said it was my choice to NOT take my car to one of their approved shops where the rate is much lower and the technicians lack any training or experience with Tesla vehicles. Grange would not negotiate with the body shop and told me I would be responsible for the difference in the labor rate. Grange Insurance wasn’t even putting up half of the labor rate charged by the shop. Law requires that the insurance provider restore the damage to the condition it was in before the accident, yet how can this be “guaranteed” if the people they have work on our cars have no training, tools, experience, and certification from the manufacturer? This is not an insurance policy. It is a gamble. It is a joke, and in my opinion, downright dishonest and illegal.

    If you’re choosing an insurance carrier or adding this car to your existing policy I encourage you to ask your carrier if they have experience with claims on Tesla vehicles and if they have a negotiated rate with Authorized Tesla body shops. If they do not have a relationship with one of the approved shops available on Tesla’s site (here: then I recommend you find another insurance carrier.

    You do not want to find yourself in my predicament and having to result to filing a complaint with your state’s department of insurance in order to argue sensibility and common sense.


    • says

      Rudy, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our customers and using their feedback to help us improve. Your comments have been shared with our claims department and auto insurance product team. If you need additional assistance with your auto claim, please contact us directly.

  6. Lynn says

    Fool me twice shame on me… We have had Grange auto and homeowner insurance for over 30 years. Eight years ago my daughter was hit by an underinsured motorist while crossing the street in a crosswalk and broke her arm and knee, also sustained a traumatic brain injury. There were many learning and emotional problem caused by this injury. It has taken many years and she has made great improvements but will never be the same gifted person she was prior to the accident. We fought Grange for years to get fair compensation, and finally had to give up and move on for our own sanity.
    Last month, my husband was hit by a kid who ran a red light. Our vehicle was a high end truck less than a year old, in excellent condition. Of course they pressured us to send it to their “recommended” shop but we insisted on going to the dealership collision center. Surprise, it needed a new frame from Japan and would take at least 3 months to repair so now Grange totals the truck. We are told we have only 2 more days of the rental car. Then we get the skewed valuation for the vehicle, which is easily $2500.00 below anything we’ve seen online with similar equipment and mileage. It clearly leaves out all vehicles above what they want to pay. We made our own spreadsheet of researched values and are sending them to Grange but I’m not hopeful as to their response. This is no way to treat customers. We are done and will cancel our policy as soon as possible.

    • says

      Hi Lynn. We’re very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. There are many factors that go into determining the outcome of a claim. To protect your privacy, we cannot discuss these details online. Please reach out to us or your independent insurance agent directly for additional assistance.

  7. William DeyErmand says

    Email sent to Adjuster [Redacted] of the Columbus Ohio office.
    ATTN: [Redacted]

    We asked [Redacted] our agent 4/06/16 to email you copies of the original sale papers of the totaled GMC 4×4 truck and the new Silverado truck for sales tax refund purposes. This new truck was added on to Grange insurance while we were in her office.
    We also asked that you call us.

    Information we do or do not know!
    1. We don’t know if you received the P.O.A that we received and mail back to you 4/08/16.
    ​2. We made this month’s loan payment 4-15-16 on the totaled truck.
    3. The 717 Credit Union has guaranteed the title.​
    4. You were emailed the receipt for the E-Z Dump insert, you didn’t confirm receiving it.
    5. Loss of work/pay has not been mentioned to us($788 approx. weekly). William has returned to work, but will miss another day of work($110 approx, daily) for a follow up doctor’s visit on his injuries.
    6. Medical co-pays are being paid by us, likewise our Medical Insurance is paying for his injuries, we hope.
    7. We have a $500 deductible.
    8.The Kelley Blue Book price on the GMC 4×4 is @ Excellant is 15,716; Fair @ 13,115.

    Starting loan price on the GMC 4X4 was $19,641.22. We have paid to date $11, 733. (Equity!) The GMC had NO engine trouble, was Mechanically excellent, tire rotation was in 2014, with regular maintenance checks on brakes and oil changes. Mileage on 3/19/16 was 60,151 miles at the last oil change. Anything less than Fair is unacceptable, not to mention the loss of the E-Z dump insert which was installed to specifications. I am attaching photo’s before and after the accident. The before picture was taken on December 31, 2015 (last Tree Job before we went out of business.)

    We do not expect a new GMC 4×4 replacement truck due to depreciation but we do expect FAIR compensation for everything mention above. I pay premiums to be reimburse for my loses. We also feel the emotional stress you have caused from not responding by phone or email is unprofessional behavior. It makes us doubt our coverage of any vehicle insured by Grange Insurance company. We need to know that being covered MEANS BEING COVERED!
    A insurance policy is a contract, a two way agreement that if I pay my premiums you will cover my loss!!
    Regards, William and Deborah DeyErmand Warren, Ohio

    • says

      William, we hope that our assistance last month with your claim was satisfactory and helped to answer any questions you had about your claim. While we cannot discuss the specific details of your claim here, we sincerely appreciate your business and we look forward to working with you and Deborah again in the future.

  8. Ken says

    I have a classic car policy with Grange for $15,000. The car was involved in an accident where the adjuster totaled the car for 7200.
    They want me to settle the claim for 6900 from comps that they have taken from every -day drivers.
    If I was paying for 15000 in coverage, shouldn’t the amount offered be close to the amount that the car was insured for?
    Thanks, Ken

    • says

      Hi Ken. We’re sorry to hear about your car, and thank you for your question. Every auto insurance claim is unique due to many factors. To answer your question, we would need to look at the specific details of your policy and auto coverage. We recommend contacting your independent insurance agent and he or she can help put you in contact with someone to discuss your claim.

  9. Ryan Lanning says

    I guess insurance companies are allowed to dictate where you can and cannot take your vehicle to be repaired. I do not feel that it is fair that an insurance company can push you away from a shop of your choice by refusing to pay the amount the shop charges, and if the individual (myself) does not cover the difference, your car would not be repaired there, which is what [Redacted] Body Shop stated.

    [Redacted] Body Shop would not have repaired my vehicle unless I agreed to pay the labor rate difference as Grange would not and I would have had to take my vehicle to a different shop. If I wanted to go to the shop of my choice, which I did, I thought it was the law that insurance companies are not able to tell you what shops you can and cannot take your vehicle to for repairs, then they should cover the labor rate cost from [Redacted] Body Shop. Grange, through refusing to pay the entire labor rate for the repairs, was in their way preventing me from taking my car to the shop of my choice which I knew was going to do quality work, right, the first time. The ball was in my court, and if I did not agree to pay the labor rate difference to [Redacted], I would have had to take my vehicle elsewhere. I do not know how many people would actually pay the difference that Grange would not pay to have their vehicle repaired, and I probably would not have either and would have gone to a different shop to prevent me from having to pay out of my own pocket for something that was not my fault in the first place if I had not had experiences with other shops in the Columbus, Ohio area. My family has taken vehicles to shops Grange “prefers” to have repairs done, and we have been back three times because these preferred shops cannot do proper work, take short cuts which has caused the paint to peal off the car time after time, several years after the repairs are made. This was not something I was going to do with a $40,000 car that is less than 2 years old.

    I would also like to further state that [Redacted] Body Shop has informed me they are paid by numerous other insurers the entire $50 an hour labor rate and this has been their rate for several years now.

    I do not feel this is right for an individual to be stuck with a charge when they go to the shop of their choice when insurance companies are not going to cover the entire labor rate. I understand the repair charges that were not required that Grange did not pay, but the actual labor rate to do the work I feel is unacceptable.

    If you get hit by someone with Grange Insurance, I hope you do not have a nice car or are happy with cheap/corner cutting repairs.

    • says

      Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Customers always have the right to choose whichever repair shop they’d like to repair their vehicle. Grange follows a standard industry practice to pay the market labor rate. If customers choose a repair shop that’s charging more than the market labor rate, they’re responsible for the difference. We do have a list of carefully selected repair shops that we’ve inspected and determined that they maintain our high standards for providing the highest quality repairs at a fair price. These preferred shops work with us to assess the damage to the vehicle, create an estimate and complete the repairs quickly for our customers. We’re very confident in our preferred repair shops. In fact, Grange backs the work of our preferred shops with our own written guarantee for as long as the customer owns or leases their vehicle. We’re very sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate your feedback.

  10. Anonymous says

    I’m an employee of Grange Insurance and have read through the reviews here and they are pretty spot on. As a claim adjuster for this company, I can say that management encourages that claims be paid as low as possible and there is no room for negotiation. Having worked for other insurance companies in the past where an adjuster had the freedom to adjust a claim and handle claims accordingly and stepping into the micro-managed world of Grange is a disappointment. They preach customer service and part of your review is based on customer service scores, yet they don’t understand or I should say they refuse to understand that your hands are tied and your the scores that you are given as an adjuster do not reflect your work, but the rules that Grange has set in place making good customer service almost impossible. It would be nice for some people who know and understand insurance to take over this company and turn it around. It would be a shame to see a company that has been around for this amount of time and that is also an American run company get ruined by people who only care about their pockets. Here’s the kicker, the company does not give bonuses to claim adjuster, but the claim managers do get bonuses. The other companies I’ve worked for have always given a yearly bonus and sometimes there were be an extra bonus thrown in just because it’s been a good year.

    • says

      Unfortunately, we can’t confirm that this anonymous post comes from an actual Grange Insurance employee. If this person is an employee, we encourage him or her to contact Human Resources to discuss any concerns. We are disappointed by this review because it’s inaccurate. Our associates are trained to deliver caring customer service and pay the fair amount on every claim in accordance with state regulations and the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act. To learn what it’s like to work with Grange Insurance, we invite people to contact us or speak with any of our independent agents.

      • Sunny says

        My family has been with Grange since 1970’s and although we have mold coverage, in 2008 we noticed black mold in our basement. Grange refused to pay for any repairs. The estimates were 30k + and they said NO, SORRY, this mold is caused from water leaking, not sewer backup! ha what a joke!! Mold is mold!

        Then in 2012, a tree fell on our house. The adjusters came within 24 hours with a check in hand for tree removal, then within 2 weeks another check for repairs & replacements but not to exceed 32k!! Ha present day replacement costs were impossible to meet that price. We were forced to huy the cheapest items to replace the most expensive! They all suck and ALLSTATE & State Farm are just as bad, even more! Laws need to change, if you have HO insurance, our homes should be covered for everything, NO EXCEPTIONS!!

        • says

          Sunny, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for being one of our loyal customers. We understand your frustration with these situations. Every policy is unique, and we strive for a fair outcome during each claim. Please look to your insurance agent as a guide to make sure you have the right insurance policy and coverage to fit your needs. We value you as a customer and we’d like to continue to serve you and your family for many years to come.

      • Anonymous says

        Typical Grange response, because the employee is always a liar “We are disappointed by this review because it’s inaccurate. Our associates are trained to deliver caring customer service and pay the fair amount on every claim in accordance with state regulations and the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act. To learn what it’s like to work with Grange Insurance, we invite people to contact us or speak with any of our independent agents.” Try to access a claims adjuster and ask them how they feel on a non recorded phone line, all of the phone lines are recorded except for the management lines. Contacting an independent agent won’t get you the answer either as an agent doesn’t handle claims so they have no idea what is taking place in the claims departments and will just be able to provide policy answers.

        Now you know well and good that if I were to contact human resources and file a complaint I would be fired.

        Grange has an incompetent bunch of people in management, as was duly noted by an appraiser that sent out a mass e-mail, company wide explaining what an incompetent moron his manager is the day he was fired.

        Grange is trying to rebrand the company and one of the core values is “Do The Right Thing” , however the management that is in place is not conducive to allowing for the right thing to be done. I would highly encourage people to look at filing bad faith claims against this company as they are always trying to do things that are undermining the policyholders and claimants.

        One example that’s very easy to show, you purchase rental coverage that will allow up to $x.xx a day and a policy maximum payout of $y.yy As an adjuster you are told to authorize a rate that is much lower and only if the policyholder complains about the vehicle they are being put in are you allowed to authorize a larger vehicle. Another example, a vehicle owner obtains 2 estimates, the estimates are approximately $40.00 apart. The higher estimate figures some procedures that are necessary to do a proper repair to the vehicle. Adjuster pays the higher estimate because it is written properly and has all the necessary functions figured to do the repairs properly. Because the adjuster paid the higher estimate their file is marked as a fails to meet expectations because “not knowing if this person is going to repair the vehicle, you have given them money that was not necessary because the other shops estimate shows they could do it cheaper.” When you know the proper repair procedures and you have an estimate that is written correctly, how is paying somebody less than what is owed for their repairs doing the right thing?

        The new thing is to monitor policies closely when a claim is filed because if an accident happens within 10 days of the policy inception date, it is either a fraudulent claim or they lied on the policy application and we need to exhaust every means that we can to try and find a way not to pay the claim. The way of claims handling is crooked and it makes for a very stressful work life experience.

        This company is the Amway of insurance companies who tries to brainwash their employees and I’m not drinking any of their kool aid because I’ve had too many years of prior claims experience to know what’s right and what’s wrong in claims handling. The only good thing I can say about Grange is that they pay good, but unfortunately you don’t know you’ve sold your soul to the devil until you’re stuck. Lesson here is that it’s not always about the money, if you’re happy where you are, stay, unless you know someone that you can trust who is working at the company you are looking at going to.

    • Betty says

      Is it customary for this company to demand a power of attorney prior to any type of estimates or possible settlement being offered?

      • says

        In certain situations, a Power of Attorney may be required before we can provide information to a person who is not the policyholder or beneficiary. We value the privacy of our customers and we consider policy information to be private. We cannot share policy information with a third party unless we can do it in a lawful way.

  11. Teresa Mathis says

    I am fighting mad at Grange. We have been insured through them for t 10 years and have never filed a claim. Last September we had so water damage in our kitchen and had to have the floor repaired and replaced. The cost was around $5000. Today I got a cancellation notice because we had filed a claim. I guess they only want to receive payments not make any out. Have never had an insurance company do this before. Our old company in a previous home repaired damage due to a minor house fire and never treated us like this.

    • Joe says

      Grange is the worst ever had them for ten years with no claims had hail damage through my neiborhood and at least 15 roofs were replaced but grange said mine was okay after three different roofers said I had hail damage good riddance grange

  12. Ryan Shafer says

    Grange is a joke. My wife was recently in a accident with another grange customer and we have got treated like dirt. There trying to make us pay for two days of the rental and there is stuff still wrong they won’t return calls and tried to make my wife out as a liar. We already cancelled with our agent and will not be returning.

    • Jane Moses says

      I am having a problem with grange too. Tomorrow will be two weeks since I made the claim and nothing. Wont return calls or anything. Vety bad insurance. Very very bad. Probably wind up paying to get car fixed myself. Worst insurance I ever had!!!!

  13. susan darling says

    This insurance company is the worst ever! I am canceling them immediatly! They dont answer your phone calls and they lie! 10 years with this company. They give me a small check and take my car! The only way they would give me a check is to hand over the title of my damaged car to them. Ive had it with these scammers!

    • Rhonda says

      You do realize that Grange had to offer you your salvage back and they could not stop you from keeping your damaged vehicle? They tried that BS with me but I was not having it. They gave you 1 cent on the dollar and they will make hundreds if not thousands more…SMDH this is because they are not to be trusted. They are going to sell your car and all its parts for WAY MORE than they paid you for it. It was in your best interest to retain your salvage and sell the parts yourself. I have a CTS and everything about that car is expensive they planed on making a killing off of my parts alone but was mad as hell when they found out that I intercepted their plans and called CHECK MATE!!!!! Taking peoples car is the come up for this FAKE company. They are NOT TO BE TRUSTED.

  14. Agent says

    I’m an agent for Grange and have to say, it’s the worse company I have ever dealt with. Not selling for them anymore.

    • al and jackie severson says

      My experience with Grange insurance and [Redacted] was the best I could have hoped for. So glad we switched to Grange.

      Thank you,
      Al and Jackie Severson

  15. Alisa Anderson says

    Well I fell quite bad because I had a great experience with Grange. They returned my calls took care of the damage and I did absolutely nothing but sit back and watch. So I’m not sure who you people dealt with but I feel sorry for you because I am doing everything in my power to stay with them. Thank you Grange for taking care of me. It was my first accident in 14 years and I was so very upset and you walked me through everything and helped me and took care of it all so I hope I can find an agent that will represent me so I can stay with you.

      • Alisa says

        No I don’t work for them but maybe everybody should take a step back and look in the mirror. Maybe it’s not Grange maybe it’s you. I do not agree to the fact that this accident was my fault but unfourtunately it is not up to me so I just have to swallow my pride and suck it up. I was never spoke to harshly by the agent or in any way like I was an idiot which is what I was waiting for. Now here is the part I left out that could make or break my case, I have only been with the for a little over a year and have never had to use them for anything. I was with Progressive for 14 years and the only this I ever had to use them for was 2 broken windshields and they treated me like I had totaled 6 brand new Camaros. They were raising my rates constantly for no reason at all. I never had an accident at all when I was with them but yet my rates just kept going higher and higher. So you may want to think about that.

        • Christine says

          It’s me? It’s MY fault that an illegal hit my car and then left the country? It’s MY fault that the people at Grange refused to return my phone calls and then made me pay for my own repairs? Now I know that you are some how affiliated with Grange.

          • Alisa says

            Honey I am in no way affiliated with Grange, I just have had a lot of unfortunate accidents in my life that I am in no way proud of. In fact I own a tree, a fire hydrant and a gas meter. I have had a lot of insurance companies treat me like dirt so I guess I was just lucky enough this time to have had a good person to help me. I’m sorry that you had a bad experience with them but don’t take that out on me. I am 54 years old and I have to work 2 jobs to pay my bills so to have an ins company treat me right and have accident forgiveness is a god send. Maybe it was your attitude. They returned every call to me and even though it was my fault and I chose to use a different garage then what they use they still were kind and respectful. Try it sometime, it works.

          • Greg says

            i’m new to Grange & i just got a minor ticket in february. something i have not gotten in a long time. anyway my rates were fine until the ticket now for the next renewal my rates went up alomst $100.00! very dissapointed.

            i expect an insurance company to stick by you not stick it to you in your time of need. needles to say i’m once again shopping for new insurance with someone else…..

    • mitch says

      This person most certainly does work for Grange..There is a pattern here. After I reported at Court recently to the judge about all the bad reviews also online about Granges treatment of others , and their lawyer saw all my printed reviews, within a few days Grange must of had there people post response comments online at the varoius review sites,They all came in right after Court! They appear to care in their responses or they have people post favorable ratings. I can tell you Grange does everything possible to fight claimants on claims, and damages., or lowball folks out of the value of their damages. They even deny fault when a semi truck(their insured) slams into another vehicles rearend on the intertstate, and the semi had many safetly and faulty equipment viloations! They are the worst Insurance and are now having their employees or employees family members post favorable posts on their be half.

      • Rhonda says

        Worst company EVER. They are so ridiculous they even tried to talk me out of keeping my salvage. Im NO fool they were going to make way mor off my so called salvaged 2004 Cadillac CTS than the $500 they were trying to take it for but i wasn’t having it. My side fender and the side of the front bumper was damaged EVERYTHING else in my FULLY LOADED CTS with woodgrain worked plus i had new breaks rotors and other new parts installed within 2 months of the accident. From my experience This company SUCKS

      • Jackie R says

        I do think Alisa works for them. I have been with this company for over 40 years and recently my son had an accident and they have harassed us to death. Never turned in a collision to them in over 40 years and now they are going to hassle a member of my family and think I will stay with them. I cancelled today after I told them off but good. They harass their own clients.

    • Eric Stauffer says

      I have been in contact with the original commenter, Alisa, and I am pretty confident that they do not work directly for Grange. I will be closing this thread from further comments that assume as much since this has been verified.

      Eric Stauffer

  16. Helen Corbari says

    We have had grange insurance for 14 years. On November 22, 2014 our barn and all the contents burned we lost everything. We are a working cattle ranch so without our barn and it’s Contents we cannot operate. We were told by our agent that everything was covered. Until we had the fire. They have refused to pay for the contents of our barn saying it was not on there schedule and the contents needed to be itemized. Not one of the agents has came to our property and did an upgrade in the 14 years . Then we find out we have equipment on the policy we haven’t owned in five years and that equipment we own and use everyday was not listed. They offered 20,000.00 dollars for our barn and 1,000.00 dollars for cleanup. Not going to happen. We have called an attorney.

  17. Richard says

    There is a reason Grange insurance consistently gets poor marks from it’s customers, and that is that they had just given up along time ago. Senior management has let this company be run into the ground. by anemic, mid level managers. They no longer have a business model, and simply collect deductibles as they come in. They do not put profit back into the company.

    Grange is ripe for the pickings, and I would urge any other insurance company to swoop in, and snatch this turd for pennies on the dollar.

  18. Elizabeth says

    A grange customer drove right into my car. The car was damaged and i was injured. The woman in charge of my claim made many promises, but kept none. Now they won’t return four phone calls and messages. i will be contacting the Ohio State Insurance regulators and filing a fraud complaint against them. They are stealing money by not paying legitimate claims.

    • Mitch says

      Grange is a terrible insurance company when it comes to paying claims… and their adjusters are viscous . I also had a Grange insured vehicle (semi truck) slam into my rearended on the interstate.(The semi truck even had bad tires ,brakes and expired tags over 24 months old.. but Grange insured the trucking co anyway)… Grange will constantly low ball you on your vehicle damages and valuation ( like $1200-1500 low), refuse a rental or loss of use damages and fight claims for months in court, even when they know it’s their insured’s fault. Good thing many states now have “bad faith” insurance laws, where punitive damages can be accessed against insurers like Grange whole take advantage of claimants.. talk to a lawyer, do not take Granges lowball “appraisals” as fair.. go to for true vehicle values. I have also filed law suit and a complaint with insurance commission in GA

      • Rhonda says

        Don’t feel bad Grange are not only vicious to the people their insured hit but also to their insured. I have made a colossal mistake allowing this company to insure my vehicle. I informed Grange for the 3rd time today in a week that I was keeping my salvage but it seems for some reason Grange had issues with that and I was informed that I would have to pay the tow fee where my car was not drivable and towed from the accident scene to the wrecker yard as well as the storage fee for (15 days) that it incurred per day UP FRONT out of my own pocket and I would get reimbursed when ever or if ever this is all settled. I have spent $530 out of pocket, double what the joke of an insurance company has spent out on my claim so far. Grange has spent a total of $267.?? on this entire ordeal and yet I have paid nearly double. He said it would take several months before could look for a penny as their company would not pay out any funds until they get a salvage title back from the state and that could take several months. In translations he was saying, ” We will give you the run around, drag our feet, aggravate you, add insult to injury, show little to no concern, inconvenience you for jokes and giggles all while being proud of our bad faith practice to the very best of our ability.” This insult to the insurance industry has been no help to me at all an I UNFORTUNATLY am one of the insured with this company. I don’t believe I have ever gotten anyone on the phone I have always waited for a call back and to much surprise someone has called with no help at all but merely just a call back to aggravate me even more. I am more than sure that they will drag my case out for a unreasonable amount of time. I am very dissatisfied with the lack of service and the tone of the adjusters as well as the unwillingness to resolve this matter so that we can both move on from here. I to will be calling the BBB tomorrow and more than likely filing suit as well. I am only one person but I would vote that this company should never be allowed to practice their bad faith in the state of Georgia. This entire situation has taught me a valuable lesson. I can only pray that this situation will come to an end in the very near future and they won’t drag their feet on ending our relationship forever. God be with anyone who does business with this company.

  19. Taylor says

    My service with them has been absolutely horrible. I’m 22 years old and I filed claim because a icicle fell from our roof and broke my air conditioner. They don’t return calls or emails. And when they finally answered my call- she basically denied the things she said (which I had saved in email). It’s almost June and I have a husband who works 70+ hours outside- and after going through 3 weeks of filing this claim she had the guts to say “it’s not like you need it right now it’s not hot out”. She gave me a list of things she needed and I got them right away. I had three estimates and sent them in. Then she told me she was going tk issue the check. I called after 3 days of not hearing from her and now she says she needs them tk come back and write more information! I’m pissed!

      • Christine Higgins says

        Yeah, they are pretty rude and contradict themselves a lot! I am 39 and they still talked to me like I was stupid!

  20. Francine Rose says

    I own a commercial Butler-type bldg, formerly used as an antiques store. Closed the biz & am using it as storage. I will lease half of it (1200 sf) to a friend, while the other half remains storage. Although for sale, but no bites.

    3 yrs ago I filed a claim with Traveler’s for damages from a busted water pipe. Premiums have since tripled. Notified my ins agent of my current status who notified Trav. Have heard zip. Called another ageny who quoted from Grange. I’m insurance savvy, & reading your comments, I don’t think Grange would make a good partner. What to do? I live in GA.

  21. Christine Lynch says

    A Grange client hit my car 10 days ago. The car is totalled and I was injured. It took 6 days just to get someone to call me back. The receptionist was really rude and the adjuster said they couldn’t do anything until they got in touch with their client. Nothing has been done and they refuse to return my calls.

    • liz says

      This does not surprise me. I was in a wreck in Feb 2014–it took 3 weeks for them to figure out the car wouldnt start and that it was a total loss–then they stopped the rental because it was now a total loss–it is now mid April, and my bank has still not received payoff–when i emailed and asked an update, (because they weren’t informing me of anything unless I asked them) I was told that I was hindering their ability to process other claims because I was asking for updates and to stop asking! I called a manager and to my amazement, they defended the adjuster. 8 weeks and still no outcome. I’d like to see how they would handle this if they were in my shoes.

      • Rhonda says

        I live in Atlanta and made the biggest mistake of my life when I became a associated with Grange insurance. I was hit September 8,2014 by an uninsured driver. I spoke with granger the next day I THOUGHT everything would ok since they got me a rental car and filed the claim. a few days later the adjuster came out and said my car was a total loss and “someone” would be in touch with me about the figures. It took 2 days later because she was out of the office for spa day while I waited. She informed me that my Cadillac CTS was a total loss and after the deductible and, “PRIOR DAMAGES” ….your amount comes this amount. I did not agree with the amount and felt like they low balled me so I disagreed. First off, I have never heard of an insurance company going through the part of a car trying to find imperfections in the vehicle then charging their insured for scraps and scratches but GRANGE INSURANCE LOOKED AT THE PARTS OF THE CAR THAT WAS NOT IN THE ACCIDENT CAME UP WITH A REDICULUS AMOUNT TO REPAIR THINGS THAT DID NOT MAKE MY CAR INOPERABLE AND DEDUCTED THAT FROM THE SETTLEMENT OFFER WHICH WAS ALREADY LOW. My question is, why the ^)%! would I pay the price for any repairs on a vehicle that is now considered salvage. To top it all of when I informed them that I would be keeping my salvage I was told that NO MONEY will be paid to me until after they get the salvage title back from my state in which he claimed would take 7 MONTHS….LIEEEERRR no state would take 7 months this is a current issue not yet settled so he figure he will wait me out and make even more money off of the salvage… NOT going to happen. I am getting an attorney. Then on top of that they took the rental car back after they made that joke of an offer saying that the car had to be returned 72hrs after the initial offer even though nothing is settled. The customer service does NOT exist they the treat you like you are nobody. I would not advise anyone to deal with this company. I can’t imagine how they stayed in business since 1932 somebody need to check the records on that. Worst counterfeit company I have ever dealt with lesson well learned. If you can go to ANY OTHER insurance company I would advise you to do so.

        • Colleen says

          I’m SOOOO GLAD to read these comments before purchasing insurance from the Grange!!! I may have been quoted a lower price than my current insurance company (HARTFORD) but I’m going to stick with Hartford, Their customer service and efficient handling of situations is priceless apparently (after reading these horrible stories that I’m so sorry you all had to deal with). Thank you all for your time!

    • Janella says

      This is so terrible to say we pay insurance to this company and when its time to file a claim you end up stressed out. My experience was that some one backed into my vehicle in the middle of the night. I called the cops and the claims department. I had all the information I needed so the process could go smooth. My entire process has been terrible the adjuster [Redacted] has been rude, nonchalant and very unprofessional. I called 5 times leaving messages just to get 1 call back from here. This lady is not on the consumer side. Every time we spoke she was nasty in her voice tone.The appraiser was not knowledgeable of how to asset damages instead of looking at the pictures he assumed some was damages the other half of the vehicle that also were damage during the accident was not going to be repaired by them. To say that, I am so dissatisfied with the way they handle me as a client. Even when I spoke with the manager [Redacted] he was also short spoken and rude to me, not going to bat for me as a client. The one lady I spoke too was awesome [Redacted].. This person needs to be with a better company that actually cares about there people.

  22. Rhonda says

    My husband was driving my car on thanksgiving and he was in a car accident. The police ruled both vehicles as no fault. My insurance company don’t want to pay my claim because he wasn’t listed as a driver on my insurance, so they say that was fraud. Is this true?

    • Eric Stauffer says

      Hi Rhonda,

      As far as I am aware, the vast majority of insurance companies require spouses to be listed on the policy. This may be different for couples with unusual circumstances, such as separated status, but for the most part this is the case.

      In certain situations you can exclude a spouse from the contract intentionally, but they are not covered if they drive the car. This may be the case when one spouse has an awful driving record or a couple DUIs and has decided to stop driving all together.

      Your insurance company may be a little quick to jump to the term “fraud,” but I am not personally aware of all the details. The bottom line is that your spouse should be listed on the policy if you live together. If you signed up through an agent they should have walked you through that when they were asking about other licensed drivers in your house. If you signed up online, then its on you as the person filling out the form to be honest about all licensed drivers.

      Just because the insurance company made an initial ruling, certainly does not mean that is final. You can appeal the process or even hire a lawyer to pursue it. Just because they said no doesn’t mean you should stop fighting it.

  23. Steve says

    General liability insurance is a joke. They will pay for damage if you are not working on a project. But if you have a problem with something that you are working on, you are on your own. They should call it scam bs insurance. DO NOT GET GL THROUGH GRANGE. It is a scam.

  24. Rose says

    Currently w/ auto owners for all ins. Happy. Been with them for years. No claims for judging. A family friend in ins has grange ins. Deductible is higher on some things to keep rate close to what I am currently paying. Having second thoughts. How do you feel about auto owners vs grange?

    • Eric Stauffer says

      Hi Rose,

      As an overall view of the two companies, I prefer Auto Owners to Grange for a number of different reasons. First, Auto Owners has great consumer rating scores from both J.D. Power and Consumer Reports. Second, there are not a lot of reports of Auto Owners dropping their customers after a claim, which a lot of insurance companies do. Finally, Grange has both low financial strength ratings compared to other insurance companies and their Better Business Bureau is not an A.

      Of course none of that factors in price, which can be a big part of your decision. All other things being equal, I would personally go with Auto Owners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *